AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2004, 07:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 2

now how overclockable is my setup

well kind of a dumb fourm question to ask but the last major overclocking i did was back in the days of the Pentium 3 500e the first of the FCPGA chips! (i remember it was deemed most over clockable cpu ever, i personally got it up to ~900mhz)

anways right now im running a new 2.8 northwood with the retail fan (on my MSI 865pe neo2-v)and im really wondering what kind of overclocking can i expect with my well ventilated case before i step up the voltage and after and whats a good max temperature for these chips...
thanks guys overclocking is fun hehe
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 09:53 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, johnwc723! If your BIOS gives you the handy option of OCing by 5%, 10% etc, why not give a minimal overclock a try? As always, you risk upsetting your well running machine and turning it into a pumpkin.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 10:06 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Hey John, welcome to AOA.

I'm sure 3 GHz is a safe bet without extra voltage.

May I suggest that you try out folding@home to stress test the CPU, in order to find the maximum overclock? You'd be helping science fighting diseases while you're at it! We have a small but dedicated team that would love some help! Check out the folding section here in the forums, or click the link in my signature badge (the white thing showing statistics)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 10:15 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan
Hey John, welcome to AOA.

I'm sure 3 GHz is a safe bet without extra voltage.

May I suggest that you try out folding@home to stress test the CPU, in order to find the maximum overclock? You'd be helping science fighting diseases while you're at it! We have a small but dedicated team that would love some help! Check out the folding section here in the forums, or click the link in my signature badge (the white thing showing statistics)
God, Allan, you are ALREADY bugging him....lol


You might want to look at getting a new mobo
and going for 3.4GHz
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2004, 11:48 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Welcome to AOA,
Your mobo's BIOS options will give you a good guestimate at how far you can go. Is your NW 533fsb or 800? Also, what memory are you running? PC2100, PC2700 or PC3200? Last, does your mobo have the option to run FSB asynch with the memory? The answers to these questions will give a lot of insight at how much your system can handle.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2004, 03:38 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

If you have a 2.8C, you can probably expect an easy 3.2Ghz. Do you have the stepping of the chip? Do you recall if it has 30 caps under the chip? Use CPU-Z and see if it what it says under Revision. IF you have an M0 revision, you can count on 3.4-3.8GHz on air. The MSI are decent OCers, but you could get much better stability when OCing using an Asus, Abit or DFI board.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2004, 03:45 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

He doesn't have a "good" MSI board, thus he needs new mobo like a mofo
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2004, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 2

thanks for the replys guys! yeah im running the 3200 memory, i think ill check out that folding@home thing also this mother board isnt very good well i mean i payed 70$ for it but i didnt really see anything wrong in the reviews about it other than it dosent come with that many features
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2004, 07:33 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwc723
thanks for the replys guys! yeah im running the 3200 memory, i think ill check out that folding@home thing also this mother board isnt very good well i mean i payed 70$ for it but i didnt really see anything wrong in the reviews about it other than it dosent come with that many features
I can't comment on the board as I've never had one but I've built a few AMD systems based on MSI boards and they're all solid performers. I checked out the MSI site and couldn't find any obvious problems either, but like I say I've no experience with it.

In any case the whole point of overclocking is getting a bit more out of the system you have, good luck with it
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2004, 12:05 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

If you can, buy one of these boards. They are not too expensive.

Abit IS7
Asus P4P800
Epox EP-4PDA2+

I bought an IS7 used on the forums and it'll run 290MHz fsb 3D stable with my 2.4C. The Asus will run the same and the Epox I had ran 275MHz fsb with a 2.6C. I also used IC7 and P4C800-E deluxe taht took my 2.8C to 270. Sell your MSI and pick up a better OCer. If that 2.8C is a good stepping, you could run 250-260MHz fsb 24/7.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extremely Overclockable 1700+ AMD FANZ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 5th July, 2003 01:51 PM
2cd-rom, 2 HD setup help seungm81 General Hardware Discussion 9 21st June, 2003 12:41 AM
setup rivendell AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 24th May, 2003 06:34 PM
Overclockable Nforce2? AlienX1088 EPoX MotherBoards 36 26th July, 2002 09:10 PM
Overclockable MP boards Winkie AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 1st February, 2002 03:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0