AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 26th January, 2004, 11:07 AM

DFI Lanparty 875Pro - Memory Options?

Hi all, first post to this forum and as a newbie I am humbly asking for some help!

I have a DFI Lanparty 975 Pro mainboard with a P4 3Gz CPU (533fsb) and 2 x 512 PC3200 Ram (generic).

My issue is that I have a feeling that my PC is not running as fast as it should. My reasons are that a friend has just built a similar PC but with a 2.8Gz P4 and his benchmarks faster in PC Mark 2004. (although he has the 800fsb chip)

I'm a little (understatement) confused about memory speeds e.t.c. and was wondering if somebody can explain what memory settings I should be running, and what dual channel DDR means (i.e. my mainboard supports it but is that a different kind of DDR memory or just something I enable in bios to make things quicker)

My PC3200 Ram is currently running at 333mhz and seems to be single channel.

Any thoughts on this would be very greatfully received.

p.s. Not really trying to overclock just yet, just trying to get everything running at the speed it's supposed to be!

Last edited by adster; 26th January, 2004 at 12:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 26th January, 2004, 11:24 AM

Ooops sorry chaps, it's a pro 875 not a 975!!
Old 26th January, 2004, 08:59 PM
AOA Staff

I am running an AMD system, but I do have A DFI board, PC3200 and a CPU with a 333mhz bus.

Currently, testing this at 11.5 x 200mhz.

Your memory should be able run at 400mhz no problem. If you can't identify the memory chips, you should be able to use auto settings for memory timings at 400mhz.