AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 06:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

old school

I am looking for info, jumper settings for an intel 430VX MoBo. It appears that Intel no longer supports this board since it is ancient, and since it appears to be an original O/Cers board I thought it would be interesting to tinker with it. I already have a KD6-2 500mhz chip and need some further info on this board.

So if any of you Folks have some info My overclocking skills might even get better

G
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 07:57 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Seems like I remember VX being closely tied to the FX or TX, don't really remember now days. You might look up an FX board here and see if the jumpers look like they might be similar. I have several old P166 and P233 laying around collecting dust if you want them for that board.
__________________
-- P4 930 @ 4.1Ghz -- Asus P5WD2-P -- 2X1GB PQI DDR2 3-3-3-8 -- 7800GT -- X-FI Audio --
-- X2 3800+ @ 2.7Ghz (No IHS) -- Epox 9NPA+ Ultra -- 2X1GB G. Skill 3-4-3-8 -- 7800GT --
-- P4 3.0C -- Abit IC7 -- 2X512MB PQI TCCD -- 9800 Pro --
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 08:04 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Shoot, just remembered that Manufacturers used to be real good about putting jumper config charts on the pcb's. Usually not close to the jumper block itself but marked so that you can figure it out. For instance, your cpu config jumper maybe close to the socket marked as J1, J2 etc and half way down the board will be a key telling where to place what jumpers for voltage and frequency and such.
__________________
-- P4 930 @ 4.1Ghz -- Asus P5WD2-P -- 2X1GB PQI DDR2 3-3-3-8 -- 7800GT -- X-FI Audio --
-- X2 3800+ @ 2.7Ghz (No IHS) -- Epox 9NPA+ Ultra -- 2X1GB G. Skill 3-4-3-8 -- 7800GT --
-- P4 3.0C -- Abit IC7 -- 2X512MB PQI TCCD -- 9800 Pro --
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2002, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

Yes , SWilson there are some jumper charts on the PCB. The connecters on this board are all ribbon connecters, and that's what clued me to O/Cing this board and it works well for a 133 w/WME The way I look at it IF I can O/C these things I will appreciate the ease of O/Cing present day boards.

I am having 1 other problem, since it has no ps2 connecters,and it has a serial game port (?) via ribbon,with a PS2 adapter on it, I am unable to install a mouse to it. When I 1st fired it up it had logitech driver for mouse,and since I use an optical I attempted to install and now mouse just sits in center of monitor DEAD. I even tried older ball mouse, no good. Any recommendations?

I dont mind running through keyboard, but it sure would be nice to use mouse.

G:nervous:

PS I'll look through ALL those listed when I get home tonight, I think I saw something similiar. AND 2 big heatsinks outside of CPU

Thanks Again G
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 04:52 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I don't remember the VX, per se. In days of old, mainboards had two Serial Ports, Number One(it's the upper one when the mobo is in a tower type case) was traditionally used for a mouse. Not sure where you can get a serial mouse nowadays. You might try www.repc.com .
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

I talked with the person I picked this up from and he is using the mouse on his new dell, So apparently its not a serial mouse. It is a PS2. My mouse plugs into the adapter that is connected to the port, Which in turn plugs to com 1.
Is there a way to view installed hardware in Win ME? Hardware management?

TIA Gryphyn
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 10:35 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

To get anywhere, you really need to find out what board it is. Go to:http://www.motherboards.org/mobocop.html
They have lots of ways of identifying your motherboard.
The PS/2 adapter on older mobo's usually plugs into a separate PS/2 port, not the serial port.
That mobo may very well have a USB header on it, take a close look.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 04:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

Quote:
Originally posted by Repo Man
To get anywhere, you really need to find out what board it is. Go to:http://www.motherboards.org/mobocop.html
They have lots of ways of identifying your motherboard.
The PS/2 adapter on older mobo's usually plugs into a separate PS/2 port, not the serial port.
That mobo may very well have a USB header on it, take a close look.
Thanks for the link I've been looking for them, Its thier fault I'm hooked on this stuff. LOL

G
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2002, 08:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

I have Identified this mobo as a M535 PC chips, However I am unable find a legible manual for it. also the usb doesnt appear to work? I installed a controller, and usb mouse driver, but it will not recognize the mouse
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2002, 09:37 PM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

I found some info:http://web.tiscali.it/acorp/mobo_spe...8/m535-8-2.htm
The BIOS update has a disclaimer saying it prevents the use of the 75 MHz setting. If true, that is a bummer. If you try the K6-2 in this board, set the vcore to 2.5 (the lowest that chart says it will go) and set the clock multiplier to 2. This will be read as 6 by the K6-2, and will give you 400 MHz with the 66 MHz setting, and 450 if you can use the 75 MHz. The link to the manual appears to work, click on database 2 when you follow the link, and then scroll down and click enter. You'll then be prompted to download a zipped manual.
__________________

Last edited by Repo Man; 15th December, 2002 at 09:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2002, 11:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

Thanks Repo. I guess finding this stuff just takes practice, Luck, and alot of patience Off to see what I can break or burn up

G
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epics of school! skool h8r Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 6 8th March, 2007 03:01 PM
old-school SLI Kobaia Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 38 6th March, 2006 07:49 PM
PSU School Cproflow General Hardware Discussion 4 25th August, 2005 03:32 PM
Got a little school problem BMan Random Nonsense! 15 3rd July, 2003 09:03 PM
School Phobia BMan Random Nonsense! 12 26th February, 2003 06:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0