AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2004, 08:40 AM
tjf_diesel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 36

2.8 go higher than 3.3?

Ok, so here's the deal, I got my 2.8 up to 3.3ghz with 235 fsb. Can't do to much after that. I tried 240 fsb and it booted up, but then locked when it was posting the hard drives connected. Reset the computer and it got past that part fine. Locked up right after that. Tried 250 fsb also, earlier on, and it would just post the CPU at 3.5 and lock up. Any suggestions? I'm running this all on a Antec 350w power supply.

Thanks
__________________


Primary- P4c 2.8- Epox 4PCA3+ ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Corsair HydroCool 200 Corsair and Koolance PC2-601 Case
1024MB DDR400 XMS3200LL WD 36.7gb 10,000rpm RAPTOR HD -
WD 200gb 7,200rpm HD- Win XP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2004, 04:29 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Lock up sounds like a CPU or power issue. Is it hot?

Also, less likely but, are you running memory in synch?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2004, 06:37 PM
tjf_diesel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 36

It's water cooled, so heat isn't an issue. I'm running the memory insync up to the 225fsb, after that I don't. So maybe the power?
__________________


Primary- P4c 2.8- Epox 4PCA3+ ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Corsair HydroCool 200 Corsair and Koolance PC2-601 Case
1024MB DDR400 XMS3200LL WD 36.7gb 10,000rpm RAPTOR HD -
WD 200gb 7,200rpm HD- Win XP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is better, higher CPU speed, or higher memory bandwidth? mookydooky Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 26th August, 2004 12:33 AM
Can Anyone Help me Get Higher Shotgun Ed Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 5th June, 2004 02:50 AM
nForce2 Higher tRAS yields better performance and higher overclocks? Evc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 23rd July, 2003 10:42 PM
Please tell me why / higher FSB serlv General Hardware Discussion 1 21st July, 2003 03:15 AM
Going higher watsaru Hardware Hacking 3 16th September, 2002 04:57 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0