AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2005, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 2

Overclocking Intel Boards (Socket 775 Prescott)

Has anyone had any experience with overclocking Intel Boards? Specifically the D915GAG.
I have a Prescott 3.2 Ghz, but all FSB seems to be inacessable and stick at 200 in the BIOS. It is my understanding that Intel doesn't like us to overclock and would much rather us spend more money on faster processors. Any advice would be appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 12:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 11

Many of the Intel BIOSs are locked in most places dealing with the RAM and CPU.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2005, 07:50 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Big Business understands only one method of improving performance. Throw away that whole box, buy a brand new one. Makes sense to me. Do I have to add the "not?"

Anyone know of any Intel-made mainboard that's easily overclockable? As in, no freakin' surgery needed?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2005, 07:56 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

there is a utility provided by intel for overclocking..i posted pictures of it here a couple of months back..i'll see if i can dig it up...and yes, you CAN overclock on some intel boards.


EDIT: here you go, but i do not think your board is supported... i think it's another board featureing the 915 chipset.

http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd.../dcc/index.htm
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2005, 08:40 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Cadaveca is the man! Thanks for the reminder, I needed it.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intel Pentium 4 530J Prescott 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor Skiracing108 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 12 9th July, 2005 03:57 PM
Anyone in the UK fancy a cheap Prescott board - Intel chipset ? EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 7 22nd October, 2004 01:43 PM
Which Socket 754 boards have strong VCore and VDimm options? serlv 64 Bit computing 9 22nd September, 2004 05:29 PM
Socket 939 Boards Frank_G EPoX MotherBoards 1 13th June, 2004 06:56 AM
Overclocking Mr. Prescott RocketFodder Intel Motherboards & CPUs 11 5th March, 2004 03:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0