AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 11:39 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

memtest crashing on P4-3gig

Henrik is having some problems with his P4 3.0 GHz rig, so we decided to test the memory. Downloaded memtest 2.8, and ran the test. Would run for 7 seconds, then halted. No errors, but the program stalled. We set the clocks to normal, and relaxed the timings A LOT. Didn't help a bit. We then tried upping the Vddr, to no avail.

What could be up with this? Motherboard is Asus, RAM is 2 sticks of generic PC3200 256MB. We can't get past 7 seconds of the memtest.

Ideas, suggestions etc are appreciated!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 12:29 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Which chipset is the mobo? From what I hear, the 875P is very finicky when it comes to memory. Furthermore, the 875P has a bunch of requirements when it comes to memory. Memory modules have to be more or less identical
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 12:40 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe, 875p... so that could be it? Any way around it? I told him to try with just 1 stick of memory, but he was reluctant to start messing with it just now, which really isn't something he would normally NOT do!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 02:08 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

OK he tried with just 1 RAM stick. Didn't help, still stalls after a few seconds..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 03:11 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

What were the problems he was having.... to make you wanna try memtest?

When the case was open, did you check the mobo for blown caps?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 03:25 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

if anything's wrong, and the system becomes incomplete, feel free to send me the working parts for folding.

particulary the processor.

_________________________________

it sounds like bad RAM. I had a problem like this recently. i added a new stick, my system became way too unstable, it would crash even before windows loaded up. the stick is on its way back to the company for rma.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 03:32 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
What were the problems he was having.... to make you wanna try memtest?

When the case was open, did you check the mobo for blown caps?
He has been having some stability issues, and I wanted to see if the RAM was the issue. I also suspect the RAM to be holding his OC back, because the CPU seems to have a lot to offer..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 03:16 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

If you have a stick of known good RAM, try inserting that stick on it's own. You really need to be able to swap parts to locate where the issue is!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memtest WonderBread General Hardware Discussion 4 15th March, 2005 05:22 AM
Anybody know anything about memtest? v3.0 bradmax57 EPoX MotherBoards 21 15th February, 2004 09:05 PM
Crashing XP pro, Memtest question Axeman71 CRASHED! 10 8th October, 2003 11:06 PM
3gig Barton WOOOOOT!!!!! Holst EPoX MotherBoards 46 31st May, 2003 06:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0