AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 11:38 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Gigabyte to support four SLI graphics cards on one motherboard

Quad-GPU graphics on an Intel platform:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/i...d=424&Itemid=2
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 11:47 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

*drool*

Need!
Want!
Deserve!

Possiblity of A64 form?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 12:56 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
ATI's approach appears not to be limited to just two GPU - or four such as in this case. Crossfire may be able to support up to 32 graphic chips, sources said.
When will it stop.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 01:40 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
When will it stop.
When one is dead (ATi or nVidia) and when one owns it all.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 01:58 PM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

Never, hopefully

Although, as there is an increasing amount of power available, will it take longer and longer and be much more difficult to program games that can fully utilise all the power a top end gaming machine has available?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 02:09 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
When will it stop.
When no-one has any money left to spend and we've all declared ourselves bankrupt!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 03:05 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

P4 dualcore w/ hyperthreading + 4 6800U in SLi = Gigabyte??!??

lol. oops.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 03:06 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
You can't beat this man to the draw.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 03:18 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Missed your thread there. Had flu or something for the past few days and not fully with it!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 03:29 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

LoL...no worries!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 05:32 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

It seems bassackwards that we "need" more than one Vidcard for excellent gaming. This crud should have expired after the Voodoo SLI era. And it did, as far as I'm concerned.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 05:35 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

We don't because if we did, then they would just put more pipelines on te GPU it self, Multiple card setups are just a way of milking even more out of the more money than sense pc user

The one potential good use of SLI I can think of is buying one card now, then in 12-18 months picking up a 2nd cheap
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 05:41 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

or if you want 4 (or possible 8 if this is true) monitors
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 05:42 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside

The one potential good use of SLI I can think of is buying one card now, then in 12-18 months picking up a 2nd cheap
Unless the sli card provider is running out of chipsets, and has no plans to fab more....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 05:48 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

"There will be an answer, let it be, let it be, let it be!":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 07:27 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by calgar
or if you want 4 (or possible 8 if this is true) monitors
You wouldn't need 2 high end cards for that though, in fact you can get cards with 4, maybe even 8 low end radeon chips on, the kinds used to do LCD wall displays

The new ATI chipset is also a good option for this, you can use it's IGP display outputs and a radeon card to have 4 outputs using only the one card

As for running out of chipsets, you can always hit ebay or clearance sections of online shops
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte P35C-DS3R Motherboard Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 7th August, 2007 04:46 PM
Is my 8RDA3+ frying my graphics cards? Pob EPoX MotherBoards 11 13th November, 2005 07:28 PM
4 Graphics Cards SLI! saquib Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 22 13th November, 2005 06:04 PM
intel graphics cards pos or not? pcalertmatt Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 12th August, 2005 04:33 AM
GIGABYTE Motherboard bhdeath11 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 13th July, 2005 06:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0