AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #81 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2006, 04:37 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

He has found the light my brothers!! Hallelujah!!! Its miracle, he is blessed!!

Now time for some of that holy
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 05:44 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Come to think of it, more than a few monks in Belgium were and perhaps are brewers of note. Some Belgique beers put you under the table right quick, they do.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 05:48 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Shuh! We were talking about quad cored AMD CPU's. Silly me, why didn't I remember Opterons? If only Servers were useful as gaming boxen, sigh.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 10:14 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Being an athiest doesn't mean I don't believe in god.

Speaking of which, I must remember to re-subscribe to the bible.
Attached Thumbnails
Intel Conroe-0409hef.jpg  
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2006, 11:25 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Being an athiest doesn't mean I don't believe in god.
Eh, come again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dictionary.com
a·the·ist Audio pronunciation of "atheist" ( P ) Pronunciation Key (th-st)
n.

One who disbelieves or denies the existence of God or gods.
If you aren't convinced there is a God, but you aren't convinced there isn't a God (or you just don't care if there is a God), then you are agnostic, not atheist.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2006, 06:34 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Back to the point guys..

Intel conroe is going to be awesome, that is what i've been waiting for, why I haven't upgraded my rig yet.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2006, 06:50 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Eh, come again?



If you aren't convinced there is a God, but you aren't convinced there isn't a God (or you just don't care if there is a God), then you are agnostic, not atheist.
However in Australia things may be different. You see, when some spider comes after your arse and you still think it's just coincidence...
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 06:39 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i cant wait to see some custom rigs with conroe
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2006, 10:07 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Come to think of it, more than a few monks in Belgium were and perhaps are brewers of note. Some Belgique beers put you under the table right quick, they do.
Wow, that's absolutely the truth. You surprise me cloasters

There are 7 official monk brewed beers of which 6 brands are in Belgium. If anyone wants info like how to obtain some maybe we can work something out.
Westvleteren seems to be the most widely known.

I didn't know people across the ocean knew this as most people in the world seem to unknowingly drink crappy beer
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2006, 07:50 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I visited Belgium a few years ago. Are the skies always cloudy over Brussels? If so it's understandable that beer is so popular, but why do they make it so strong? Germany isn't short of beers, but tourists stumble there. You would think that they simply collapse in Belgium.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #91 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 12:56 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=5692

Conroe vs AM2 FX62
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 01:21 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yeah, that wasn't pretty at all.

Basically the only significant advantage the A64 has is in gross memory bandwidth. Other than that, the Conroe enjoyed about a 20% performance boost at a lower core speed.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 01:36 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Indeed. I'm excited to see what sort of overclocking potential Conroe will give.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 02:27 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

It is indeed exciting. A 20% gain over the top Athlon 64 should be the minimum for Intel to get back in the market again though, when you consider that they are competing with a 4 year old CPU. AM2 is little more than a core change for a new memory type that inherrited a new socket by default.

Through all this, Opteron is still top dog, and the lack of competition from intel has allowed AMD to work on its production, and as Dave mentioned earlier, Dresden is now a frightening prospect for Intel.

I can't wait to see the next chip out of Germany.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 02:49 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

So, it would seem Intel's claims for 20-40% preformance gain seem to be holding somewhat true....


Just waiting for the AMD response in Dresden....now I have that X-files music theme in the back of my mind.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 02:52 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Back in the old days, AMD was sitting and reacting every time intel did something. The whole time, intel was building their company and not caring. Now intel is constantly reacting to AMD, while AMD is now in the couldn't care less seat, building their assets while watching the competition.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 03:15 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Hmmm....this sounds familiar with another two companies that come to mind
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 10:51 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

For Setting for Setting, Clock for Clock, and say if the Intel's board and tweaks were fully matured like the AMD FX souped up systems, the Conroe is 2x as fast as AMD.


Here is immatured Intel Conroe setup @ 4.25ghz superPi 1M @ 11.x sec. http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=100628

AMD FX57 "matured" setup @ 3.8ghz superPi 1M @ 21.992 sec.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=100101

Conroe @ 3.9ghz superPi 1M @ 12.x sec.

It takes 29.x sec in 2M calculation.
Even at 32M calculation, it gets even better....



I feel a lot of "torque" on that Conroe chip....
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 10:57 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Definately on my next computer upgrade shopping list
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2006, 11:08 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever
For Setting for Setting, Clock for Clock, and say if the Intel's board and tweaks were fully matured like the AMD FX souped up systems, the Conroe is 2x as fast as AMD.


Here is immatured Intel Conroe setup @ 4.25ghz superPi 1M @ 11.x sec. http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=100628

AMD FX57 "matured" setup @ 3.8ghz superPi 1M @ 21.992 sec.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=100101

Conroe @ 3.9ghz superPi 1M @ 12.x sec.

It takes 29.x sec in 2M calculation.
Even at 32M calculation, it gets even better....



I feel a lot of "torque" on that Conroe chip....
Yes, but how much of that app gets cached INSIDE that 4mb cache, i wonder?


wonder if that's 1 core disabled.... bet you it is. I'm still waiting for the AMD response...and no, AM2 was not that response. Conroe is still a ways off yet.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel "Conroe-L" Performance Unveiled Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 15th April, 2007 12:22 PM
Epox and conroe Hozee EPoX MotherBoards 31 27th February, 2007 02:26 AM
Intel to introduce native 2MB L2 Cache Conroe Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 27th October, 2006 10:16 PM
Folding with Conroe keithwalton ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 21 24th August, 2006 02:01 AM
Intel Conroe hands-on danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 18th July, 2006 11:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0