AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 03:53 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
good look, intel users have been dreaming about this since the days of the PII
oh, imagine the overclocking potential of a multiplier unlocked p4....wooooot!
that would be insane
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 05:21 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I've read some really good things about celeron-d's, some getting them over 3.8ghz but 3.6ghz seems to be the average so fingers crossed for my 2.4 thats due, it would be sweet if it just runs on an 800mhz fsb and for £40 theres not another chip than can touch it bang for buck
and i don't think muliplyers are an issue anymore with intels as the motherboard makers have just concentrated on getting their boards right for bumping the fsb up
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 11:09 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
oh, imagine the overclocking potential of a multiplier unlocked p4....wooooot!
that would be insane
Don't you know??? Some boards based on the new 915 and 925 chipsets can unlock the multiplier. I'm not joking.

Here's Abit's version.

http://www.abit-usa.com/news/2004/20041112.php

http://www.abit-usa.com/news/2004/20041109.php

And Asus' version.

http://www.asus.com/news/2004/20040921.htm
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 29th November, 2004 at 11:19 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 04:42 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Obviously, your mileage may vary. Since I have no personal experience with Prescotts, all I have to go on is what I have seen from the posting of others on the web. However, I'm glad that you've had good experiences with it.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 06:01 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I think the unlock is similar to AMD's... You can lower the multiplier, but not increase it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 06:29 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
I think the unlock is similar to AMD's... You can lower the multiplier, but not increase it.
Yup. You can only lower it to 14...
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2004, 11:57 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by mookydooky
Don't you know??? Some boards based on the new 915 and 925 chipsets can unlock the multiplier. I'm not joking.

Here's Abit's version.

http://www.abit-usa.com/news/2004/20041112.php

http://www.abit-usa.com/news/2004/20041109.php

And Asus' version.

http://www.asus.com/news/2004/20040921.htm
wow, that was the mobo i was getting for my socket T system..awesome.
http://www.abit-usa.com/news/2004/20041109.php
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2004, 05:18 PM
Sublimize's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 25

So with that you can only lower your multiplier to 14? hmmm... would that help me?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2004, 06:29 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

It wouldn't help you. Your processor's multiplier is...already 14.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P4 Northwood 1.8A Overclocking. mcg Hardware Hacking 6 16th August, 2004 12:49 PM
P4 2.4B Northwood cadaveca Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 27th May, 2004 02:46 AM
Worth overclocking? Chilliwilli ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 16 16th April, 2004 03:59 AM
P4 2.4 Northwood and Mobo Quint Intel Motherboards & CPUs 9 11th November, 2002 04:45 PM
Motherboard for a Northwood and pc 133 Kaiser_Sose Intel Motherboards & CPUs 11 13th March, 2002 06:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0