AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2006, 05:26 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The ultimate home for your Core 2 Duo? Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi-AP Edition

SysOpt.Com has a review of what appears to be a very nice mobo for Intel LGA775 CPUs. Among other things, it features built-in WiFi.

http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1035/2/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2006, 06:18 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

O YEA!!! the mobo i have in my new machine woooot!!!!
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though

Last edited by z3speed4me; 13th August, 2006 at 06:18 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2006, 06:21 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Very impressive m'board--it should be for its price. Not Asus puke yellow/brown? Gasp. Thanks for finding the article, Gizmo.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2006, 07:23 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by z3speed4me
O YEA!!! the mobo i have in my new machine woooot!!!!
Fancy doing a review for us? There could be a $25 bill (or equivalent) in it for you.....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2006, 09:43 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

its possible...i might possibly do just that in the near future
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 02:34 AM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

mounting holes north/southbridge, mosfets
what are the differences between the P5B Deluxe and the P5B Deluxe WiFi-AP? only wlan?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 03:05 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

essentially yes.

but ther is a difference between the deluxe/wifi and between the basic

as seen here http://event.asus.com/2006/mb/P5B/models.html

deluxe is much better, especially its cooling, and connectivity, and even its overclockin capabilities far exceed the basic p5b
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though

Last edited by z3speed4me; 14th August, 2006 at 03:06 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 03:13 AM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I meant the P5B Deluxe. I know the normal P5B, but there is also a Deluxe version without WiFi. It is called 'P5B Deluxe' costs 20€ less than the WiFi-AP and all I know is that this version has no wlan
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2006, 10:18 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

on newegg one of the reviews says that it doesn't have true sli? what does that mean?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2006, 12:22 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

It seems to have a PCIe x16 slot and a PCIe x2, or x4 slot.
Which means one will work at full speed, and any graphics card in the second slot will only run at x4 max.

I would say true SLi would be 2 x16 full speed slots for example
http://www.asus.com.tw/products4.asp...&l2=101&l3=300
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H

Last edited by noob; 15th August, 2006 at 12:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2006, 01:43 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

theres a pci x16 and a pci x4 if you put 2 cards in....

prettymuch like most boards, although some run x16 / x8 and FEW run dual x16, but truthfully not many people are really running sli / crossfire for it to be that big a deal... personally im never going to use 2 graphics cards, so the extra money for the 2 boards above this one, wasnt really worth it to me bc im not gonna use the exta x16 feature they have, which is basically all they really do have specs wise over this one


thats my rant...
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though

Last edited by z3speed4me; 15th August, 2006 at 01:44 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2006, 05:53 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

ok doesn't sli work best with both cards at 8x i think i read thats somewhere? if so whats the best conroe board with sli?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th August, 2006, 10:25 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesaw
ok doesn't sli work best with both cards at 8x i think i read thats somewhere? if so whats the best conroe board with sli?
That was for earlier models. You got to choose boards who ran both cards at x8 or one at x12 and one at x4.

Now that both can be run at x16 (full speed) it allows theoretically twice the data speed over the prevous boards.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 16th August, 2006, 12:05 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

I dont think any intel chipset based motherboards support sli (at least officially) so you'll be outta luck there. The main thing missing is the joining connector for one.
That and nvidia are actively blocking its use in there drivers.

Its crossfire that the p5b supports, it will work but due to the second card only haveing a 4x link it will struggle compared to the dual 8x link of its bigger brother the p5w
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2006, 12:03 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

You know the wi-fi is a nice feature, my P5W DH has it also but, it is so much slower than a hard line that I don't use it. All in all it is sweet looking board.

WeldZilla
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2006, 07:21 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

so when is there gonna be a true sli board for conroe?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2006, 12:58 AM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

I have a P5B del. Wifi together with a E6600 here. are these temps normal for a watercooling?
1,30V 3,0GHz idle: 40degrees, 2xprime: 60degrees
1,58V 3,6GHz idle: 44degrees, 2xprime: 73degrees, folding: 66degrees
all reedings with asus pc probe 2
this is my first intel desktop chip, so what are the thermal limits and max vcore?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2006, 04:25 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

From what I've seen of C2D temps, that seems rather high, especially for watercooling. What's your ambient room temp?
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2006, 10:40 AM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

ambient around 21degrees
with everything at stock: idle ~30degrees, load ~40degrees
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2006, 03:45 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I haven't looked up the temperature specs for the E6600. But 73C seems a bit too toasty.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P5K-E / WiFi-AP Socket 775 P35 Chipset Motherboard $209.99 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 23rd June, 2007 09:21 AM
ASUS P5N32-SLI Premium/WiFi-AP – Old new C19 examined danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 10th November, 2006 02:40 AM
asus GF3 deluxe vs. msi GF3 ti200 Kobaia Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 7th May, 2005 09:50 AM
Case Logic Ultimate Protection Deluxe Laptop Case $69.99 - $50.00 rebate = $19.99 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 19th December, 2004 04:39 PM
Which cpu for Asus A7n8x Deluxe guelahpapyrus69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 3rd March, 2003 12:38 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0