AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 19th June, 2004, 02:21 AM

Help Needed...Intel CPU Recommendation.......

I'm buying a barebones intel laptop...heres a link to it.
i would like to know what are my options when getting a cpu for it. am i limited to simply Pentium M or can i use other CPU from intel? if there are other CPU's i can use, please tell me which ones.
this is my first time verturing into the mobile market, specifically laptops and really need some help.
i know centrino's are supposed to run alot cooler and give longer battery life, but thats not an issue for me........i would prefer to just use a P4 cpu if thats possible.
PS. this is my first time dealing with intel stuff.....all i'm used to are AMD, so i really need the help.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...type=Refurbish

Last edited by michealwolfe; 19th June, 2004 at 02:27 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 19th June, 2004, 04:29 AM
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion

Nope, You're locked into the M... 1.7ghz max. I wouldn't try anything higher.
Old 20th June, 2004, 05:23 PM
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion

Send a message via MSN to Pitch

When running on battery power, the M will perfrom alot better than the P4.

XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 2nd July, 2004, 12:38 AM

Not only when running low on battery, the Pentium-M is a lot faster than a P4 running at same speed, it's even faster than the A64.
Old 4th July, 2004, 07:32 PM

thanks for the info
Old 4th July, 2004, 11:21 PM
Member/Contributor