AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 03:43 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

Hrm got my new mobo and stuff...

So I got my new stuff for my lan box. Scored an ABIT AI7 micro guru, but I have a question, most pictures I've seen have a chip below the southbridge. Here in this picture shows what I've got

http://images.tigerdirect.com/skuima...58-1010-ir.jpg
there is a white spot, and no chip. What does this mean? What did that chip do, was it a raid chip that I wont need anyways? This isn't bad is it? I can't try it out yet since All the parts aren't/won't be in.
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 08:49 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

looks like that chip was meant two support the two empty sata connectors near the bottom of the board
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 12:19 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

yeah it's probabally from an extra raid controller, so you will only have the ide and sata channels provided by the southbridge
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 02:36 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

good thing, i use 1 IDE drive fer a lanbox
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 04:57 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Hmm...
I honestly can't recall. If the question is still open this evening, I'll check when I get home. My main rig has the side panel off, so I can just stick my head in and see what it looks like. AFAIK, there is only one model AI7, sold with and without the extra do-dads (micro guru eye whatchamacallit). The physical board should be identical to mine. It has on board sata (2), but I never heard of an option for 4 or more... Anyway, I'll see tonight and let you know what I find.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 05:22 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

Its a good board, right? I made a good purchase(this is me askin for a personal review :P)
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 07:09 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by XeroHouR
Its a good board, right? I made a good purchase(this is me askin for a personal review :P)
Excellent board. Very stable, good performance, and flexible. In my case, I have the system running stably at 240fsb. Think the board can go higher, but I prefer keeping things comfortable and not pushing too hard.

I'm not sure if it is the board or the chipset, but I get no performance boost going from cas 3.0 to 2.5 in dual channel mode. You can force PAT, but I found it is not worth the trouble. My memory can't handle the pat features at high fsb... only at stock 200. It is the equivalent of tighting timings.

I don't use the sata, but the sound is good (for onboard), and from what I understand, this board is optimized for prescotts. In fact, I noticed a decent 'visual' performance boost going from my northwood. Everything felt crisper in windows, even at the same CPU speed. Video encoding times improved more than I expected from the speed bump. I have to believe part of it was the larger cache of the prescott, and also the board working better with it. The socket placement is awkward, diagonal but it hasn't impeded the HSF at all.

Just keep an eye on the temps for PWM. Tends to run very hot, and may reduce the life of the board if it goes out of control. It is measuring the temp of something just above the socket, so extra cooling there is a good idea.

I'm very happy with mine... For an intel system.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 10:43 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

I just made a 3 40mm fan array for my IC7-MAX3 and it helped..not much though, since I only focused it on the front of the board. I had an NF7-s and I know how hot they can get. I hope to really push the hell out of this FSB on this board. My 2.4 hopefully will open it up on that. I hope one of my two chips ends up being good.


heres a side note, does anyone have or know where to get a maze4 GPU ATi mounting kit? apperently the mounting kit I have is for the Ti/FX cards. I checked at DD and I dont know if the hold-down kit they have is the mounting kit, the proper one, anyone know about that?

Steve, thanks for the review I'll let everyone know in a few weeks when I get this goin
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2005, 01:21 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I never noticed that before... I have a little white square just like in the picture.
Under it, there is space for, and in writing SATA3 & SATA4. Go figure. I guess when they designed the board, they wanted to make this optional, with an additional sata controller. I hate sata, so there's no use for me. I fiddle around too much.... I'd be breaking sata cables and connections left and right. They are WAAYYYY too flimsy for my liking.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2005, 01:36 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

yea, and they are shorter than my attention span
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right stuff - The wrong stuff Southern Man Random Nonsense! 0 23rd October, 2004 02:44 AM
new stuff kat AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 8th January, 2002 06:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0