AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 04:03 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Coppermine in a 440LX motherboard.

Hey guys, I feel like sharing what's been going on in my folding@home covert operations laboratory.

I dug a bunch of crap out of the closet today. I managed to get enough parts together for another folding box, minus the case.

Anyway, I have this old Shuttle 440LX board and a P2-333 combo. But I also have a P3-500E sitting unused. So I think to myself "Hmmm, SSE and full speed cache are probably better for folding" so I throw the 500E in an old Iwill Slocket II with the voltage on auto, and nope it wouldn't boot.

Then I think to myself "wait a second you nimrod, the voltage regulator probably doesn't do 1.6V". So I locate the voltage regulator and sure enough, it doesn't support 1.6V or any .05V increments. The good news is that it does support 1.8V as it's lowest setting, which is easily tolerated by the CPU in question.

So I set the slocket voltage to 1.8V and she posts! But it freezes at the attatched screen So I'm lookin' and I think to myself "duh!!! the BIOS hasn't been upgraded since 1997!".

The latest BIOS over at Shuttle's site is dated November of 2000 so I'm hoping it enables coppermine support. But I'm not sure which revision of the board I have. I'm waiting on Shuttle tech support, who I emailed the serial number to, to get back with me on what BIOS to use.

With any luck I will get this up and running, and at an amazing 75MHz FSB too! Maybe even 83MHz if I hack the linear VIO regulator! I'll probably hack the Vcore regulator for less voltage, so I can passively cool the CPU with a Glaciator heatsink. Might even spend $50 on a Celly 766 if I get this going . . .

Just waiting on Shuttle to get back with me . . .
Attached Thumbnails
Coppermine in a 440LX motherboard.-mvc-002s.jpg  
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 04:58 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

ooooo, I hate 'dem LX boards. No 1/3 divider. I could only overclock mine to 73 FSB. I don't think mobo makers would bother with a bios update for coppermines on an LX board, but I'll keep my fingers crossed.

A friend had a old BX Shuttle board, and THAT did NOT have CUmine support (I tried flashing). Really pissed me off too. I was all set to give hime a 566celery (oc'd to 850) and a slotket. I hope you have better luck.

If it doesn't work, that P2-333 should probably handle 375 easy. Also, for folding purposes, the full speed cache doesn't seem to help. Assuming MHz neutral, P2 = P3 = All Celerons.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 05:12 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
A friend had a old BX Shuttle board, and THAT did NOT have CUmine support (I tried flashing).
Technically the HIP6004A voltage regulator doesn't support coppermine CPUs, but having the ability to post seems to indicate otherwise. I could always swap the HIP6004A for a pin compatible HIP6004B which does fully support coppermines.

The big concern in my case is things on the BIOS front, as I don't have the time to teach myself how to rewrite the BIOS for coppermine support.

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
If it doesn't work, that P2-333 should probably handle 375 easy.
Actually the P2-333 is strangely not multiplier locked.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 05:24 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Looking at your picture just made me remember. When I installed the 566 + slotket, it wouldn't boot. So I changed the pins on the slotket to FSB = 100, voltage =1.9 (I think). I managed to get it to boot, but the screen said the CPU was running at like 95 mhz. I had already updated to the latest bios, so I was out of options.

I hope you succeed where I failed.

Regarding multipliers, both my LX and my friend's BX did not have multiplier control.. I wish I could have checked for a multiplier lock.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 05:39 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Don't you just love the sweet smell of success!
Attached Thumbnails
Coppermine in a 440LX motherboard.-mvc-001s.jpg  
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 05:42 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

You're killing me!!!
What was it, a bios update?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 05:51 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Yup a BIOS flash did it.

Shuttle never got back with me.

What happened was I got the idea to look through the two possible BIOS's revision histories for my old BIOS. This is the new BIOS's revision history:

Quote:
637AWIQ3 :
1. fix LS120 can't format and detect in WIN95
2. fix no keylock

637AWIQ5 :
1. fix can't show message and hold in keylock state
2. it will be hold in "stand by" & "DOZE" if use "PIIX4E" chipset

637AWIQ7 :
This was the old BIOS
1. fix if use manual setup will show error message
2. change new error message
3. fix if set "USER PASSWORD" will cause "KEYBOARD POWER ON" function
setup error.
4. updata new CPUCODE.

637AWIQ9 :
1. support new CPU Mendocino (Celeron 128Kb cach)
2. change setup item "Numlock status" setup default to "On"
3. change setup item "Resume by Ring" default to "Enabled"
4. update CPUCODE
5. add item "Report NO FDD for Win95"

637AWIQA :
1. 300A MHz CPU show 300 MHz
2. add item "Init Display First"
3. some Y2K RTC test fail
4. support socket 370 CPU, Pentium III CPU ,no support Pentium Pro CPU
5. update CPUCODE
6. POST message "copyright(c) 1984-98" change to "copyright(c) 1984-99"
7. CMOS default year change to 1999

637AWIQB :
1.fix WD HD can't be detected after reset
2. fix ATA 66 HD can't enable DMA mode in WIN95/98
3. add item "Processor Serial Number" only for PIII CPU
4. item "CPU Speed (W/HClk= 66Mhz) add select "Lock"
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 05:57 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Thanks Jeff.
I'm starting to think... maybe I should give that old board another look see. It's sitting under his bed. I upgraded him to a duron a while back. It stil has his old P2-333 cpu.

I think I smell another folding box, or at least another project.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 06:05 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Well now I'm seriously considering that celly 766

But first I want to see if I can get the voltage down a bit. I think pushing some voltage from the 5V PSU rail through a resistor and to the regulators voltage feed back pin will do the trick, but I'm gonna E-mail a friend first and see what he thinks. I'm thinking an inductor and possibly a ceramic capacitor might be needed to get the 5V rail nice and stable before I can use it.

I'm also gonna check around for the VIO regulator's spec sheet, I think the LX is gonna want a bit extra voltage even at 75MHz.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 06:50 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Some dude from Shuttle finally got back with me. He sent me a link to the BIOS I have already flashed

Also he sent me a link to here:
http://www.spacewalker.com/english/s...637A%20V2x.htm

Which shows me the jumper setting for up to 7.5X! But more interestingly, it states that the board supports PPGA Celeron 533s which use an 8X multiplier, so I'm thinking the 11.5X multiplier of the Celly 766 will work.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 08:53 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

That's sweet. I would think that since my b-in-laws mobo is Shuttle BX, it should have similiar upgradability. Sounds like it's worth a shot.

Seems that the PPGA is the upper limit for the board tho. There's no mention anywhere of FCPGA. Still that's pretty good upgradibility for an old LX board. Let me know how it goes.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 09:57 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

FYI:

My friend got back with me on hacking the for less Vcc. Apparently I can put some more juice the the regulators Vfb pin "but [it] tends to place a large load on it." So I think I will just have to live with 1.8V, a Celly 766 will probably need that to run at 955MHz anyway. The MOSFETs will probably be loaded well beyond there designed tolerances with a CPU at that speed. So it may be neccessary to put a heatsink on them, and maybe even replace them.

I found the spec sheet for the linear voltage regulator I thought was for VIO or memory power or chipset power. I hooked my multimeter up and it seems to only be putting out 1.5V I'm not sure what that little bugger is for now, but as it is a 5A part it must be something fairly power consumptive(that's a word right?). Again, I'm waiting for a friend to get back with me on his thoughts.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 26th February, 2002 at 10:03 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 10:24 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm pulling for you on this one Jeff! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2002, 10:49 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I just tried the board at 83MHz FSB and it was a no go. Hope I can manage to get some more juice to the chipset and getting it cranking.

Legacy overclocking is turning out to be as fun as overclocking with the cutting edge stuff, who'd've thunk it . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2002, 12:25 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Legacy overclocking is turning out to be as fun as overclocking with the cutting edge stuff, who'd've thunk it . . . .
...and a lot less painful if you pull an "oops"
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2002, 02:41 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I'm still not sure what the linear regulator the puts out 1.5V is for, but I just hacked it for 10% more voltage anyway. :-D
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2002, 02:40 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

I'm still not sure what the linear regulator the puts out 1.5V is for, but I just hacked it for 10% more voltage anyway.


*L*
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which motherboard? Exile69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 3rd January, 2007 08:57 PM
Motherboard for $10 (TEN!!) Allan Online Deals, and Steals 0 25th February, 2004 06:22 PM
Best motherboard out there The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 13th January, 2004 05:34 PM
Coppermine? Katami? eobard Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 21st July, 2002 03:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0