AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2002, 03:13 AM
watsaru's Avatar
New Member "Outlaw"
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Clarksville,Ar but i'm from Neworleans (don't ask lol )
Posts: 49

Going higher

Ok I'v got an Msi 6330 mbo with a duron800@976. The duron is unlocked. It's running at 35c and with load it goes up to 38c. I don't have the vcore uped at all I can get close to1.ghz but it keeps locking. I'v got 4 80mm fans and a Thermal-take volcano7 solid copper heat sink running at max speed. I'v also got a blue orb on the mbo chip set. Do I need to up the vcore or what I think I got the heat licked I just want to go higher. I'm not scared to go for it . amd xp 1800 is what I realy want so if it frys I'll just tell my wife it went kaput and I got the xp (lol). any clues?
__________________
Information is Power
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2002, 07:07 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

My bro's duron 850 topped out at 975, seems that its either 975 or about 1050 they will reach with good air cooling.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2002, 08:24 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

up voltage
that will allow you to reach a gig prolly. My old 800 could do it.
My friend dave got hold of a 600 that could do 1gig more stable then my 800. That was something special, dont know where that is now. Must find out.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2002, 04:57 AM
Caffinehog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Naked beneath my clothes
Posts: 84

I bet it's a memory problem. See if there is an option to run the memory syncronously, instead of at fsb+33...
__________________
Join the revolution! Eliminate floppy drives forever! Buy a $20 compact flash reader and a couple CF cards. These come in internal designs that you can put in a 3 1/2" or 5 1/4" bay, as well as external! Encourage motherboard manufacturers to include this with their boards. It's a cheap PCB, folks. It shouldn't add more than $5 to the cost.
Please feel free to copy this and put it in your own sig.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is better, higher CPU speed, or higher memory bandwidth? mookydooky Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 26th August, 2004 12:33 AM
Can Anyone Help me Get Higher Shotgun Ed Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 5th June, 2004 02:50 AM
2.8 go higher than 3.3? tjf_diesel Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 7th January, 2004 06:37 PM
nForce2 Higher tRAS yields better performance and higher overclocks? Evc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 23rd July, 2003 10:42 PM
Please tell me why / higher FSB serlv General Hardware Discussion 1 21st July, 2003 03:15 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0