AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2003, 03:29 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

CPU Fan Side Intake Duct

by how much would a side duct going solely to the cpu fan lower my temps if i have on average 21C room temp and Smart fan 2 w/ slk-800U with current temps of 44C ilde and about 55C load on a P4 2.4B processor?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2003, 04:04 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'd guessdamate about 5-10 degrees.
rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th September, 2003, 04:36 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,951

Ducting air directly from outside of the case to the CPU is one of the smartest things one can do to cool the processor. Motherboard temperature also decreases.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2003, 08:04 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

what kind of tools would i need to accomplish this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2003, 09:13 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Got a dremal!??! How about a tape measure?!?!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2003, 07:54 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,951

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianMissile1
what kind of tools would i need to accomplish this?
If your tool chest isn't well populated, the requisite new hole in the left hand case cover for a fan can still be made. All you must have is a 3/8" power drill and two or three 1/8" drill bits.

A Half-Round file for metal isn't an absolute must, but the edge of the hole where the fan will be mounted will be dangerous without one!

If you are short in the tool department, I'll be happy to explain how to make a hole with a paucity of tools at hand.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 03:51 AM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

I used a dremel, cut 2x 120mm holes, 1 over SB one over CPU and NB put 2 90cfm 120mm fans in, removed CPU fan.

Temps dropped about 5c on the CPU and I can now do 200mhz fsb on the non ultra n-force2 with no V-mod and no sound crackling.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 05:38 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

what is a dremel and where can i get one?

can this dremel cut through an existing side window?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 06:41 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Try Wal-mart they usually have a cheap one for cheap. Or try a local hard ware store. (expect to pay a bit more though)
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2003, 05:45 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

or try ebay for "dremel style" rotary tools.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2003, 09:52 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The performance boost of a duct is inversely proportional to the current case ventilation. If you have good air flow, with a minimal increase in case temp over ambient, the benefit of a duct is diminished significantly... With excellent case air flow, the work will probably net you 2-3c. If case air flow is currently bad, 10c or more.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2003, 04:16 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
The performance boost of a duct is inversely proportional to the current case ventilation. If you have good air flow, with a minimal increase in case temp over ambient, the benefit of a duct is diminished significantly... With excellent case air flow, the work will probably net you 2-3c. If case air flow is currently bad, 10c or more.
Whats the noise like with a side fan? im considering it. My case is kind of stuffed tween bed and desk so moving on its own might help anyway but worth enquiring about
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2003, 10:38 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by MercutioUK
Whats the noise like with a side fan? im considering it. My case is kind of stuffed tween bed and desk so moving on its own might help anyway but worth enquiring about
It depends.. If you have a solid case without side vents, there will be a pretty dramatic increase in noise level just by adding ventilation on the side. I just upgraded cases from an Antec1030 (clone) to a Xaser3 (clone). The new case has a vent on the side, and I've noticed a pretty major increase in noise. I used to run my SF2 @ 4000 rpm, but had to slow it down to 3000rpm. Since I lost a little there, I'm upgrading the HS from an SK7 to SLK900, and I'm going to do some mod work to add a fan (or 2) to the side panel.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fan duct WonderBread Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 21st April, 2005 03:06 PM
Which side is the dark side? alexkerhead Random Nonsense! 18 28th November, 2004 08:55 PM
Thinking of adding a side panel intake fan ral Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 7 11th April, 2003 10:48 PM
Direct duct to my CPU Garfield Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 23 1st June, 2002 07:21 AM
dual CPU duct?? drow_elf Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 7 13th May, 2002 04:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0