AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2002, 11:25 PM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Question Celeron 333 slot 1 CPUs!

I have 2 of these...... what dya think would be a good use for them... how could i apply them to be beneficial??

__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2002, 11:59 PM
Phil's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Phil

Not sure how overclockable they would be, I know the 300a went to 450 quite easily, and the ppga 366 went to 550 quite easily but if memory serves me correct the 333 was quite tough to get to 500. You could always find a cheap dual lx board like the asus p2l-d and set up a cheap dual rig and fold on it
__________________
"Let's Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2002, 04:52 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

dually, ya ya .dually
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2002, 06:07 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

It would be enough to run many types of server applications. Could fold with them when the cycles aren't being used

[/folding pimp]
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2002, 04:12 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Yes, make a dual PC, OC both CPUs and run folding on it! Best way to make something useful out of the chips I figure!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2002, 04:40 PM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Correct me if im wrong but dont they have to be matching to run a dual rig cause i know for a fact one of the celerys is from costa rica and the otter is malaysia????
__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower


Last edited by Muta; 9th January, 2002 at 04:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2002, 05:11 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I think they will work, just as long as the architecture is the same
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2002, 06:11 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

well would u like to swap for a p3-500? cos phiber is looking for a pair of SLOT 1 CPU's he has a p3-500 i went to look for another for him... but no luck! anyway contact him if u like the sound
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 02:04 AM
Phil's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Phil

Quote:
Originally posted by Muta
Correct me if im wrong but dont they have to be matching to run a dual rig cause i know for a fact one of the celerys is from costa rica and the otter is malaysia????
They just need to be the same stepping and as far as I know there was only ever an mA0 stepping celeron 333 slot one
__________________
"Let's Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 01:09 PM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Wink Celery and Broccoli... do they go together???



Right i dug em out and heres all the info i see on them...

Cpu 1
08450734- SL2WN
333/66 COSTA RICA

Cpu 2
98450968- SL32B
333/66 MALAY

CPU 1 is OEM and CPU 2 is RETAIL.

And both say iMC 98 on them

Anybody any the Wiser?

cheers all
__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 02:09 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

The average overclocked speed for a celly333 is 488 Mhz, just so you have something to lean to.

BOTH your CPUs are mA0 stepping so that shouldn't be a problem for you. I don't think they MUST have the same sspec (correct me if I'm wrong anyone), just be of the same stepping... which means you are good to go!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 03:11 PM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Right... all i gotta do now is get a dual slot 1 board that will take these and give me good bit of clocking room... but its gotta be ULTRA cheap cause cash flow is low @ the mo... so if anyone knows of anywhere/anyone in the uk that has one... let us know ;-)
__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 04:10 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I Tossed a Dell dually i440 board about 3 weeks ago
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 06:08 AM
Phil's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Phil

Quote:
Originally posted by Muta
Right... all i gotta do now is get a dual slot 1 board that will take these and give me good bit of clocking room... but its gotta be ULTRA cheap cause cash flow is low @ the mo... so if anyone knows of anywhere/anyone in the uk that has one... let us know ;-)
You'll probabally be best off with an lx board price wise but you might find a low cost bx one if you're lucky.
Check out ebay under the motherboard section and do a search for dual slot 1, or check out the loot or micromart
Brand new they will probabally be quite expensive despite how old they are
__________________
"Let's Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 09:53 PM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Angry Dual Slot 1 Mobo!

God damn... these things are hard to come by... ive looked high n low on the compuglobalhypermeganet... and i cant find one...
__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2002, 02:41 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Only 1 in 10 C333's made it to 500 Mhz. I kinda don't think that it's worth bothering with these CPU's. While they were the exact equivalent of a PII 450(for the C300A's that OC'd to 450 Mhz) at a great discount way back then, nowadays even a SMP'd C333 rig @500 Mhz{remember, special Slockets were needed. Running two Slot 1 form factor Celly's in dual required micro-soldering prowess} can't match a single Duron 950.

And it looks like doing it for the nostalgia alone will be too danged expensive. It's always something.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2002, 11:12 AM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Im not too concearned about OC'ing them
and besides i dont like AMD really...
What if i went for 2 slot 1 P3 500s??
Or a Dual Celery 500 setup??
Well all intel stuff is expensive but its better than AMD (In My Opinion)
__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 07:34 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Celly 500's at "stock" are cursed wih the 66 Mhz FSB. This moiderises performance. A dual P3E 500 setup will indeed crunch them numbers pretty darn fast.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 08:53 PM
Muta's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 83

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
well would u like to swap for a p3-500? cos phiber is looking for a pair of SLOT 1 CPU's he has a p3-500 i went to look for another for him... but no luck! anyway contact him if u like the sound
So what spec was phiber's P3 500?
Where is he based??
__________________
Intel PIV PGA478 2A GHz (400) @ 2GHz
17" Samsung SyncMaster 700NF
ASUS P4T533-C
256mb RAMBUS RDRAM
61.4 Gb IBM ATA 100
18.2 Gb Fujitsu LVD160
Initio A100U2W SCSI Card
50x Asus CD-ROM (With Red Led Mod)
6x32x Toshiba DVD-ROM
10x4x32 HP 9300 CD-Writer
ATI All In Wonder Pro 128 32mb AGP
Creative SB LIVE!
3com Etherlink III 10/100
Juno P6 Full Tower

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP-9NPA+ SLI and AMD X2 CPUs Powsmowl EPoX MotherBoards 5 19th December, 2005 05:08 PM
64 bit vs. XP CPUs Samuknow Benchmarking 30 10th June, 2005 12:39 PM
AMD CPUs SteveI AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 24th December, 2003 08:39 AM
AMD Motherboards & CPUs Lionfish Random Nonsense! 6 23rd September, 2001 11:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0