AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 02:19 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

my e6400!!

JUST ORDERED MY 6400 IT SHOULD BE HERE ON MONDAY!!!!

cant wait to put this thing in my machine and watch the benches and frames skyrocket...

i definately expect to hit 2.8 if not 3.0 with this thing...


i will update with new 3dmark scores once i get it running, im sooo anxious
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 03:13 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

PSu is not that great...you'll find it limits your clocks with that juice-sucking x1900!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 07:10 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

how much more power do you think i need???? a 650???

any recomendations? that wont break the bank
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 07:15 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Mhm.. I haven't seen the E6400's performance. Might have waited out and stretched to a E6600 if I was in your position.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 07:57 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

the 2mb cores tend to go a bit b etter mhz-wise than the 4mb chips, thanks to easier-to-attain high FSB.

Well, the thing about PSU's is it's not about the watts, but about how many AMPS each rail of the PSU provides.

I've got that mushkin unit here...it could not power my system with just cpu, ram, and one card. Although it's rated @ 550w, it only provides a total of 27A on the 12v rail, and when cpu and card each comsume 11a, nevermind fans, the board itself, etc, you can easily see where i ran into problems. This is worsened by the fact that there aren't really 2 12v rails on that psu...it's simply one split into two, and thanks to the "Rail Fusion" crap, it's not even really two seperate rails at any point!

The best I can suggest is a PSU that in the bare minumum has two true 12v rails. Even better, get one with 4 or 5, and then you'll most likely get 2, and whether it's 2 split into 4 or 5 won't matter!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 05:11 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

Ideally you would like to have a PSU with about 600-700w with at least 2 12v rails with 18amps a piece. I have been doing alot of research into the 6400 chips as that is what i am planning on for my next build, and i figured out that when overclocked i would need about 650w to be safe. Although the chips dont use much power at stock, once you start overclocking them the power comsumption rises quickly, and with your power sucking video card you will need all the power you can get. I am planning on getting a 700w PSU for my next build, so you may want to look into that.
As far as the performance of the E6400, it is absolutely fantastic, even faster than the 6800 in some benches, when overclocked of course, but they tend to overclock a little better than the more expensive conroe's for some reason.
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin

Last edited by NarkotikBuzz; 2nd September, 2006 at 05:14 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 05:37 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Large cache means the electron has longer to be in the core...smaller cache means less time...as you increase CPU speed, everything gets faster, but with the 4mb conroe, it's easy to reach the max speed that the cache can operate at(data does not exit the cache fast enough as we scale up the speeds). This is why the Kentsfield version does not look good...using the same cache, but with 4 cores, maxes out that cache earlier, as more data(electrons) is flowing, filling the cache to the ponit it can take no more...much earlier than with a conroe.

The allendales take advantage of this. This is the same reason that a 512k K8 core does not not scale as well as a 1mb K8...the cache hits it's limit far sooner, although, like Kentsfield, this is a load issue, and not speed.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 2nd September, 2006 at 05:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 05:37 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Shazam, 700 Watts needed for up to date machines. Whut the hell? Are we gonna need 17kv lines into our houses soon? Looks like PC's forgot about Energy Star efficiency for good.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 05:40 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

And this is why the whole industry really does not look good from my point of view. efficiency is dropping, but work is increasing. This would be ok if it was just cpu's, but it's everything, starting @ the fab having lower yields and going all the way to the end consumer having to pay much more for that power.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 2nd September, 2006 at 05:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2006, 06:38 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

well i cant wait to get it...and if i see things not working right ill order a psu


in the meantime...strangely, my 3dmark score has dramatically dropped, prettymuch overnight...

my cpu used to get like 1100, now it gets like 900, my shaders were in the mid 2000's now they are like 2000 even

what would cause that to happen???? i havent touched a thing!!

i wanna get this problem resolved BEFORE i put the conroe in...
__________________
-Antec 900 case
-Asus p5w dh deluxe 2206 bios
-2x1 gb GSKILL 6400 @ with 4-4-4-12 760mhz
-Intel E6400 2.13 @ 3.044ghz 380fsb w/ zalman cnps9500-led L626A472
-EVGA 8800gtx
-2 WD caviar se16 250gb raid 0
-OCZ GameXStream 700
-Creative x-fi xtrememusic
-Samsung 226bw "S"
-all on Vista Ultimate...

my 2006 m roadster is still faster though
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2006, 03:15 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Well i've only got a 450w psu but that has 2 12v rails one able to to 18a peak the other 16a, with 12a and 10a sustained loading. and this is more than enough for my e6700. Thermal issues are my limit atm.

As for why the 2megs overclock better, thats really taken out of context.

There core speed starts so much slower, being either 1.86GHz or 2.13GHz, both chips overclock by about a GHz to the low ish 3GHz mark.

The 4 meg chips run at either 2.4GHz or 2.66GHz with the extreme at 2.93GHz

These chips also overclock by about a GHz to the mid to late 3GHz's.

If they both overclock by the same raw mhz but one starts faster then as a % of speed gained it will of course be less.

I would actually say the 4megs overclocked better because they hit far higher top clock speeds.
The 2meg chips you run into fsb limits and your mobo starts to limit you, the 4's you dont you generally start to run into heat problems so if you cooled it more you could overclock it more
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2006, 04:31 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
And this is why the whole industry really does not look good from my point of view. efficiency is dropping, but work is increasing. This would be ok if it was just cpu's, but it's everything, starting @ the fab having lower yields and going all the way to the end consumer having to pay much more for that power.
Aren't current CPU's using much less voltage? Aslo what ever happend to the UV fab thing did the test work in the end?
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overclocking e6400 bonesaw Intel Motherboards & CPUs 11 22nd March, 2007 10:59 PM
E6400 Overclocking aghastpumpkin Hardware Hacking 3 4th March, 2007 06:13 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0