AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2006, 05:26 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

yea since my board is already 775...think ima pick one of these puppies up...at least before i buy a pci-e board.....which bc of this, will be intel now
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2006, 05:33 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

I have no idea what chipset is required to run Conroe.

Although the CPU may fit in your Board, the chipset may or may no support it.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2006, 05:48 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

well then...just an excuse to build new!!
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2006, 11:52 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

I'd like to see a chipset from Intel that supports the Conroe with the possibility for SLI and Crossfire, officially supported with frequency locking too. If they can do that they're back to okay status for me
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 12:21 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

The second Intel is able to put out a CPU that I can no longer
use as a hand warmer after I come in from snowboarding makes
them ok by my standards.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 12:58 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seperah
The second Intel is able to put out a CPU that I can no longer
use as a hand warmer after I come in from snowboarding makes
them ok by my standards.
Dothan
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 01:22 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
I'd like to see a chipset from Intel that supports the Conroe with the possibility for SLI and Crossfire,
You'll get crossfire and Conroe, but no SLi.... nVidia won't license intel's chipset.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 01:24 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
You'll get crossfire and Conroe, but no SLi.... nVidia won't license intel's chipset.
What a shame
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 01:27 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Yeah, because guess who won't get a license for conroe?

Nividia is about to disappear from the top 3dmark scores....completely.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 01:36 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
You'll get crossfire and Conroe, but no SLi.... nVidia won't license intel's chipset.
If only intel had a chipset...

As it happens, there are usually 10 for each CPU...

So, you could be an early adopter, and get the initial intel chipset. Or you could wait a week and get the intel chipset with DDR2-800, or you could get the 1066FSB chipset with DDR2-667, or you can get the chipset with DDR2-800 and 1066FSB, but something else missing...

Want an LGA775 Intel motherboard?

Do you want....

Intel 975X
Intel 955X
Intel 925XE
Intel 925X
Intel 945G
Intel 945P
Intel 945PL
Intel 945GT
Intel 945GZ
Intel 945PM
Intel 915PM
Intel 945GM
Intel 945GMS
Intel 915GM
Intel 915GMS
Intel 940GML
Intel 910GML
Intel 915G
Intel 915GV
Intel 915GL
Intel 915PL
Intel 915P
Intel 910GL

VIA Socket 939:
K8T800 Pro
K8T890 Pro

Thats 2 VIA S939 chipsets, compared to 23 Intel chipsets.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 01:44 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

No comment, other than you re missinga few revisions, and are taking it way too far, as usual.

One thing tho...one single chipset supports conroe right now. that same chipset will not get a SLi-brand liscence, and it does work with Crossfire. Maybe a newer chipset may, but it does not seem likely...or when it does happen, it will be too late for anyone to care.


What I am eagerly awaiting is the cpu power...Crossfire is far more cpu limited than SLi, with the top-end cards. This is why i think nVidia decided to say no to the liscence...it would really show just how bad SLi is really implemented.

And wait until you see my 3dmark scores w/ Crossfire and Conroe...


SLi2, anyone?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 05:37 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

the i975 chipset supports the core architecture that makes up the conroe chip. The test systems they have been showing off run using current i975 mobo's since power requirments have gone down i'd expect older boards to get support as well via a bios update since pinouts are going to be compatible. its the 975 as well that is powering yonah chips on desktop motherboards as well.
oh the 975 also supports crossfire as its has to x16 compatible slots as standard.
its why nvidia are pushing quad gpu, as they know they've lost the dual gpu race in the imediate future
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 12:16 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
Dothan
Yeah, however Intel never really pushed Desktop usage..
Mainly just a mobile CPU. Not to mention they were a wee bit overpriced IMO.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2006, 03:50 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithwalton
the i975 chipset supports the core architecture that makes up the conroe chip. The test systems they have been showing off run using current i975 mobo's since power requirments have gone down i'd expect older boards to get support as well via a bios update since pinouts are going to be compatible. its the 975 as well that is powering yonah chips on desktop motherboards as well.
oh the 975 also supports crossfire as its has to x16 compatible slots as standard.
its why nvidia are pushing quad gpu, as they know they've lost the dual gpu race in the imediate future
It would be nice if that does happen. It'll certainly allow for some more flexible hardware upgrade options.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2006, 05:11 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Just tonight FreeCableGuy over at XtemeSystems took a Conroe on a stock Intel 975x board and using clockgen, he ran his little Conroe to a measly 2.72ghz and running 2 X1900CF cards all on air Surpassed Kingpin for the World record on Aquamark!!! He broke 153,000 !!! Now Kingpin was running a FX60on Phase change at 3687mhz and his 2 7900GTX cards were also on phase change. The cards were clocked at
931/1075!! and the little conroe shot it's ass down.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=97395

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2006, 05:16 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

x1900crossfire pwns 7900GTX...not a fair compare....look at the low card clocks...i can pass that easily. i get 750/907 outta my cards, on water, and 735/802 on air.

take the same cards, the same cpu, same mem, then we are talking. but even the ram is different. But still...too bad BadAxe is the only board right now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2006, 07:00 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Ok, something here bothers me....


here's MY system., cards @ xtx speeds.

http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/attac...1&d=1145944592


here's frecableguy:
http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/attac...1&d=1145944744

and kingpin:
http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/attac...1&d=1145944744

anyone else see something funny?
Attached Thumbnails
Intel Conroe-107kaquamark3.jpg   Intel Conroe-fcg_153219.jpg   Intel Conroe-139362888.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2006, 09:19 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

You mean aside from the fact that your X1900CF setup is 10,000 below theirs?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2006, 03:11 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

look at the cpu scores....me 14k, kingpin 15k, Freecableguy @ 16.7k....dammit all to hell we are all bandwidth limited.


as well...they are using dualcores...but not seeing anything from teh second core, if those cpu scores are accurate

but yeah, me crossfire sys has issues. can't get back over 9k again
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2006, 03:18 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Thats a pretty damn massive gap though. Something really must be up with your cards.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel "Conroe-L" Performance Unveiled Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 15th April, 2007 12:22 PM
Epox and conroe Hozee EPoX MotherBoards 31 27th February, 2007 02:26 AM
Intel to introduce native 2MB L2 Cache Conroe Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 27th October, 2006 10:16 PM
Folding with Conroe keithwalton ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 21 24th August, 2006 02:01 AM
Intel Conroe hands-on danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 18th July, 2006 11:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0