AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2005, 04:56 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

I finally went dual processing

So, I started this pet project a month ago, managed to get two 800MHz P3s for some stuff. Later traded those and a 1ghz t-bird and 256mb ram for 2 1000MHz P3s.
I then baught a board off ebay, then got some ram out of a trade.
Here is the final product.
2x 1000MHz P3s Coppermine-T, 133MHz fsb each, 256KB cache each.
640MB PC133 SDRAM
Acer M25d mobo out of a Altos 600 server.
ATi 9000pro 64MB overclocked to 300MHz/300MHz
40GB Seagate HDD, and a 80GB Western digital, both 7200RPM and 2MB cache
40x12x40 Polaroid BurnMAX 40
350watt raidmax PSU

pic

So, the question is.
How do the processors work in conjunction with eachother?

I feels really fast.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2005, 04:34 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Basically, Windows load balances across the two CPUs. If one CPU is busy and there is a task that needs to run, Windows will run it on the other CPU. If both CPUs are busy, Windows will try to schedule the task to run on the CPU that task last ran on, in order to take advantage of any caching that the CPU may have done.

It is possible to force a process to run on a particular CPU by setting the process 'affinity'. Normally, this has to be done from within the process, although you can also do it manually from within task manager. This is useful for situations where you are running, say, a database and you want to prevent the database engine from hogging all the CPUs in the system; you set the process affinity for the database engine to a particular processor, and then the database engine will only be able to run on that CPU.

When using dual CPU systems, the general user experience will be much 'smother' than one would expect. However, there will still be times when you will notice the performance slowdown. This will typically come in single-threaded apps. For example, I have a dual PIII-700, and it generally feels pretty snappy, but when I do something like encode a DVD, I can definitely tell that it is running on a PIII-700 because the encoder is single-threaded and so is only able to utilize one CPU. The cool thing is that because I have a dual CPU system, even when I'm encoding a DVD the system doesn't slow down as much as I would expect.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2005, 10:59 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Thanks gizmo.
I am thinking about building a second dual rig with my other set of 800MHz P3s.
is there a mobo you would recommend?
I have an acer m25d now, but the chipset has really low mem bandwidth for sd even/
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2005, 11:14 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Nice work my friend.

Must fold well.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2005, 04:33 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Folds great with two instances..hehe
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2005, 02:59 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Nice looking setup, Alex.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 05:12 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

I am hoping to get another Dual socket 370 board soon for these dual 800MHz s I still have, and it will fold as well.
btw, I added dual 19in monitors to my dual P3 system.
I love ATi 9000Pros, come in handy with dual monitors.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 3800 X2 - Finally gone Dual Core kellamne AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 11th July, 2007 01:47 AM
AI processing unit anyone? Wolf2000me General Hardware Discussion 11 5th September, 2006 11:13 PM
dual processing mobos barneygumble742 General Hardware Discussion 21 17th November, 2005 04:37 AM
64 Bit Processing nki69c 64 Bit computing 16 17th March, 2004 08:29 PM
Triple Duals (Dual CPU, Dual Monitor & Dual Case) IFMU Case Modifications 6 29th October, 2002 06:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0