AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2006, 01:21 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

Exclamation Power Question for D975xbx

Do I connect the 24 pin main power, the 2x4 12v, and the 4 pin molex connector to the mobo for power.I am using one PCIE graphics card.
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3


Last edited by radcon56; 19th August, 2006 at 01:26 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2006, 01:57 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

err i'd read the manual but i'd of thought you need to connect everything there is usually you have the 24pin and 4pin connected for sure. Not sure about the molex though
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2006, 03:01 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

The mobo doesn't have a 4 pin 12v, other than the molex. The manual isn't real clear. I guess my real question is if the molex is used only when utilizing crossfire.
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3


Last edited by radcon56; 19th August, 2006 at 12:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2006, 03:03 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

always connect all power connections provided.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2006, 03:06 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

I am using a powerstream 600w ps. It has the 2x4 12v connector on it.
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2006, 03:09 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

I thought I'd error on the side of caution and ask around first. I guess not too many people have used this board yet.
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2006, 08:25 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Just looking at the intel site, the molex is an optional connector, your board is crossfire supporting not sli.
The 2x4 connector top left of the board by the cpu should be connected im surprised they use that rather than the standard 4 pin square. Then again this is intel after all
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2006, 03:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2006
Posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by radcon56
Do I connect the 24 pin main power, the 2x4 12v, and the 4 pin molex connector to the mobo for power.I am using one PCIE graphics card.
the 4pin molex is for cards using more than 75w on the
PCIe bus
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2006, 12:59 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

But dont all these cards have the connectors on themselves these days so what the point in having the port on the mobo
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st August, 2006, 05:02 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Deucedly good question, sir.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply question.. NarkotikBuzz General Hardware Discussion 4 15th September, 2005 06:20 PM
Question about EPS12V Power Supply.. Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 0 11th June, 2004 12:11 AM
8rda+ vdd, vcore... power question TANKORR EPoX MotherBoards 11 10th March, 2004 10:44 AM
Power supply purchase question TrevorS AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 4th April, 2003 06:58 AM
Power supply question pony35th General Hardware Discussion 4 20th April, 2002 11:38 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0