AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2006, 05:33 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

probly an old question

how come amd's are a lower clock than intels but perform better? like the intel 965 is at 3.73 and the amd 940 is at 2.6? i understand the architecture thing alittle, is that it?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2006, 05:57 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Essentially, AMD's processors do more useful work per clock cycle than Intel's do.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2006, 01:47 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

The goodnews bonesaw is that has all changed now with the advent of the YONAH, CONROE and the MEROM processors. Intel has done a little architecture changing and these processors are all more efficient now clock for clock than all others at this point. The clock speeds are too greatly reduced. As it turns out however they all seem to overclock quite well and scale extemely well. It is early in the game and as of around July the systems will all begin to get more plentiful. It appears their price points are going to be quite good for us consumers also.
Should be smooth computing ahead.

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2006, 01:58 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesaw
how come amd's are a lower clock than intels but perform better? like the intel 965 is at 3.73 and the amd 940 is at 2.6? i understand the architecture thing alittle, is that it?
Different approachs.

Intels Netburst CPU's aimed to get as many clockcycles possible. This worked very well initially. But power and heat requirements have made this approach less attractive.

AMD sought to get the most possible work done per cycle. there's advantages to both apporaches.

As WZ pointed out, Intel has also adopted the more effecient approach on upcoming cores.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2006, 08:53 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

so let me get this straight that its all an architecture difference type thing?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2006, 09:32 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

It's safe to say that. Intel's faster clock speeds wowed the rubes, yet the work done per clock cycle made AMD's slower processors very desirable. And more capable for some kinds of processing, especially games and Folding. As Weldzilla pointed out, Intel finalfreakingly picked up the clue phone and enlarged their L1 cache. This was ALL(well, mostly) that AMD did with their early Athlon XP processors which made them performance monsters. Intel purposely kept its head up and locked insisting that a 16 kb + 16kb L1 cache was more than enough. This declared to the world "we're Intel, and we are are as stupid as a gate post."

If Intel's operation in Israel hadn't been brave enough to tell headquarters that they were idiots by building-- finally-- a big L1 cache into their new procs, Intel would be advertising their new 4 Gigahertz P4 as the cat's pyjamas. I've over- simplified the history of AMD vs Intel, but I hope this serves to underline the stupid "do it again, Sam" attitude of the fossils on Intel's board of directors.

I wish the very best for AMD and Intel. So we'll be able to buy the best silicon possible for our PC's.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2006, 10:27 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
It's safe to say that. Intel's faster clock speeds wowed the rubes, yet the work done per clock cycle made AMD's slower processors very desirable. And more capable for some kinds of processing, especially games and Folding. As Weldzilla pointed out, Intel finalfreakingly picked up the clue phone and enlarged their L1 cache. This was ALL(well, mostly) that AMD did with their early Athlon XP processors which made them performance monsters. Intel purposely kept its head up and locked insisting that a 16 kb + 16kb L1 cache was more than enough. This declared to the world "we're Intel, and we are are as stupid as a gate post."

If Intel's operation in Israel hadn't been brave enough to tell headquarters that they were idiots by building-- finally-- a big L1 cache into their new procs, Intel would be advertising their new 4 Gigahertz P4 as the cat's pyjamas. I've over- simplified the history of AMD vs Intel, but I hope this serves to underline the stupid "do it again, Sam" attitude of the fossils on Intel's board of directors.

I wish the very best for AMD and Intel. So we'll be able to buy the best silicon possible for our PC's.

George, George... why write so much when the answer is so simple??? Add one AOA badge and your AMD will outperform every damn Intel ConMCenROE that will be manufactured in the future
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2006, 07:00 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i get it so its like working smarter not harder/faster
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2006, 07:08 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I couldn't dazzle our Members with brilliance, sob. So I tried to baffle them with bool chit. Thank you for the reference to Our Mighty AOA case badges Chris, they indeed make your machine perform better. Whether it be a PC, Mac or what have you, PM cloasters for your very own AOA Forums case badge, you'll be very glad that you did!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2006, 07:16 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesaw
i get it so its like working smarter not harder/faster
Indeed, sir! The first Athlon XP's ran hot, temperature was a genuine concern. Amazingly, AMD's latest processors run cooler than the competition's. Maybe Conroe will change this, we'll see.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2006, 09:58 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

As always, clock speed is not a good indicator of performance. If you're comparing the same architecture, then clock speed can be used to indicate performance. However, if you're comparing different architectures, clock speed is not very meaningful.

It's a bit like trying to compare the performance of cars by how fast their engines rev...
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2006, 10:03 AM
QSDT's Avatar
Member
Alien Clones Champion
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: Queensland Australia ''Oh'' the beauitful sunny coast!
Posts: 788
Send a message via MSN to QSDT

I think it's about 1.43 times an intel gives you the AMD speed.
__________________
Abit NF7, AMD XP(not mobile) 2000+ @ 2.315Ghz with L12 mod.
Abit AN7, AMD XP(not mobile)2500+ Barton@2.442Ghz
MSI 6600GT Core@618Mhz / Ram 1.21Ghz Pencil volt modded @ 1.66volts.
Monitor Dell 24'' 2407WFP ''WOW that's all I can say''

Why is Phonetic not spelt Phonetically, and why is the word Abbreviation so long?

My Ex gives 100% sound adivce, 99% sound, 1% adivce.

69% of all statistics are made up!

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2006, 02:45 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

yea my problem was comparing intel's and amd's. I am still in debate about witch one in be in my next build. but this all helps.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2006, 06:25 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The choice would be clear--pick AMD Socket 939--(IMHO Socket AMD2 doesn't offer enough improvement in performance over S939 to make the extra expense worth it) IF the latest high performance Socket 939 CPU's from AMD weren't so danged expensive. Intel's present price charts for Conroe say cheap, cheap, cheap--except for the really high end procs.

It's much more acceptable to run an AMD box in this neighborhood. But is it worth the extra expense? We don't know what the actual cost of a S939 vs a Conroe machine will be, we'll see.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2006, 09:02 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i'm gonna hold off and see what the pro's do
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2006, 04:24 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Waiting for more than a handful of people to adopt a new processor and mainboards to go with it makes good sense. Leading edge is always expensive, especially so if early trials prove that hardware combination "X" is un-good.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2006, 04:15 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

I always thought that AMD's processors were faster because they have a memory controller built onto the chip, therefore eliminating the extra time it takes for intels chips to go through the northbridge?
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 04:24 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

what are the differences between the conroe architecture as compared to amd? i know the conroe uses the l2 cashe for both cores but what else is different.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 05:07 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

The conroe features basically the same tech as the old AMD, however they have a few more executiion units, and the cache is shared between the two cores, whereas AMD's is not.

Beyond that, Conroe is 65nm, while AMD is still on 90nm. that 25nm difference makes up for alot of performance difference too...cut the AMD cores down the 65nm, and they'll be almost just as fast as Conroe...not like they aren't already...

The real difference...well...currently 2.4ghz Conroe/Allendale is faster than 2.6ghz AMD. not very big difference.

WHen it comes ot benchmarking..my system beats every conroe out there @ the same clockspeed, with the same cards...the only reason being due to the memorycontroller of the AMD chips being on-die, and thereby memory fetches are had with less latency. When it comes to palying games, this means that hte two systems are pretty much on-par with each other....if it wasn't for overclcoking, noone would really know the difference.

This means that in certain applications, even though Conroe is newer, and more often than not, faster, AMD still hold the performance crown...most notibly in apps that have huge calls out the the membuffer...ie. the serverspace. Once the 65nm AMD chips come out, the performance difference will be even closer.

Also keep in mind that hte AMD dualcores have been around for a while, while conroe is Intel's first native dualcore....and at the same time, AMD is about to intro thier native quadcore(one die, 4 cpu's), while Intels is not native(2 dies, 2 cpu's per die).


Add to this that the current 90nm AMD's max out for 24/7 stable operation @ about 3ghz-3.2ghz, while Conroe can scale a bit higher...not much, but it is more. However, this is not a real important factor, unless you plan to overclock...
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 13th September, 2006 at 05:10 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 09:12 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i still cant deside if i want to get a conroe or amd. i wanted an amd for so long then conroe came out and everyone went crazy over it.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Peliter Question and PS2 Mod Question Rondog Hardware Hacking 13 9th June, 2006 01:34 AM
1 bios question and 1 ram question espetado EPoX MotherBoards 7 18th March, 2003 06:16 PM
8K5A2+ RAID 0 Question(no Problems, just a question) ronin1967 EPoX MotherBoards 5 3rd November, 2002 05:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0