AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 03:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 21

Motherboard for a Northwood and pc 133

My new Liteon burner does not work at its postential on my BX Board so I though maybe I should get a Northwood 1.6 or 2.0 and OC it to 2.0 or 2.5

I have a good stick of PC 150 and with the prices of DDR now I really dont want to get an Intel 845 board like the Abit BD7 because of the high DDR price

So ....... What are some good Northwood boards that use 'pc 133' and is a good OC as well


Preferably one with no on board anything or one that I can disable all that crap withou reducing the performance of the board
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 04:36 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I cannot recommend you get P4 with SD RAM. It simply doesn't cut it today, DDR is the way to go. But if you instist on getting an SD RAM P4 board, you should take a look at:

Abit BL7 ATX
Asus P4B-E
EPoX EP-4B2A ATX

I would get a 1.6 or 1.8 Northwood if I were you, they should OC quite nicely.

Good luck!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 07:37 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Re: Motherboard for a Northwood and pc 133

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser_Sose
...does not work at its postential...
And you'd soon be saying the same thing about the Northwood running with SDRAM

DDR / rambus are the only avenues that make any sense if you're 'upgrading'. If you insist on stepping sideways by getting a faster processor on a sdram platform, then why not get a Tualatin Celeron on a cheap Abit VH6T??

BTW, I loved "Usual Suspects"
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2002, 12:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 21

Thanks guys for getting back to me

How about this ....... I have another computer with an XP 1700 and an ECS K7S5A with a stck on 512 DDR PC 2100. I could put the 'pc 150' in there and use the DDR with the P 4


If I were to do that ........ then what are some good P 4 boards with DDR. I know the Abit BD 7. What are the other ones

I was hoping by now that DDR would have come down in price and be more reasonable ...... is there anyplace to get some good priced DDR


I want one that has 2 IDE channels like my BxMaster ..... this way I can have 4 devices all as Masters and potentialy hook up to 8 devices

The BxMaster comes with an on board Promise ultra 66 controller. I dont think boards today come with an extra IDE controller but rather an on board RAID controller. I dont want to use raid so if the board allows the Hard Drives on the RAID controller to be regular IDE Hard Drives that would be great
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2002, 02:46 AM
beerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 35

Hi!

The Epox 4SDA+ (+stands for raid) is a Sis 645 chipset based
P4 board with very good oc options. VCore 2.025 V, VDimm 3.2
and VAgp up to 2.2 V. Mainboards with the Sis 645 Chipset
support even PC2700 ram and have a better (faster) memory controller as the Intel 845D.

And they are not so expensive as the Intel ones.

But if you decide a i845D chipset, get the Epox 4BDA2+ (without+ = without raid)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2002, 03:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 21

I have a SiS board which seems OK so It does not have to be an Intel board

Where are the Northwood CPU's being sold
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2002, 04:33 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
How about this ....... I have another computer with an XP 1700 and an ECS K7S5A with a stck on 512 DDR PC 2100. I could put the 'pc 150' in there and use the DDR with the P 4
Id definately give that a try.

You might find that the XP suffers from the drop in memory bandwith...it might be fine.

As you allready have the PC-150 you wont loose anything by giving it a go.

Cant you just buy a PCI udma 100 controller card and shove it in your BX board.

Thats how im running mine now and it works great.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2002, 07:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 21

Quote:
Originally posted by Holst



Cant you just buy a PCI udma 100 controller card and shove it in your BX board.

I could do that ....... decisions decisions

I have the 2 HD on the on board promise 66 contriller and the 2 Cdroms on the IDE channels. If I were to do this ..... I would put the 2 CDroms on the udma 100 controller

Would I leave the 2 IDE channels [where the Cdroms are now] empty. Am I forced to not use the IDE channels then or can they still be used
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 21

Anyone know when the ASUS P4B 266 e is coming out or a way to find out
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 03:31 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Beyond Computers has them for $148 retail. They have poor resellerratings history, however.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 05:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 21

The 'E' model is the one with RAID, correct

That site does not mention the 'E' model
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2002, 06:09 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser_Sose
The 'E' model is the one with RAID, correct

That site does not mention the 'E' model
Whoops, didn't seee that little "e" there
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P4 Northwood 1.8A Overclocking. mcg Hardware Hacking 6 16th August, 2004 12:49 PM
P4 2.4B Northwood cadaveca Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 27th May, 2004 02:46 AM
P4 2.4 Northwood and Mobo Quint Intel Motherboards & CPUs 9 11th November, 2002 04:45 PM
Malaysian P 4 Northwood chips Kaiser_Sose Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 11th March, 2002 02:01 AM
Want some northwood results? NorthwoodGuy General Hardware Discussion 14 5th January, 2002 02:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0