AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2002, 08:03 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
So, what was that other plug under the mouse plug?
The top one for was an infrared divice, then it was the mouse then the 2 usb ports.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2002, 08:22 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

OK! Well, it had us fooled, huh? You still got some of those floppy drives? I also need the password for the FTP site.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2002, 08:26 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

The top one was the IR port, then it was the mouse. the keyboard is the big one.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 05:07 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Well disregard this thread. The whole thing doesnt work.
It wont post. I tried the celeron in a ppga slocket and put it in my p2 computer and it wont post. I put my p2 in the slot 1 on that motherboard and it wont post. Tried switching powersupplies, clearing cmos. Removed all cards. Tried agp, pci, and isa videocards. All jumper settings are what they are supposed to be. Tried taking out the whole mobo and running it caseless (thought somthing might be shorting out). I tried switching ram serveral times, disconnected the hard drives, cdrom, floppy drive. Fiddled with the jumper settings (they are all what they are supposed to be), Still doesnt work.
The psu on it works, the motherboard and all the drives get power, the fans spin. I unplugged the cpu fan and turned it on and the cpu is getting power because the hsf gets hot.

I am stumped, my conclusion is its just toast, but hey, at least the ram is still good I tried that in my p2 system and it works fine.

If anyone has any ideas ill be happy to try them, but for now I am giving up.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 10:59 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

What did ya do to it? It worked when I shut it down!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 11:02 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

I took that ghey ass thermal padd off the hsf and put on some arctic alumnia, then I added a videocard, hard drive, cdrom, and floppy then turned it on.
Like I said, the fans work, power goes to everything, but doesnt boot.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 10:24 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

i had a similar problem wheni had a p2 300mhz (before my celery) evrything worked fine, and got power.. only problem was nothing came up on the screen. does everything power up, then kinda remains dorment?

It could be the processor is meant for a different Frequency of mobo. i read somewhere something about tricking the p2 slot-1 into thinking it was running a higher mhz bus speed, by playcing some adhesive strip across one of the pins. <Someones>hardwareguide.com. i cant remember the name
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2002, 04:38 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally posted by piccoLEW
i had a similar problem wheni had a p2 300mhz (before my celery) evrything worked fine, and got power.. only problem was nothing came up on the screen. does everything power up, then kinda remains dorment?

It could be the processor is meant for a different Frequency of mobo. i read somewhere something about tricking the p2 slot-1 into thinking it was running a higher mhz bus speed, by playcing some adhesive strip across one of the pins. &lt;Someones&gt;hardwareguide.com. i cant remember the name
Tomshardware.com

and I tried underclocking it but it still didnt post.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i just got upgraded! skool h8r Random Nonsense! 14 16th February, 2005 03:19 PM
Upgraded for F@H. Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 16 7th August, 2002 11:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0