AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2003, 05:24 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,951

440BX chipset. What joltage for the AGP slot?

A friend just got bamboozled into buying a GF2 MX for her 440BX mainboard. If I remember, 440BX mainboards supply 3v to their AGP slot? And the GF2 MX wants 1.5v?

Is plugging this Vidcard into her 440BX a guaranteed disaster?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2003, 05:49 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,913

I think it could work.

Try looking here:
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Hard..._20296239.html

I dunno if it helps you any.

What kind of mobo are we talking about?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2003, 06:48 PM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

My GF2Ti has survived time spent in AGP 1X slots before. I believe it is standard for AGP 4X cards to be backwards compatible with AGP 1X. AGP 8X cards are only backwards compatible with AGP 4X. I think it is the Intel 845 chipset where I read that trying an AGP 1X/2X card in it will damage the motherboard chipset, specifically the Memory Controller Hub (MCH) chip.
But why anyone would spend that kind of money on a new motherboard like that and then try to use an old 3.3 volt card is beyond me.

I found a good link, even though it is Tom's Hardware: http://www17.tomshardware.com/mainbo...p4x333-02.html

While you're at it, you might want to check out this article as well: http://www17.tomshardware.com/cpu/20030107/index.html
__________________

Last edited by Repo Man; 26th January, 2003 at 06:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2003, 07:10 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

my geforce2 pro ran fine in my dad BX and my 4X agp rage fury pro ran fine as well.....the mx should work...
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2003, 02:54 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

same here. i got a gf2mx when it first came out and dropped it on the asus p3-bf and it worked out fine at 2x..
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2003, 06:19 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,951

Thank you all a lot for your answers!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2003, 10:41 PM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

I think AGP 2X=3.3V and 4X=1.5V and 8X=.8V But most GF2's have been backward compatible to 2X, at least I have not had a problem with this.
__________________
-- P4 930 @ 4.1Ghz -- Asus P5WD2-P -- 2X1GB PQI DDR2 3-3-3-8 -- 7800GT -- X-FI Audio --
-- X2 3800+ @ 2.7Ghz (No IHS) -- Epox 9NPA+ Ultra -- 2X1GB G. Skill 3-4-3-8 -- 7800GT --
-- P4 3.0C -- Abit IC7 -- 2X512MB PQI TCCD -- 9800 Pro --
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGP 2X Slot; What Best to Fill It? Aegis Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 24th February, 2005 01:06 AM
Slot A AGP GrahamGarside AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 13th December, 2004 07:22 AM
64-Bit PCI/PCI-X Slot? nerius 64 Bit computing 2 20th November, 2004 01:45 PM
440BX baords.. Phiber Intel Motherboards & CPUs 13 6th January, 2002 09:40 PM
My Agp slot :( FerrariF50 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 15 29th December, 2001 01:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0