AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2004, 11:07 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Kingston Value PC-3200 OK for Intel 865GBFLK at stock?

Howdy, friends and neighbors. I'm seriously considering a P4 2.4C on an Intel 865G, yadda. I don't want to OC it, and don't care about the shame and degradation of low performance DDR. As long as the Dual Channel feature works fine with a 2.4C at 400 Mhz(or 800 Mhz, or whatever)like, totally at stock.

Are two 512 Mb sticks of Kingston Value PC-3200 up to the task? It's on sale at the Egg, btw.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2004, 11:34 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

If timings aren't of great importance, yeah, Kingston will do fine.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2004, 11:56 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan
If timings aren't of great importance, yeah, Kingston will do fine.
If wishes were horses... I'd get matched PC-4000 modules. I think the Kingston Value 512 Mb sticks are 3-3-3. Blazing fast, cough.

Thank you very much Allan, as always, you da man!

Hard to believe it, but I think I'm going P4. Gasp! I'll still have at least one AMD machine, never fear.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2004, 01:42 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Wouldn't you know it, Newegg sold out all of the Kingston 512 Mb PC-3200 sticks while I wasn't looking. Here's hoping that Buffalo 512 Mb PC-3200 modules with Samsung SE chips are just as good!

It's my understanding that P4 mainboards are much more forgiving with Dual-Channel operation than nForce2 m'board's. Fingers are crossed!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2004, 01:03 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I've never used Buffalo, but I hope they work out well for you my friend. I'm looking forward to seeing that new rig of yours when you get all the parts in. (do you have a digicam of some sort?)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2004, 01:24 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan
I've never used Buffalo, but I hope they work out well for you my friend. I'm looking forward to seeing that new rig of yours when you get all the parts in. (do you have a digicam of some sort?)
SteveI mentioned Buffalo in a thread about buying some DDR from Newegg. Can't remember the details, but I think his RAM was a lot mo' betta than the equivalent of Kingston Value DDR. Fingers are crossed!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2004, 02:32 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I have some buffalo tech PC3200 modules they are the ones with the windbon CH5 chips. I can't really tell you how well they work though. They are in my wifes machine and she doesn't want it overclocked. She wants MAX stability. So they are running in sync at 133FSB, but the timings are set insanely tight.

No problems so far.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2004, 04:24 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staz
I have some buffalo tech PC3200 modules they are the ones with the windbon CH5 chips. I can't really tell you how well they work though. They are in my wifes machine and she doesn't want it overclocked. She wants MAX stability. So they are running in sync at 133FSB, but the timings are set insanely tight.

No problems so far.
Thank you for the vote of confidence, Staz. SteveI did mention Winbond CH5 memory chips, come to think of it. These are Samsung SE chips on a six layer PCB made in Taiwan. Dunno where the Korean mem chips are mated with the Made in Taiwan board. That part shouldn't be so important. The one and only customer review says that these sticks work great on an Intel 865 mainboard. Better, he changed the default 3-3-3 SPD setting to 2.5-3-3, no sweat.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2004, 05:25 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I just checked and her timings are 2-2-2T-6.

Since the FSB is at 133, better to run RAM sync with tight timings than to run async. (At least with an AMD platform)
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2004, 06:43 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

I've been running Corsair XMS3500 at 2-2-2-4 for several months running at 200. I have 3 machines with the same stuff and my friend also has 3 with the same results. Corsair is expensive, but it might be worth it.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2004, 07:18 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by mookydooky
I've been running Corsair XMS3500 at 2-2-2-4 for several months running at 200. I have 3 machines with the same stuff and my friend also has 3 with the same results. Corsair is expensive, but it might be worth it.
For OCing, Corsair seems to be the very best. This will be a lowly scrivener's machine, stock is just fine. Read an article about Dual-Channel RAM recently. Looks like it's nine parts hokum and one part better performance. For AMD as well as Intel.

If you can't live without the small boost in performance that Dual Channel RAM gives you, then it's worth the expense.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2004, 07:08 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I discovered that the Samsung memory chips I'm getting are i865 approved by Intel. Let's hope the fact that they're soldered on boards from Taiwan in Japan doesn't mess up the equation.

After reading that one Intel 865GBFLK was a lemon, I'm leaning toward an Asus P4P800 Deluxe instead.

I've bought many Asus m'boards. The last nForce mainboard from Asus I have died. Tsk. Decisions...
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2004, 07:34 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The P4P800 DX with a P4 2.4C and the Buffalo cheapskate's DDR with Samsung memory chips is running fine in Dual Channel. At stock of course. Me so happy, this new box moves right along!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock in Intel KrayZeeZ Random Nonsense! 9 6th May, 2006 06:34 PM
Intel P4 stock cooler Vs. Thermaltake Spark 7 + Kobaia Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 10th September, 2004 02:41 AM
Microsoft to offer employees stock instead of stock options. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 0 12th July, 2003 01:45 PM
Corsair 3200 vs Kingston HyperX 3500 on an 8RDA+ agean EPoX MotherBoards 5 26th February, 2003 08:28 PM
P4 Stock Cooler Install... Yes, He Said 'Stock'. zer0point Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 15 7th November, 2002 04:33 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0