AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2005, 05:17 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

mobo?...Mobo!...MOOOBOOOO!?

I've been running my 2600 mobile in my workstation for about a year now, and I have to say that I'm just not happy with it any longer. For media (i.e. music, movies, applications) the mobile just no likey. For gaming, in its time it was the shiznit, but I'm going back to a P4 2.8 and a fresh install of XP. I can't afford one of the nifty LGA775 chips at this time, but have a 2.8 nw laying around, so to put it to good use with my 1gb of RAM and 2 80gb Seagates (until I get another 939 system built and then run my other rig for a workstation) I'm going with a 478, I865PE chipset. I've narrowed it to two boards.

EPoX EP-4PDA5+ and the ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe. I'm a big epox fan, but Asus has done me right before on my last P4 rig. There's a significant savings with the EPoX and the only difference between the two (that I can see) is the WiFi slot on the Asus board.

Anyone have any opinions?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2005, 05:48 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Dont get me wrong, as much as I love my Epox board, this is the 478 board of choice for me...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127174

I have a northy 2.6 sitting in this. About a month ago I took out the shotty Kingston Value and put in a Gig of Mushkin blue line (tad bit better for an overclock) stock my CPU is @ 200x13=2600mhz. I cleaned off the core and applied some AS5, downloaded prime 95. About 8hours later, I was stable @
3360mhz (240x14) with my temps around 34C Idle and 46load, and I know there's still some room to push

Its a great board, although not a huge amount of features, I know you mentioned integrated Wifi. Pick up a PCI Wifi card, and this board...nothing but stable and high preformance for the money.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2005, 06:42 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Looks like a good board, but there appears to be no onboard RAID. Don't want to mess with a seperate PCI controller.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 02:10 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

They're there. Look right next to the battery and you can see two connectors for RAID.
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 02:55 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Hey, after looking at my board and BIOS settings, it has onboard RAID...
Raid 0 and Raid 0+1 I think??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2005, 06:10 AM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Hrmm...I may have to look into this one then. Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 05:41 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Well if you are going to set up a northwood I would get the 4PDA2+ mobo it is now $99.95 from Epox
http://www.epox.com/USA/product.asp?ID=EP-4PDA2plus

That is the Best Northwood board made! with the 3-24-04 bios it has PAT enabled on the 1:1 at any speed!! But it only likes mem that will run at a cas of 2 or 2.5. It will ram 3.3 volts up your ram's A** so it can be very persuasive on the memory. This board has virtually every feature you can think of. Check it out.

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2005, 05:00 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Thats the thing, I'm not sure if he wants to buy RAM (unless he has some) for CAS 2 or 2.5...although 2.5 seems to be most popular latency on memory sticks.
And 3.3v??? Wow, I'm @ 2.6 for my RAM...is it safe with that much juice?!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2005, 01:37 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

some companies still offer lifetime warranty at 3.3 volts for their mem sticks can be usefull
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad mobo? djXternal CRASHED! 4 30th January, 2006 09:07 PM
Is it the mobo thewomble CRASHED! 1 3rd July, 2005 01:26 AM
New mobo, which CPU to use? thehandler AMD Motherboards & CPUs 21 22nd August, 2003 11:39 PM
I need a new mobo Howard Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 26th February, 2003 01:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0