AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 12:42 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

POST Taking a Long Time

I just put my old P4 2.4ghz Northwood and motherboard into a spare case, with a spare sound card, hard drive, and optical drives. It was using the same video card and RAM as it had run before. Anyway, when I start up, POST takes about 2 minutes. I can get into the BIOS fine, and it starts my Ubuntu Linux LiveCD, but it will not get to the desktop of the LiveCD. Does anyone have any idea what's going on? It didn't have this problem a few days ago...then when I moved it over it just started acting weird.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 01:46 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

The post or boot up takes a long time...?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 01:48 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Pull the CMOS battery and do a CMOS reset.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 01:56 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

I would think about a new hard drive
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 01:56 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Well, POST takes forever (2 minutes) and when I try to use a LiveCD it won't load to the desktop. I wouldn't think that a new hard drive would fix what appears to be a motherboard problem.

I'll try a CMOS reset.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North

Last edited by Redroar; 23rd August, 2006 at 01:59 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 02:06 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Does it hang at the HDD detection?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 02:20 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

I don't think so...About 2-3 seconds after an image comes up, it shows a list of all my drives, then it hangs for 2 minutes, then it either begins booting the LiveCD, or, if I pressed delete, goes to the BIOS.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 02:24 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

will it boot to live cd without your hdd?

If you disconnect it...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 23rd August, 2006 at 02:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd August, 2006, 08:09 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Dude if it's a damn western then pull the damn jumper out (single without slave) and see how fast it's going !!!!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2006, 06:31 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

You've had this problem before, I see, chris. It fixed it right up. I didn't even think of it, as it used to be a master/slave setup, and now it's on it's own. Well, POST is fine now, and I just remembered there was still WinXP on that HD, so I booted into that, and it works fine. One problem, though, is that I still want to use Ubuntu, which is still having issues. I'm almost positive it's a bad CD though. And I would use WinXP except it's yelling "PIRATE!!!!" at me during bootup. You know, that whole "Your computer components have changed significantly, you must reactivate in 3 days"

Ah well, it works, though!

Thanks chris! You can be useful sometimes!
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2006, 09:10 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Nice work Chris!
(cough/radcon56/hard drive problem/cough).....
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 24th August, 2006 at 09:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2006, 10:41 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Well, I just burned another Ubuntu CD, and it works fine. Installing right now.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2006, 10:49 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Man, that Chris is pretty smart... Must be psychotic...umm I mean psychic
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2006, 03:48 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

He's seen the problem before. Nine times out of ten, an extended post time means that the bios is waiting on the hdd.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2006, 03:53 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Yea,

Just got a call from a friend that added a second HDD to a Compaq and it would just stop during the POST. He had both drives set to master....go figure.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2006, 04:41 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Well, now I recognize the problem if it comes up again. I love this forum
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taking long to access IDE HDD from SATA Kai_2040 CRASHED! 7 30th April, 2007 08:08 PM
wow long time no see ughanda EPoX MotherBoards 10 30th April, 2006 04:45 AM
Taking a long break. alexkerhead Random Nonsense! 20 17th January, 2006 06:01 AM
Things to do at Wal-Mart while your spouse/partner is taking their sweet time: robbie Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 2 18th December, 2004 07:27 PM
I haven't seen him in a LONG TIME but... robbie Random Nonsense! 6 29th November, 2002 07:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0