AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 12:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 23

How to find MoBo that fits my Gateway

Hellow all, I'm going to get a new MoBo and processor, I would like it to be a PCIe , I have a Gateway 500se special and don't want to change my case($). How can I find a sure fit? I'm also getting a new graphics card (Apollo 6600PCX Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16/ Core clock: 500MHz /Memory Clock: 1000MHz). I have a 400w power supply and use a Soundblaster Audigyzs soundcard, do you think I need more? Thanks for the help.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 12:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 23

I'm sorry I have a 845grg (Nimitz) MoBo now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 01:03 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA's Forums, 64wad6!

Proprietary cases can make fitting a new standard form factor mainboard into them impossible. If the m'board in the Gateway box is a Micro-ATX form factor(they are square) you're probably in better luck than if it sports a proprietary ATX board to start off with. I suggest going to newegg.com and looking at both ATX and Micro-ATX mainboards. Check out the screw holes in them, then compare them to the present m'board inside the Gateway unit.

Sometimes you can get away without using one or two holes for the mounting screws for the replacement standard mobo, presupposing that the non standard standoffs can be folded or cut or electrically insulated so that they're not in the way.

The catch is that it's better to not have the new m'board flapping underneath the area where RAM modules are installed or replaced---and that a standard mainboard won't collide with hard drives or even the rear panel of the case.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 01:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 23

I'm pretty sure it's a Micro ATX, when I go to NewEgg if I pick out a MATX on the Intel compatible option and if it's about the same diminsions, one of the 845g option boards, I should be ok?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 03:06 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

If keeping the case is real important then if you're sure it's an mATX case you should be fine replacing it, as long as the LED/Switch connectors aren't all a single connector and connect independantly

But a new case needn't cost much

It sounds like you are putting together pretty much the foundations of an entire system, going for a new board, cpu, vid card, why not just plan an entire new system and then have both the gateway and the new one?

If you want pci-e then you're gonna need a new psu unless the current one is ATX V2.
If you go for an intel system and want pci-e then you will also need new memory.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 04:45 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Dell's are the only one I know of that mess with you... Proprietary: PSU connectors & case connecters.

Getting a mATX mobo is a safe way to upgrade your gateway. Given what you have in performance already, you are better off buying a quality ATX mobo, and a new case. It looks like you are trying to put together a decent gaming rig.... There are many choices for mATX mobos, but very few high end performance mobos.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

With regards to PCI-E, you could probably get away with a more recent non2.0 PSU, if you are running a budget card. You can get molex-PCI-e connectors.
But for a 6600GT I'd also get a new PSU. I don't think it's worth keeping the case.
A new case can cost just £35, for instance the Jeantech Phong or Aerocool JetMaster.
Even a Coolermaster Centurion 530 is only £50.
Then you could use KVM to hook both systems up to one set of keyboard, mouse and monitor.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 09:46 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Watch out for the I/O shield portion. If you're not comfortable with a pair of tin snips or a cutting wheel, make sure to pay close attention to the connections on the back of your new mobo, or make sure that your Gateway case has a removable shield. My old one did NOT, and man does that sucker have some sharp edges on it to this day. Lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 23

The problem is I only have 350-400$ to play with at best. I want to cut cost were I can. I'd like to buy a new rig but I can't get the parts I want for the money I have. I'm going to get most of the stuff from NewEgg refurb dept.I found an intel 3.2Ghz processor with fan for 169$,I might have to get new power supply,with vid card and MoBo I'm allmost done $ wise. I might have to just wait, that memory revalation hurts. I'm so so sad.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 09:16 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Most mATX cases use a mini sized PSU that is underpowered, typically 200w.

Make sure yours is a quality PSU, with lots of power at the 12v line, minimum 20A. Your video card choice sucks up the 12v line, and you need to make sure you have enough to spare to power the CPU, and all your drives.

Again, ATX gives you much more flexibility... choice of mobo, PSU, and more air flow for oc.

EDIT: don't get me wrong, I like mATX machines myself. I have an OC'd tbred@ 2.3ghz, and an A64 Venice @ 2.5ghz. However, if you are not careful, you will be disappointed and end up spending even more than you might have otherwize.... Basic rules, mATX PSUs are underpowered, mATX cases are lousy for air flow & overclocks, and mATX mobos have virtually no settings to tweak your system, let alone overclocks.... If you look hard enough and do your research, you can find good system components. Good luck with whatever you choose.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:23 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

First off, the 3.2 P4....you can get a CPU cheaper than that and have a slight overclock. I really dont know your preference to well, but AMD makes good overclocking chips of late, that have better preformance for games and benchmarks at the same, or sometimes cheaper than what Intel costs.

So, if your going to have this money, and you want a new system...my best suggestion is to just wait a little longer, hold out....then get yourself a nice cheap little case, decent PSU and RAM.
__________________

Last edited by tiamat63; 2nd September, 2005 at 02:29 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:32 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Exile69 Send a message via MSN to Exile69

I agree. The AMD Venice 3000+ is a helluvan overclocker. You can also pick it up at Newegg for 150 bucks full retail. So save up and set yourself up for the long run.
__________________
Research Ron Paul

AOA Team fah

Abit NF-M2 | XFX 8600GT | AM2 X2 3800+ | 2Gb G.Skill DDR2 800 | Aspire X-QPack | 250Gb Western Digital | Creative X-Fi + Logitech X530 5.1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2005, 02:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 23

I believe I've got the set up,thanks for all the help, I would have messed this one up but good. Here goes. DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard (OME)/AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model/ Radeon X700PRO (refurbished)/Ultra Mid-T case (500w power supply)/Ballistix 184-pin DIMM DDR PC3200 (512MB). The only thing thats got me down is getting the cables I need for the OEM MoBo.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2005, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 17

That board should come with all the cables you need. Take a look.

http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_pro...YPE=LP&SITE=US
__________________


Machine #1
P4 Prescott 630 3.0GHz@3.51GHz (234X15)
Albatron PX915P PRO
2GB Patriot DDR400
256MB Gigabyte GeForce 6600 PCI Express
Seagate 160GB SATA HD
Zalman CNPS7700-CU CPU Cooler
Logisys 480W Dracula Case
************************************
Machine #2
P4 Prescott 3EGHz@3.51GHz (234X15)
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000-G
2GB Kingston HyperX DDR400
256MB Chaintech SA5700L GeForce FX5700 LE AGP
Maxtor 120GB SATA HD
Thermaltake Sonic Tower CPU Cooler
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2005, 06:25 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

Here's a link to an excellent power supply that can handle any of your current and future needs.
http://www.ocprices.com/index.php?re...ws&cat_id=1040
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I dont know if this fits in..... The Spyder General Hardware Discussion 11 6th September, 2012 11:04 PM
Gateway is a piece of (you know what) WonderBread Betty's Rants and Rages 5 7th February, 2006 07:23 PM
Hope this fits.. cloasters AOA's Community Support 28 1st October, 2005 11:27 PM
Gateway makes a bid for E-Machines! Staz Random Nonsense! 3 3rd February, 2004 12:19 PM
It fits perfectly!! 5150Joker EPoX MotherBoards 19 17th March, 2002 12:58 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0