AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 12th July, 2004, 08:23 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Basically, I can sit here with a system, run Prime95 torture test, winamp, have a number of windows open, and I don't notice a slowdown. I don't have a HT processor either!

I find the only time I see slow downs is when processes start hitting the swap file.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 01:27 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

I know all that, I read toms and anandtech also..
and TY for understanding..

I know it makes a logical CPU out of the left overs...and that rules..hehehe
I like P4(new ons w/HT) the best, because even p95 torture cant make it slow down..hehe

Uh, Aedan, try doing it...
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 10:19 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
Uh, Aedan, try doing it...
I did.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 06:13 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Sure, what kind of PC are you using, your sig doesn't give me any useful info..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 09:33 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

That'll be because my sig is a different machine. The one to the left! His name is Nutter.

My PC is an Athlon XP 2600+ with 512Mb RAM.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 10:03 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

All that stuff made my 2400barton@2.4GHz sooooo slow...
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 10:06 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

How much RAM did you have?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 10:07 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

768 Mb Ddr2100
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 10:13 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I would have thought that was enough to be honest. I don't know why your machine ran so slowly then. I know that running the full torture test on my machine uses rather more RAM than the system has. Thrashing the swap file will reduce any machine to it's knees, no matter how many CPU instances there are.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 10:20 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

1)I was using the CPU torture, not full system tortue..
2)Just the CPU torture took 100% CPU
3)The other stuff barely ran, due to the fact torture was eating the CPU
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 10:29 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Taking 100% CPU isn't a problem. Prime95 will use the lowest priority possible on a system, so any other process that wants CPU time should get it.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 10:33 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

aparently, it felt like using everything on my system...the 2400
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 11:45 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

That's very interesting, as my experience is the same as Áedán's. I'm running prime95 right now, with Firefox, OE, a debug session running in the compiler, winamp in the background, and watching a video from disk, without any noticable change in system response.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2004, 11:53 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Huuummmm, I smell BS..lol

I happen to have run all that stuff on a few of my PCs, and only the HT PCs ran fine during all the apps running...funny, huh?
It slowed down these..
P4 2.4BGHz
P4 2GHz
AMD 2400
AMD 1700
P3 1GHz
P3 800Mhz

These above were the ones that drastically slowed down...huummm..

These didn't slow a bit
P4 HT 3.4GHz
P4 HT 2.8GHz

Do I smell some AMD superiorist mess?
I happen to own HT P4s and XPs, and I like the P4s better...
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah

Last edited by alexkerhead; 13th July, 2004 at 11:59 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2004, 12:07 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Sigh... I doubt you'll find many here who care which CPU you use.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2004, 12:12 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

But you guys just got done telling me how great the XPs multitasked, and that was in fact you caring about what CPU is being used..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2004, 12:33 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Dude! Your pushing your Intel preference in every thread you inter! Your the only one I see who cares. I use AMD when that's sweet I use Intel when that hits a price point.

It couldn't matter less to me whose, timing is all. What's good when I need it.

But to express doubts about the integrity of those who have long ago established their credibility here, is just plain rude.

To YOU it matters, not to us. This is your pet issue not ours.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2004, 12:58 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Chill dude, you misunderstand, I was actually under the influence, that this thread was about Hyper Threading..Not how the Xps can and cannot do multitasking, I did not start that, Aedan brought up the fact, he think the XPs multitask as well as a P4 with HT, not to point fingers..It is the truth..
I know you have good intentions with the post you made, but it should not apply to me, I did nothing wrong..
I just disagreed with Aedan and you, I am sorry if I offended you.
And why am I not allowed to "express doubts" with the people who "long ago established their credibility here" I do believe this forums is not about rank, but knowledge and if it is about how long someone has been here, there is a problem, because forums are supposed to be public and open to any ideas, suggestions and disagreesments, without being rude or getting angry..
I know you have been here forever, I knew that when I saw your rediculous post count..
I also thaught, you being here a long time, would have made you a little more open minded about ideas and disagreements..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2004, 01:02 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
Huuummmm, I smell BS..lol

I happen to have run all that stuff on a few of my PCs, and only the HT PCs ran fine during all the apps running...funny, huh?
It slowed down these..
P4 2.4BGHz
P4 2GHz
AMD 2400
AMD 1700
P3 1GHz
P3 800Mhz

These above were the ones that drastically slowed down...huummm..

These didn't slow a bit
P4 HT 3.4GHz
P4 HT 2.8GHz

Do I smell some AMD superiorist mess?
I happen to own HT P4s and XPs, and I like the P4s better...
Wh-wh-wh-wh-whaaaaat?

I was just observing that I find it interesting that your results differ so drastically from mine and Áedán's. For what it's worth, I have a P4 Celery at 2.0 GHz and a P4 2.8 GHz HT at work. They seem to work just fine. Although I rarely watch movies on them, and I've never run Prime on either of them, I have them folding while I'm working, compiling, debugging, running Winamp, yada yada, and the only time I've ever seen a slowdown in them is when I compile a program that runs at THREAD_PRIOIRTY_HIGHEST with a stupid loop in it under the debugger. (Stupid loop meaning I did something stupid that put the program in a loop. LOL)

There's no doubt the P4 excels at some things, but the difference in particular that you have noted with Prime is due to something else, IMHO.

In any case, if the thing does what you need for it to do, isn't that the important part?

Last edited by Gizmo; 14th July, 2004 at 01:18 AM. Reason: Quote entire message for context
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2004, 01:11 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

I wish you would have quoted my whole post, as you have just quoted those pats, and have made me look like an idiot by doing so...
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel to add memory controllers, threading in 2008 Samuknow Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 29th March, 2007 09:10 PM
Barely threading water didcrywolf CRASHED! 5 6th October, 2005 11:23 AM
Hyper Threading Technology Bios support fredl EPoX MotherBoards 5 8th November, 2004 11:12 PM
Kingston Hyper-X PC3000? OverDose AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 18th March, 2003 07:53 PM
Hyper-Threading Performance Analyzer r0l0e Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th November, 2002 11:51 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0