AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2004, 02:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 1

man i'd hate to OC this!!

Sup

Hahha
You guys hear about the new Intel chip? It takes a three pound heat sink

That’s HOT

Edit* Sorry, we don't allow commercial links in member's sigs. *Edit
__________________

Last edited by cloasters; 8th July, 2004 at 04:15 PM. Reason: Commercial in sig
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2004, 05:24 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Hey, that is the new badazz Intel Prescott socket 775 CPU, they pump out like 3.6GHz and they will go up to 5GHz, yeah, and they have no pins, so you cannot break the pins on em...weeeee.
They also do need extreme cooling, becasue they are extreme performers, the socket 478 prescotts blew, but these new socket 775 are awesome, and they use a contact method designed and used in the 286-8 days, so it is cool.
They have high performance rating, when testing.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 04:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 17

I dont think my presscott blows, and i have a northwood to. With good cooling the presscott works like awsome, i would like the 775 socket but theyre too expensive for my taste.
__________________
Main rig:
P4 Presscott 3.2E, no OCing (for now)
Corsair (512mbx2) XMS PC4000 DDR 500
ASUS P4P800-SE
SONY D9+DVD+/-RW
WD Raptor 74 gig 10k rpm
EVGA Nivida GeForce FX 5200 w/Personal Cinema
DYNAPOWER ATX case 86B2 w/430 watt PSU
Kingwin Artic Liquid Cooler AWC-1
Artic Silver 5
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 07:24 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

the 775s are close to the same price..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 17

the nice 775 mobos are expensive, but ur right they are the same price range ~10. But you gotta amit the temps will be crazy when u over clock.
__________________
Main rig:
P4 Presscott 3.2E, no OCing (for now)
Corsair (512mbx2) XMS PC4000 DDR 500
ASUS P4P800-SE
SONY D9+DVD+/-RW
WD Raptor 74 gig 10k rpm
EVGA Nivida GeForce FX 5200 w/Personal Cinema
DYNAPOWER ATX case 86B2 w/430 watt PSU
Kingwin Artic Liquid Cooler AWC-1
Artic Silver 5

Last edited by sin0822; 26th July, 2004 at 07:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 10:59 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

well, they are also built to take much more heat then the equivilant p4 or a64s.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 11:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 17

yeah i guess, but cant the normal pressie take 60c? how much does the 775 take?
__________________
Main rig:
P4 Presscott 3.2E, no OCing (for now)
Corsair (512mbx2) XMS PC4000 DDR 500
ASUS P4P800-SE
SONY D9+DVD+/-RW
WD Raptor 74 gig 10k rpm
EVGA Nivida GeForce FX 5200 w/Personal Cinema
DYNAPOWER ATX case 86B2 w/430 watt PSU
Kingwin Artic Liquid Cooler AWC-1
Artic Silver 5
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2004, 05:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 57

I bet it can take more than 60. Normally a CPU will still survive even 10 degrees over fry temp. My friends Athlon XP 2000+ runs at 95 degrees all the time and it still works. His parents wont let me fix the problem because they're afraid me, a computer builder, will wreck their computer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2004, 06:49 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

95 Celcuis(sp.)?
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2004, 07:13 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

are you sure that is not 95F, cuz that thing would not even be alive at 85c?
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2004, 05:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 57

95 celcius. I put my hand in front of the rear exhaust fans and the temperature was unbearable. It would reset sometimes, normally when he went to play games.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2004, 06:12 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

nah, it wouldn't work at 95c, check the bios, or the sensors are probably bad, that thing wouldn't turn on if it were 95c..
I have a P4 system pushing 55c, and it blows very hot air out of the back..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2004, 07:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 57

We did check it in the bios. The reason it would boot is that it would gradually make its way up to 90-95. When first turned on it reads 27-28 in the bios and keeps going up. The reason it didn't auto shutdown is because it wasn't set to shutdown until 120 degrees. I set it to 75 and it restarts constantly now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 12:09 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

No mobos have a shutdown at 120, the max is 78c..
You are thinking about 95F then...
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 12:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 57

The max is more than 78. I have a PIII mobo that lets you set it at 120. And no, I'm not thinking about farenheit, it was celsius.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 01:15 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

oh, well, its his CPU to fry, let him fry it.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 02:52 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

I am willing to put money on this, there is not CPU that will operate, let alone actually survive 95c..
Can we have a screenshot of sandra or somtin telling us the temp?
i am also willing to say the sensors are way off, as where sandra reads my temps at 218c..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 04:00 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
No mobos have a shutdown at 120, the max is 78c..
You are thinking about 95F then...
120f would be around 50c. I think there might be one that would be that low but I doubt it.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 04:04 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
120f would be around 50c. I think there might be one that would be that low but I doubt it.
Rob
What are you talking about, I was talking about 120c man, read the post..lol
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2004, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 57

We checked his temps in the bios, I can get you a picture of that if you want.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hate to let this out before I get in on it, but... Logan Online Deals, and Steals 9 25th August, 2004 11:47 PM
Don't you just hate it when this happens . . . dimmreaper Random Nonsense! 8 16th September, 2002 08:13 AM
I hate my job! unclemojo Betty's Rants and Rages 15 10th July, 2002 03:38 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0