AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 04:24 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Celeron D Underclocking

I'm putting a media pc together based around a Celeron D 320 and the plan is to underclock it on a 100mhz fsb to 1.8ghz to help cool it
I've read the datasheets on it and I know I need to change BSEL0 (pin AD6) from high to low.
Am I right in concluding to do this I need to insulate the pin or do I need to short it to a ground pin?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 05:58 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Connect it to ground, preferably through about a 100 ohm resistor, but probably just taking it straight to ground will work.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 06:45 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

would connecting it to BSEL1 wok as this is already st to LOW or would this short something that I shouldnt?
Thanks for the reply
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 08:15 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Probably, but quite frankly I don't know enough to be certain.

Generally, you don't tie pins to a voltage rail directly because you have the potential for biasing the chip substrate into a state that you don't want. Adding a resistor provides a safety margin. That being said, it generally doesn't cause a problem to tie a pin directly to ground, or to tied three or four pins together at the same point.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 08:46 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

From what I can gather BSEL0 on the chip connects to nothing where as BSEL1 is Low which I think means it's gruonded. So my thinking is that to trick the board into believing both BSEL pins are low a small piece of wire between the two BSEL pins would giver the Low signal to the board and run at the fsb that this configuration is for.
I'm gonna try it tonight, if it isn't successful is there much of a chance of damage or would reversing the wiring put things back to normal?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 10:57 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

Just a thought, instead of trying to underclock the processor to 1.8Ghz, why dont you just buy a second hand processor off Ebay, or do i not get the plot here?

It sounds alot easier
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 11:16 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

they don't do deleron d's down to those speeds and the celeron d is a much better chip than the northwood based one, plus I think if I make this system work a few friends want them and I can't be doing with going on ebay for several chips
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2005, 11:28 PM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

kool
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2005, 03:27 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
kool
thats the plan
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2005, 03:39 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Well it worked, once I get some ceramanique I'm gonna see how low I can get the voltage on it, it already idles at room temp (25C) though and at full load it's now 35C compared with 37C
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2005, 04:33 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

whoops forgot my attachement
Attached Thumbnails
Celeron D Underclocking-celerond.jpg  
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2005, 08:33 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

0.975V and cool as a cucumber. It actually gives it's self more volts under load, goes up to 0.99V
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2005, 12:06 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

If the load temperature difference is only 2C is it really worth the effort and 600Mhz sacrifice??
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2005, 12:16 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

ahh that was only with the underclock. with the undervolt as well it's down much more, room temp at idle and 30C at load, with a quiet 70mm fan at about 900rpm
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2005, 04:35 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
I'm putting a media pc together based around a Celeron D 320 and the plan is to underclock it on a 100mhz fsb to 1.8ghz to help cool it
I've read the datasheets on it and I know I need to change BSEL0 (pin AD6) from high to low.
Am I right in concluding to do this I need to insulate the pin or do I need to short it to a ground pin?
celly D runs cool anyway, there is no reason to underclock.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2005, 06:27 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

not cool enough
Its for a htpc so needs to be silent. 1.8ghz is more than enough and it allows the fan to run on extremely low rpms
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2005, 03:21 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

why dont you give it a try at stock, and the if it overheats, then spend the time underclocking it?
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2005, 03:28 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I already did, at stock it needs the fan on too loud to keep it at safe temps, underclocked I can have it on silent
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2005, 03:39 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
fan on too loud
EH WHAT?!?! IT "STANDS ON TWO CLOUDS"? THAT DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE! LET ME TURN MY COMPUTER OFF!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2005, 03:58 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

me likes a loud compy....lol
anyway, good luck on the underclock.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underclocking? BobRoss The Quiet PC 9 27th September, 2006 07:47 PM
Celeron D pin mod SmW Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 20th March, 2005 05:10 PM
underclocking pc3200 to pc2700 ram demetriuswoods Hardware Hacking 5 28th August, 2004 08:13 PM
P 4 vs Celeron Dsherm112 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 3rd June, 2004 02:40 PM
celeron Caffinehog Random Nonsense! 7 19th September, 2002 03:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0