AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 10:12 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

New Prescott

I just popped in a brand new 3.0 into my system... Mooky's been building my expectations, so I'm pumped, trying to oc this puppy.

Running asynch 5:4 to test, so far
3400 stable at stock
3750 unstable @ 1.4375v

I'm trying 3600 now @ 1.3875v.

If you are curious, this is my main rig in my sig. If anyone has any advice, I'm all ears.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 10:17 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
I just popped in a brand new 3.0 into my system... Mooky's been building my expectations, so I'm pumped, trying to oc this puppy.

Running asynch 5:4 to test, so far
3400 stable at stock
3750 unstable @ 1.4375v

I'm trying 3600 now @ 1.3875v.

If you are curious, this is my main rig in my sig. If anyone has any advice, I'm all ears.
Stock cooling aint gonna cut it
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...108-021&depa=0
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 10:27 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Not a problem... see sig, using an SLK 948u with 9cm Smart Fan @ 3200rpm... nice and quiet.

Temps are holding at 59c CPU and 81c PWM. (3600ghz still testing)

I think it may have failed at 3750, 250fsb because of the northbridge... I haven't changed the NB voltage at all. How much voltage does the i865 need to run 250+ mhz?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 11:02 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I think I am topping out at 3.66 ghz @ 1.4375v... temp holding @ 58c CPU.

It just doesn't want to hold at 3.7ghz. I don't want to try higher voltage than where it is.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 11:13 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Temps seem fine(stays under 60c), but I'm worried about voltage.

For long term usage, is +0.1v (1.4625v) safe for a prescott??

I think it might need at least that to hit 3.7ghz.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 11:27 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

That's not even a 10% bump. I see guys running 1.7V and higher with high end cooling. The thing has a 3 year warranty anyway.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2004, 11:40 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by mookydooky
That's not even a 10% bump. I see guys running 1.7V and higher with high end cooling. The thing has a 3 year warranty anyway.
ARGH!!!
OK, I'll push a bit more... How high did you end up with the voltage on the toaster? Do you really think 1.7v is safe? Even with the warrantee, I've seen CPUs loose their overclockability.

I know 3.66 is stable, so I think I will shift gears and test out the memory a bit.

EDIT: looks like 3715 may hold with 1.4625v.... Already failed at 3740. (NEVER MIND)
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 18th December, 2004 at 12:07 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 12:52 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hey SteveI, how does this pc compare to your AMD rig?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 01:04 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I think I'm done... I've maxed out the HyperX at 240fsb, cas 3.0-3-3-8 @ 2.8v, seems like it will hold.

Rig is now running synchronous... 240.5 x 15 = 3607.

Funny thing, I tried my old buffalo PC3700, and got identical results. So I stuck with the HyperX. The sinks make me feel better @ 2.8v.

Throwing another 0.05v at the CPU didn't get me even 100mhz, so I think I will stop here, and start stressing the system more.

The sun went down since I started, and the temps have dropped accordingly.

Prime, FAH, Sandra, 3dmark...
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 18th December, 2004 at 01:10 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 01:08 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Hey SteveI, how does this pc compare to your AMD rig?
They really don't compare well. Aside from folding, the rigs do different things. I like HT... gives better response in general. However, the NW was disappointing for real hard core crunching like video encoding. I found that the NW@3.2 HT and dual channel, would actually take longer than my Barton@2.2ghz. Odd.

Can't say much about the Prescott yet. Maybe it's all in my mind, but the feel does seem quicker jumping through windows. Just got the CPU this afternoon so I haven't had a chance to really take it for a spin.

3.6ghz is a bit disappointing... After the holidays, I'll take a closer look, see if I can find a memory combination that will go better than 240, and push a bit more. For the next few weekends, I'll be upgrading a few rigs for family and friends.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 05:10 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

wow, cool..... I see more and more of us folks are jumping over to Intel. I'm happy to see it. I'm still having no bugs. I love it.. I've been playing games all night since i got home from work. Been playing games every day. 2000 points jump in 3dmark is nothing to be laughed at he.. he...


SteveI, welcome aboard. The only way to get higher clocks is to increase the cooling for your CPU. Knock down 20C and see that clock jump..... BAMMMMMM.
Mine's at around 3C and my CPU doesn't seem to complain.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 02:18 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever
wow, cool..... I see more and more of us folks are jumping over to Intel. I'm happy to see it. I'm still having no bugs. I love it.. I've been playing games all night since i got home from work. Been playing games every day. 2000 points jump in 3dmark is nothing to be laughed at he.. he...


SteveI, welcome aboard. The only way to get higher clocks is to increase the cooling for your CPU. Knock down 20C and see that clock jump..... BAMMMMMM.
Mine's at around 3C and my CPU doesn't seem to complain.
It's funny you say that... My main rig has been a northwood for the last six months. Sorry, I'm not in your league with cooling... I'm happy with a big hunk of copper, and a big fan, lol. Temps are staying in the mid 50's which is quite cool for a pressie. My memory is max'ed out at 240mhz, and I like running in synch. I'm getting pretty good performance. And windows just seems more responsive, even compared to my P4 2.8C
Attached Thumbnails
New Prescott-prescott-memory.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 03:06 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

1.7V through a prescott??? 1.55 is the highest I've been told to go. Intel's spec sheets say the one below 1.55 is under warentee. I'm not sure but I've heard rumors that intel an tell when you've put too much through the chip, not sure how, but a 3 year warentee isn't something I'd like to say bye to on a $200 chip(and I ruined my 6800GT warentee lol). Does anyone know where a good place to draw the line of too many volts to run daily is with a prescott? Assuming you can keep it cool that is...
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 03:53 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by XeroHouR
... Intel's spec sheets say the one below 1.55 is under warentee...
That's good to know. The highest I've tried is 1.4875, and I'm 100% stable 3.6ghz w/ 1.4375. If it is still under warrantee, I'd feel comfortable trying 1.5375v to go for 3.75ghz or more. Mine seems to hit a wall around 3.65ghz tho, and doesn't respond well to extra volts.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 05:31 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

My 3Dmark scores have gone up considerably, relative to the Northwood, in the order to 10 to 30% in score. These were are run with my 9600NP.
Attached Thumbnails
New Prescott-prescott-3dm01.jpg   New Prescott-prescott-3dm03.jpg  
Attached Images
 
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 06:56 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

lets see some aquamarks steve ^.^
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 07:05 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
lets see some aquamarks steve ^.^
I've never run it before... I'll install it and give it a shot. I have no idea what to expect.

EDIT: first time... no idea if this is good....
GFX 2808
CPU? 11120

Total Score 24943
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 18th December, 2004 at 07:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 09:33 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
I've never run it before... I'll install it and give it a shot. I have no idea what to expect.

EDIT: first time... no idea if this is good....
GFX 2808
CPU? 11120

Total Score 24943
that CPU scores is great.
goto the aw3 benchmark section and check out some of their scores for comparison.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 09:45 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Strangely, my system is 100% stable, but while testing video, I noticed a great deal of tearing in spots... about 1 in 10 tests.

I've isolated the cause down to memory.... The tearing stops if I run asynch, with CPU at same speed and memory slower. Oddly, the memory has been 100% stable at 240mhz, using memtest and prime. Only in video benches, this pops up. Could it be the northbridge giving out just on video tests? System is otherwise 100% stable.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2004, 09:56 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI
Strangely, my system is 100% stable, but while testing video, I noticed a great deal of tearing in spots... about 1 in 10 tests.

I've isolated the cause down to memory.... The tearing stops if I run asynch, with CPU at same speed and memory slower. Oddly, the memory has been 100% stable at 240mhz, using memtest and prime. Only in video benches, this pops up. Could it be the northbridge giving out just on video tests? System is otherwise 100% stable.
is your video card overclocked?
that is a common cause
and if your agp post/pci ports are not locked, you could also get problems with rips/or artifacts.
make sure agp/pci is locked, and that your video card is not overclocked.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prescott - 7.22GHZ cadaveca Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 14th February, 2005 02:56 PM
478 prescott with E0 revision? kdrp Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 30th January, 2005 01:46 AM
Voltage on Prescott mookydooky Intel Motherboards & CPUs 11 4th December, 2004 10:19 PM
Prescott Rickyred General Hardware Discussion 5 21st October, 2004 04:29 AM
Prescott VS. Barton. mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 21st September, 2002 09:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0