AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 05:14 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

Question Celeron or P2? i don't know what to use.

a quick one guys and gals... i'm not an intel techie so please bare with me on this.

i have a P2 or i think P3 450/512/100 slot 1 on one hand and on the other hand, i have a Celery 500/66 overclockable to 587mhz.

which one do i use. i know have enough parts to buld one more rig for folding and internet browsing.

thanks
r0l0e
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 05:29 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Good idea about making an old machine fold, it all helps! But no matter if its a P2 or P3, can't it be overclocked as well?

If its a P2, you should be able to reach about 520-550 with standard cooling.

If its a P3, you should get near 550-600MHz.

OC it, and it will beat the celeron for folding for sure.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 05:34 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

k allan. can ou tell how to find out whether it's a P2 or P3? i hope to overclock it so i hope the mobo has the magic fsb on it.

it's been a while since i used this board. i think the fsb goes by 5mhz increments. not good. i'll see what u can do with it dough.

thanks
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 05:51 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

5MHz increments is way better than nothing m8. It should be good for something at least.

Is the CPU in question in a computer right now?
Just take a look at it. Is there no info on it anywhere on the slot? I can't really remember if they ever bothered writing any info on the slot packaging. Check it out. If you just find a stepping code I can tell you what CPU it is.

If its in a computer, just use this program:
http://www.aoafiles.com/dafiles/util...on/wcpu30f.exe

and it will show you what CPU it is.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 06:10 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

it aint put together yet. all i see on the packaging is:

450/512/100/2.0V S1
99090304-0079 MALAY
'98 SL3CC

can you get anything from that? maybe the voltage, FSB or the cache size will give me the answer...i'll try a search on google.
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 06:22 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Good news, its a P3!

Go here, http://support.intel.com/support/pro.../sspec/p3p.htm

Then find your stepping in the table (SL3CC), and you see that its a P3-450 MHz, kB0 stepping, retail CPU.

Nice! It should be good for 600 MHz or so, if all other components can handle the speed.

Happy clocking!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 06:26 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

thanks for the info allan. i was only able to gather that it was a P3. is there a stepping chart that shows an overclockability of Pentium chips?

i would be happy to study it since i have a plethera of Pentium procesors here that i don't use.
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 06:37 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

No problem dude.

Yes, in fact there is a CPU database over at OC. Its quite good, and I often use it. http://overclockers.cssftware.com/cpudb/index.cfm

It doesn't give guarantees, but at least you get an idea of how various CPUs OC.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 06:40 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

What kind of chips do you have laying about? Could you please list them?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 07:00 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

the ones i have in my room is:

1. the one i mentioned above

2. celery 300/66
98290266- SL2Y2

3. AMD-k62+ 550

the other ones are in the other room or still in case without HDD and memory on it. hard to find used drives here.
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 08:12 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

You gotta get 200 posts asap, and then buy cheap, small hard drives in our classifieds!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2002, 08:36 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

still pretty hard to over sea deliver to me area 200 posts huh.. i'll get 200 in a couple of months, at least. oh well, nice shooting the breaze with you.

gettin pretty late here so i'll catch you on the flip. thanks for the information too.

g'nite
r0l0e
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2002, 05:20 AM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

well got it together allan. it's humming at 558mhz the magic numbers were 123 x4.5 or 12345 :clown:

tried to up it to 126 or 133, even upped the voltage but no good oh well better than nothing i suppose.
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2002, 10:32 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Thats very good news! I'm sure it will outfold that celeron of yours.

Glad to be of help!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2002, 11:07 AM
ItHuNkPuNk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 332
Send a message via AIM to ItHuNkPuNk

Quote:
Originally posted by r0l0e
well got it together allan. it's humming at 558mhz the magic numbers were 123 x4.5 or 12345 :clown:

tried to up it to 126 or 133, even upped the voltage but no good oh well better than nothing i suppose.
Magic words: Water Cooling

(or were they "post padding" ? oh well.. I can never remember):-D
__________________
I thunk Punk I did.. yesssireee..
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2002, 03:25 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I completely forgot to ask... what temps are you getting?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2002, 03:50 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

@Allan,

system:33c
ambient: 32c
32c: idle
61c: folding 24/5

think it'll help if i cool it down a little?
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2002, 04:00 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

61c is too much IMHO. Do you have any better cooling available? If you do, be sure to slap it on asap. If you manage to get it down to 40c or something, I'm sure you would be able to OC it a bit more.

How about thermal paste, what are you using? I prefer Arctic Silver, but there are other good things around too. Only apply a paper-thin layer of paste onto the cpu core. Apply with razor blade or similar.

The cooler the better. If you don't have any other heatsinks for it, you could add a better fan(s). Especially if you are using the stock cooler, it would be a good idea to apply a new layer of grease and add a nice, big fan to it all.

Try removing the side from the case as well, if you don't have good airflow inside the case.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2002, 04:19 PM
r0l0e's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: South East Asia
Posts: 556

Quote:
61c is too much IMHO
and here i thought 61c was okay for pentium chips

but then again my temp proggy might be lying to me. i set mbm's temp sensor to winbond 2 P2 diod and it reads 61c. if i set it to just winbond 2, i get 39c. so i figured the higher one was the right one.

am i mistaken?
__________________

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2002, 05:58 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

61 really is in the high end, also for Intel. My P3-700@1001 goes up to about 32-35c when folding. (Using Glaciator and with no side on the case).

What cooling do you have on the CPU?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64-Bit Celeron? Chesso Intel Motherboards & CPUs 14 19th January, 2006 04:16 AM
Celeron D pin mod SmW Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 20th March, 2005 05:10 PM
What do I need to OC a 2.8 Celeron D ~* InSoM *~ Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 28th December, 2004 02:59 PM
P 4 vs Celeron Dsherm112 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 3rd June, 2004 02:40 PM
celeron Caffinehog Random Nonsense! 7 19th September, 2002 03:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0