AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 02:22 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

Buying a Pentium M/Centrino laptop

I'm probably going for the Asus M5601 or the S5601.

They are practically identical except the S is about £50 cheaper, a little smaller a little lighter and I can get it at that price with a 72Watt-Hour Battery (the M5601 comes with a 48WH batt). The only downside with the S is that it has an external USB DVD/CDRW combo drive (although it is very sexy if you look at Tom's Hardware S5200 review).

Trouble is I want to run linux and I don't know if with the external drive I'd be able to boot from CD. I mean is there any way the BIOS would be able to run the CD drive before the OS?

As for driver capabilities with the hardware on linux: if it runs the intel graphics card in full colour at 1024 and it can work the network card, touchpad and keyboard I'll be happy. Not bothered about wifi.

I'm going for Asus because they seem to be quality, these are the cheapest machines at this size (12.1" TFT) and they have a 2 yr C&R warranty. They also all come with a wireless usb mouse and a carry case.

M5601: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=118558
S5601: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=118555
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2004, 01:08 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

So the Centrino feature isn't ready for wifi?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2004, 02:26 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

No I'm not bothered about wifi, it's just the Pentium M core I want since they're supposed to be so good. The key thing is that cd drive and installing linux.

edit:
OK I've now discovered that some modern BIOS's have boot from "USB-HDD", "USB-ZIP" etc options (the most modern motherboard I have is over 2 years old now). Just got to find out now if Asus supports this.
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/dforum/forum.cgi?msg=251
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah

Last edited by stigweed; 29th July, 2004 at 02:45 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2004, 02:27 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Make sure you get a Dothan core and not a Banias.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2004, 03:10 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

Why? I don't know of any sites that specify which core you get (except one in the US which would be cheaper apart from the VAT and the ~$70 shipping)

edit:
Looking at Toms Hardware review of the Dothan, it performs almost exactly the same, clocl-for-clock, in most of the benchmarks. The battery lasted about 50 minutes longer on the Dothan.

However, the S5601 with the 72WHr pack lasts nearly 5 hours anyway (I'd be looking to secure 3hours generally). At 1.3GHz, it seems these laptops will be banias.

The whole Pentium M design seems pretty clever from what I've read now though.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah

Last edited by stigweed; 29th July, 2004 at 03:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2004, 05:26 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

The increased performance of the Dothan will depend a lot on how you work. If you plan to do a lot of streaming data stuff, the Dothan won't really offer anything over Banias. But if you do a lot of stuff that requires large amounts of stuff to be stored in the cache, it could make a big difference. As to knowing what core, they Dothan cores have different names. Instead of Pentium M 1.6Ghz, it will be called Pentium M Processor 725. For the 1.8Gzh, the Dothan will be called Processor 745. The 2Ghz will be Processor 755.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2004, 08:33 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

These will be Banias' then. Can't really afford a Dothan and I haven't seen any other laptops this small for this kind of money.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Posts: 2

If this is of any interest, I own an S5200, and I run Mandrakelinux on it. Everything except the modem is recognized and working perfectly, but I haven't actually _tried_ to get the modem to work since I don't use it anyway.

The intel graphics have built-in support in the kernel and xorg/xfree, so no need for fiddling with drivers (although if you install a Mandrake 10.1, you'll have to update xorg from Thac or someplace else - Mandrake's version is buggy, and won't give you hardware acceleration).

Speedstepping, APM and ACPI all work great, I have a 24Wh and a 48Wh battery (both came with the laptop) which give me about 2½ and 5 hours each if I just do a little programming and stuff, or about 5½ together in total if I watch DivX movies nonstop (just did it on a long busride, which is why I know .

The Wifi also works out of the box, at least on Mandrake. I tried a Fedora install that didn't enable Wifi, but I read somewhere that it used to, so maybe it has something to do with the Fedora policy.

Let's see... Yes, the external drive works perfectly, you can boot from that, from the included USB stick, or an external USB harddrive. And if the M5601 is anything like the M5200, you definitely should go for the S version, because then the M version blows out its hot air to the RIGHT, that is directly on your hand and that ain't nice when you play Enemy Territory!

I must say though, that my external drive just broke down - it's been acting weird ever since I got it, so I think it's just a fabrication flaw, and I'm pretty confident I'll get a new and better one no questions asked.

I'll send this post to your e-mail also, if you have any questions. (I don't really visit here, I just stumbled upon this doing a google search to see if I could overclock it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2004, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Posts: 2

Just remembered... the M5601 has 802.11g, right? Mine has 802.11b, ie. ipw2100 chipset, yours would be ipw2200. Both are supported on the Mandrake kernel, so I would suspect yours to work just as well as mine.

Also, although the card reader seems to be working fine, I don't actually own any memory cards, so I can't test it. But, as said, it is recognized and accepted here.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a new laptop. devilmyarse Mobile Devices and Networking 5 19th December, 2005 11:21 PM
is a pentium d and pentium extreme edition the same based chip? acgraham Hardware Hacking 26 12th December, 2005 04:10 AM
Odd Centrino behavior. mookydooky Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 10th December, 2004 04:15 PM
Centrino 900mhz with 256mb Ram - Enough to run XP? offie Intel Motherboards & CPUs 7 26th July, 2004 12:59 PM
Laptops: Centrino Vs. P4 ? barneygumble742 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 21st July, 2003 02:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0