AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2004, 09:03 PM
mewisemagic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 15

can you update a mainboard in a gateway pc?

i have a gateway 500 with a 1.6 p4, can i replace the motherboard and still use that cpu and the 2700 memory?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2004, 10:02 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Do you have a link to the exact specs for that machine?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 01:49 AM
mewisemagic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 15

http://search.support.gateway.com/iphrase/query?command=text&attr1=&attr2=&render=1&text=%09 Intel%20(El%20Paso

elpaso motherboard the ninth one down on the page #2516082
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 06:27 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

I updated an older Gateway for a friend. It had a Celeron 366. I put an MSI board and a XP1700 in it. The only problem was the PSU. I had to modify the case to fit a standard 300 watt PSU. That shouldn't be a problem for you, as you're using the same CPU and memory, so you should be able to use the same PSU.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 07:12 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

if that is a 1.6A Northwood 478 pin it is definitely worth upgrading. I know of a lady who runs her 1.6A on a Abit IT7 max2 Ver.2 motherboard at 2800 mhz daily!! So even if you have to swap cases it is worth it. you would need to get a new heatsink fan setup too. For around $100 to 115 you could have it flying.

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 09:55 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Looks like it would be fine to upgrade the motherboard. Where it says formfactor microATX, this is means it is a standard type motherboard.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 07:29 PM
mewisemagic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 15

i thought it might be a micro atx, cause it is small than my epox 8rda+3
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 07:34 PM
mewisemagic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 15

this is it , i think the other link was wrong http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERB...516082nv.shtml
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gateway is a piece of (you know what) WonderBread Betty's Rants and Rages 5 7th February, 2006 07:23 PM
intel wireless gateway 2 WonderBread Mobile Devices and Networking 4 5th October, 2005 06:03 AM
How to find MoBo that fits my Gateway 64wad6 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 14 22nd September, 2005 06:25 AM
Gateway makes a bid for E-Machines! Staz Random Nonsense! 3 3rd February, 2004 12:19 PM
More retarded Gateway help for my Sister in law Betty General Hardware Discussion 6 7th January, 2002 04:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0