AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2005, 01:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1

Intel Celeron Overclocking

I have a Gateway with a Intel Celeron 2.4 and wish to overclock it. Any good programs out there that will let me set that up?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2005, 01:26 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

What motherboard is the Gateway running?

If its a proprietary board you might not get much out of the thing, if anything at all, but if its a brand name board, you might see some more performance out of that cele
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2005, 03:07 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Depends, if it's a northwood core (400mhz fsb) then even if the board has no fsb options you can still alter the fsb (board permitting) via the pins of the chip, I think one would need insulating to go from a 400mhz fsb to 533mhz

If it's a Prescott based Celeron D (533mhz fsb) then it's a lot more complicated to increase the fsb, needing one pin insluating whilest being shorted to a pin next to it.

CPUFSB may well work, you need to know your clockchip make and model for this, it's a small ~1cm chip usually to the right of the agp port with another small silver chip next to it.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/C...k/CPUFSB.shtml
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2005, 10:21 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

Celeron Oc'ing

I had a 478 celeron 2.4 GHz 533 fsb 256k L2 cache chip in an Abit VT-7 that I picked up at micro center for $45.00 and oc'd it to 2.566.Your PC3200 ram will drop right in it too! Lavalys.com won't help you set that up but you can download home edition for free and keep tabs on your entire system.Excellent program****
__________________

Last edited by radcon56; 30th May, 2005 at 10:31 AM. Reason: forgot to mention lavalys.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking a Celeron 1ghz captaincurran Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 21st January, 2006 11:48 PM
OVERCLOCK INTEL 2.7 Gig Celeron Phantasum Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 13th December, 2005 01:12 AM
Overclocking Celeron D. Chesso Intel Motherboards & CPUs 7 12th September, 2005 01:50 PM
Problems overclocking my Celeron 2.7 jordanjennings Intel Motherboards & CPUs 17 6th October, 2004 08:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0