AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 12:56 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

Best tualatin mobo

I'm still stumped on what mobo to get. So far it's the asus tuv4x with via pro 133t. I have 2x ecc 512m sticks of ram, so I would perfer to go via. Well, I saw a few epox boards with the 815ep chipset and 1MHz fsb stepping, and they are less money than the tuv4x. So should I forget about going past 512 megs of ram, and go for the 815, or go for the via and have 1 gig of ram? Well, I'm going to put a tualatin cored celeron in there and I want the best overall chipset to get a good OC, as well as mem speeds. IDK, a gig of ram seems overkill, and If only use 512 I can sell/trade my other stick and maybe put that towards vid card.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 04:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 10

I say forget the memory, and get a board with te 815 chipset. Sell the memory, get something different. Get an epox board with none of those voltage restrictions.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 05:40 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

If you prefer VIA, the Abit VH6T I'm using is sufficient for most tualatin cores (in the overclocking sense). Their ST6 is an IBM chipset.... limited memory capabilities (max is 512MB).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 05:49 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

i thought the vh6t didnt support ecc? Pinky, can you please take a quick peek at your manual or bios?
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th February, 2002, 06:29 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by satan
i thought the vh6t didnt support ecc? Pinky, can you please take a quick peek at your manual or bios?
You're right, no ecc support
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th February, 2002, 09:08 PM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


You're right, no ecc support
curse this 72 bit ecc! Maybe I can find someone to trade.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2002, 11:25 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome aboard, satan!
512 Mb PC-133 ECC CAS3(CAS2 ECC and or Registered PC-133 doesn't exist, AFAIK) sticks are $154 at Crucial, atm. Surely, someone needs to populate an STL2 or other Server board.

Somebody wants your DIMMS! Amazingly, this kind of DIMM was $850 ~eighteen months ago. They probably still are, at Mushkin. JK.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2002, 05:06 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

update, i have 2 dimms both cas2 pc100, one 512meg 72bit ecc, and the other 256meg 72bit ecc. I found the gigabyte GA-6VTx for $49.99 shipped(via 694T), so I'll get that. I'll try to trade or sell my dimms and get some good cas2 pc133 ram. I'll feel bad though, these were a present from my brother, and he got my them because he thought they would be the best ram out there for my computer. Hope he doesn't ask how my rams holding up.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tualatin Celeron on a BX and Radeon 8500 Bender Benchmarking 1 24th June, 2002 07:09 AM
Tualatin Celery 1ghz Random Nonsense Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 7th March, 2002 04:17 PM
Tualatin Mobo? cessna Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 8th December, 2001 10:29 PM
Tualatin on my VH6T Pinky Intel Motherboards & CPUs 11 26th October, 2001 01:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0