AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 12:48 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Getting my P4 to 3 GHz......

I have a MSI PT880 Neo Mother board http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...il.php?UID=527 and a P4 2.4 GHz processor that runs at 533FSB.....I am trying to get this chip to 3.0GHz but only have been able to run it stable at like 2.79 It is watercooled and runs at like 37C this motherboard has a Core Cell chip that automatically overclocks the processor by like 20%, but I want to get it to 3GHz (that's my main goal) I need some help with anyone who knows a lot about this motherboard or has this motherboard and I need help with how much voltage I should give this chip to get to 3 Gigs.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 08:18 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

And is higher voltage needed to overclock a processor???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 08:26 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

It all depends on how much you're wanting to overclock. I know that my XP-M won't do 2400mhz (12x200) stable if the voltage is under 1.625. Anything less and it blue screens/restarts on me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 10:47 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

i have a p4 2.4 533bus and the max i could get it to run at at any voltage was 2.79 ghz, it wasnt much of an overclocker.
the max i could get it to POST at was ~2.95ghz, but then windows would crash upon loading.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 10:50 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

4.1Ghz gives me a BSOD
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 11:08 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Bsod?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 11:45 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Blue screen of death (bsod)
Mainly from 98 days but can still happen in xp just rarer and not random
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 11:59 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeVeRmiNd
I have a MSI PT880 Neo Mother board http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...il.php?UID=527 and a P4 2.4 GHz processor that runs at 533FSB.....I am trying to get this chip to 3.0GHz but only have been able to run it stable at like 2.79 It is watercooled and runs at like 37C this motherboard has a Core Cell chip that automatically overclocks the processor by like 20%, but I want to get it to 3GHz (that's my main goal) I need some help with anyone who knows a lot about this motherboard or has this motherboard and I need help with how much voltage I should give this chip to get to 3 Gigs.
what is the stepping?
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2004, 02:24 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

What is stepping? (sorry, I don't know all that much on this)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2004, 02:28 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

check what cpu-z gives out under cpu info.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2004, 05:49 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

proly sl6pc...1.5v
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2004, 06:00 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

mine is sl6dv stepping, and it can do 3GHz easy.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2004, 12:07 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2004, 01:49 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Hey Nevermind, go to google and type in, cpu-z download, it will give you the link to go and get it. then click on cpu-z and it will show your processor and it's oc but, more importantly to us it will show you and us what prossy you have. Family and stepping. then you can post the pic or just relay it to us. you tell us you are getting to 2759. I believe then you are running at 153 fsb. What memory are you using? What divider?
4:5, 3:4, 1:1 Hmmm? Do not use any of the auto-overclocking features on a mobo. do it all manually. Again go to google, type in your motherboard including the word reviews
you will probably find a couple. they virtually always overclock in reviews. so you could get some useful info there. I have never used a MSI board, Although I will tell you I have never seen a motherboard book that did not include something on overclocking. V-core you ask My son's 2.66B has been running at 1.725V for 22 months now. It is doing fine. your results may vary. I have no qualms about turning up the Volts. what voltage do you have your mem running at? Also what timings?
you see there is a lot we need to know to really be in a position to even attempt to help you. there are things you need to do to learn to help yourself. So bring more info and we'll see what we can do.

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2004, 01:59 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

For shame Weilzillia! AOA Files has long hosted and revered said cpu-z!

(Another slip-up like that and I'll fine you 50 MHz!)
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2004, 02:23 AM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

That slap on the wrist is ineffective! Darn red tape and the fact that he gets to keep said 50mhz on probation because of folding. BAH!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2004, 02:46 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

I know this is true but, He needs to learn to use google. There is much info at his fingertips regarding the system he has. He needs only type it in. That would just be disasterous to knock me down 50mhz!! Then I would only be running at 4003 mhz!!
Not fair I tell you.

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2004, 05:05 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

If were to be fined, I would guess Daniel would need about 200MHz for my bad deeds..lol
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2004, 06:14 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

If you guys didn't have folders and little baby Wu's to feed I'd break you all back to using abacuses... or maybe those knot tyeing cords the Inca's use....

But... I have a soft spot for those less fortunate... ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 01:03 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

I don't have the system that I am overclocking, I probably won't get it back for another week or two (I am grounded ) But when I get it bakc I will download Cpu-z and post a pic, Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0