AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 07:14 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Trunk mounting a PC (questions)

I'm looking into the option of trunk mounting my PIII-800 in my car for GPS, and MP3. (It's a tiny inwin desktop)

Questions:

Any ideas on an shock mount for it?

Can modern Hard drives withstand the abuse this would cause, or should I pick up a laptop drive for it.

Where can I get a compact keyboard with a pointing device built in. (I don't want to go with a wireless unless I have to.)

Where can I get a decent LCD display? (nothing over 12.1, I'd like to keep it around 5.6)

Should I go with a wireless network card for in-driveway file transfers?

would you guys kill me if I did this with a Mac instead?
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 07:16 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

This is the car.

My 86 taurus is dead. I just bought this 93 taurus for $2000, and it's sweet.
Attached Thumbnails
Trunk mounting a PC (questions)-taurus.jpg  
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 07:18 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

.
Attached Thumbnails
Trunk mounting a PC (questions)-closeup.jpg  
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 07:47 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I would get a laptop harddrive- a 6.5inch touch lcd- wireless keyboard and mouse (or one of those kewl flex kb's) and a wireless lan- and im headed to you house now with a butcherknife if you mention mac- :-P
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 08:16 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

How will you power it Azriel
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 08:22 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I have a engine compartment mount 110v inverter for an RV.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 08:24 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Make sure to check the min watt output- and max- the amps output and be careful- they hurt :-\
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 08:33 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Keep taking those pic's along the way! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 09:02 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Right now, I am in the planning stages. If this gets to be too expensive, I'll just get a laptop for the car.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 10:30 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

This is the 400watt inverter.
Attached Thumbnails
Trunk mounting a PC (questions)-power-inverter.jpg  
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2002, 03:25 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Thats definitly enought! What type of system are you using? It should be very very very cheap! I built me MP3 server for $100 total-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2002, 03:27 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I have a Keyboard that haa a built in touch pad if you want it~ It works ok for a touch pad!
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2002, 05:21 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I thought about it a bit, and I don't really need a keyboard. I am going to use a trackpoint (laptop part) mounted in the dash next to the remote buttons for the stock AM/FM cassette deck. Possible on the back of the steering wheel. It has an air bag, so there's lots of space to work with there. This box is going to be based on a flex-atx motherboard like the one we used in the Nintendo and Color Classic mods. Probably mounted in a external SCSI HDD enclosure. This one is a TYAN Tomcat i810e.

It will be painfully simple.

Laptop IDE HDD, and no CD.

I am going to try to bypass the AC inverter. I have to modify an AT PSU, by feeding it directly from the cars power after the transformer. If I like the voltages that it puts out, that will be the way this goes. I figure that a 1 farad car audio stiffening cappacitor will cover any power sags. The inverter seems pretty stupid. Why conver 14v or so DC to 110v AC, just to convert it back to 12v, 5v, and 3.3v DC?

If I can build a stable 3.3v regulator, I will be using the PSU from a Mac LC. They are tiny. I want to regulate the 12v power down to 3.3v, rather than the 5v. 12v power is hardly used at all by this rig. The drive only needs 5v.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 02:17 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I might also get Wayyyy lazy, and go with a Neo instead.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 02:44 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Good point- there is no need to transfer the 12 to 110 to 12 back again- It should be pretty easy to build a 3.3 reg. Still thinking about wireless? Exclent Idea-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 04:41 AM
Jazz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,105
Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

At dayton i saw a company that is selling a mp3 player with a 120 gig drive for your car. Let me look through the boxes i may have the link
__________________
AOA Team fah
"Remember there is a time to pray and there is a time to fight, anything can be a weapon if you are holding it right "
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
"Folding protiens and taking names"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 09:47 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Azriel
I am going to try to bypass the AC inverter. I have to modify an AT PSU, by feeding it directly from the cars power after the transformer.
Err.. I'm assuming you mean the transformer in the AT PSU? If so, that's the energy storage unit that the PSU uses to regulate the power. Without it, the PSU will be unable to regulate any voltage!
You might be able to re-wind the transformer so that it operates at the 12V, then you'd be able to feed the power into the PSU. You'll find it'll get hotter than normal though, as the current flowing will be much higher than it was designed for.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 08:20 PM
Claudius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to Claudius

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII


You might be able to re-wind the transformer so that it operates at the 12V, then you'd be able to feed the power into the PSU.

12V DC? Transformers can only transform AC voltages. Feeding a DC voltage to the transformer will do nothing. You will not get any output.
Also, i think using an AT PSU for this project is useless for this reason (unless you use an inverter).
You should probably make the regulators yourself.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 09:32 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

The AT psu was for test purposes.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 11:03 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

Out of general paranoia, I just hooked up the 110v inverter to my car, and it successfully powered a mac LC and a 12" B&W monitor. (This was with the ignition off ) I left it running for a couple minutes, and the car had no trouble starting afterwards.

I figure that if it can power a CRT and an LC, it should have no trouble powering an LCD, and a 145w PSU.

I'm going to go with a full size hard drive, because they use a full size drive in the Neo 35, and I haven't heard any complaints about that.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about heater core fan mounting Azriel Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 12th November, 2005 06:01 AM
mounting encrypted partition in SuSe Eriksson OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 1st October, 2004 12:56 PM
Fan mounting for Thermalright SLK900-A KT-424 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 6th April, 2004 12:42 AM
Mounting an SLK900U on a Epox 8RDA3G Rev.Reboot Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 10 19th November, 2003 09:42 AM
Mounting holes on the 8RDA+ Hadez026 EPoX MotherBoards 1 15th April, 2003 05:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0