AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2004, 11:17 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

The Latest From Intel.

I may have missed it, but I didn't see it posted anywhere. (Then again, I don't check the news.) If this is a repost, please delete it.

http://www.linuxinsider.com/story/In...ers-37785.html

Looks like Intel's new thing is coming. Apparently a new chipset and a more powerful chip, although it lives up to it's nickname: Expensive Edition.

I have an aquaintance who works for Intel and supposedly this thing is supposed to be...well...incredible.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 01:05 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

"A batch of 1,000 Extreme Editions will sell for US$999."------??!?!Am I misreading this or something? only $999 for 1,000 chips??!?!?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 01:12 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

$999 each I would imagine.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 01:14 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

no thats $999 each when bought in thousands in other words thats what system builders pay for them
in other words stupidly priced.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 01:36 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Holy CRAP. That's A LOT of money, lol.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 01:41 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

They're aimed at the 'I'm stupidly rich and will pay a 500% premium for a 5% performance gain' demographic
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 02:39 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
They're aimed at the 'I'm stupidly rich and will pay a 500% premium for a 5% performance gain' demographic
Not to stir up trouble, really. Is AMD's Athlon 64-bit 2.6 Ghx FX-55 as capable or even better than this $999 P4 Extreme? The price is nearly the same.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 04:55 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

have a look through this

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/cont...s/30579_hi.pdf

it's not the same P4EE but the results should be similar
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 04:59 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

That 1066 Bus is nearly as high as mine.

Still, according to [H]ardocp, it isn't worth the cash

http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=Njgy
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 07:55 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Amd has always had more bang for the buck...it's what make us AMD fanboys, well, fanboys. DDR was originally an AMD thing, at least they were the first to support it. They've been playing catch-up ever since.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 10:50 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Given that Intel's chips have always had so much more frontside bus than AMD's chips, one has to wonder how much of that FSB goes to waste. It sounds a little bit like a move that doesn't necessarily provide the consumer with anything extra, whilst sounding like it does; all at the same time as increasing the price.

After all, AMD processors with a 400MHz effective transfer rate were keeping up with Intel processors with an 800MHz effective transfer rate. Does the move to 1066MHz effective transfer rate really mean anything?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 04:41 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Given that Intel's chips have always had so much more frontside bus than AMD's chips, one has to wonder how much of that FSB goes to waste. It sounds a little bit like a move that doesn't necessarily provide the consumer with anything extra, whilst sounding like it does; all at the same time as increasing the price.

After all, AMD processors with a 400MHz effective transfer rate were keeping up with Intel processors with an 800MHz effective transfer rate. Does the move to 1066MHz effective transfer rate really mean anything?
ahh but amd was first to introduce a ddr fsb back when the pIII rambled along at 133mhz so they haven't always had that advantage
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 06:03 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Given that Intel's chips have always had so much more frontside bus than AMD's chips, one has to wonder how much of that FSB goes to waste. It sounds a little bit like a move that doesn't necessarily provide the consumer with anything extra, whilst sounding like it does; all at the same time as increasing the price.

After all, AMD processors with a 400MHz effective transfer rate were keeping up with Intel processors with an 800MHz effective transfer rate. Does the move to 1066MHz effective transfer rate really mean anything?

amd=2x200
P4 =4x200

almost the same die size. All i read is that it takes the p4 twice as much work...to do the same as an amd. Intel had tries larger caches, extra FPU's, and now, finally, a higher fsb...but like you say Aedan...more bandwidth...can they use it? I'd like to get a chip and see.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 06:05 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

the intels have an incredibally long pipeline so when they make a mistake they need that cache and bandwidth to start again
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 06:26 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

I'd like to get one as well...but I'd also like to make my car and mortgage payment. LOL
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 06:34 PM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

I read two reviews of the chip (will edit if I find it again), although one was an unlock Intel Reference chip that bumped up the FSB to emulate the 1066MHz chip. Both said it hardly made a difference to most benchmarks, but did help in gaming. It still came in slightly ahead of the A64 FX-55 in Productivity and slightly less in gaming, same as previous chips, but a smaller gap in the gaming than the older chips. Again, better money spent on AMD for a gaming rig.

[EDIT]
Here's the review at TBreak that emulates the 1066 FSB.
[/EDIT]
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah

Last edited by DiabloAbogado; 3rd November, 2004 at 06:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 07:08 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

the cpu isn't that relevent to gamin now any way, there isn't a game out that won't be playable on 2ghz chips and a 3000+ rated cpu will last well into the next 18 months
even the things the cpu does excel in it does so by a small amount an athlon mp system would probabally be better
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 07:40 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
the cpu isn't that relevent to gamin now any way, there isn't a game out that won't be playable on 2ghz chips and a 3000+ rated cpu will last well into the next 18 months
even the things the cpu does excel in it does so by a small amount an athlon mp system would probabally be better

there will be games...they are in development...but it's just like HL2...they have not enabled all features of the Soiurce engine in every level...purely based on cpu's and gpu's not able to keep up. Major physics requires major horsepower....i can't wait....Mods are shping up quite well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest pics harrybard Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 33 6th November, 2006 04:47 PM
The Latest Kittens.... Betty Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 2 1st June, 2004 10:53 PM
What's the latest Rev of 8RGA+? JEB EPoX MotherBoards 8 25th April, 2003 08:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0