AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2006, 06:57 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Intel to show off it's Quad design

Written by Daniel
Monday, 25 September 2006
Intel puts four on the floor
By Tom Krazit
Staff Writer, CNET News.com
Published: September 25, 2006, 4:00 AM PDT


Intel's planning its own version of "Quadrophenia" for this week's Intel Developer Forum, except without The Who or any tough, young mods facing off against angry rockers.

Instead of a rock opera, Intel will shed more light on its plans for quad-core processors, company representatives and analysts said. It has already revealed the code names for the server and desktop versions of those chips: Clovertown and Kentsfield. Those models will be constructed by combining Intel's two newest dual-core processors in those categories in a multichip package.
What's new:....

Front page
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 10:02 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Only a few weeks to go now! Even though its not been that long since the core 2 duo onslaught, the core 2 quad is nigh
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

We've already seen the results of quad kentsfield cores in a custom pc article.
It blew everything away, and only two cores were overclocked.*

*Because it was being used on a current board.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 12:18 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Question for you - how do you only overclock two cores on a quad core chip?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 01:20 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

I think the AMD equivalent has independant internal clock control for the 4 cores as part of its server power management, I assume the Intel is the same.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah

Last edited by MONKEYMAN; 26th September, 2006 at 01:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 04:25 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

I would of said that it would have to be a multiplier unlocked chip.
Conroe's in EIST mode can run the primary core at full speed and idle the other core at 6x mult if required. I would assume then that kentsfield can do a similar thing and they raised the mult on the primary cores. It wouldnt of been via fsb as all 4 cores will share the same 1333mhz fsb. (as proven by merom wont be a bottleneck, as the merom runs two cores off a 667mhz fsb almost as quick as a conroe runs at 1066mhz clock for clock that is)
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2006, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Question for you - how do you only overclock two cores on a quad core chip?
The motherboard he was using was only programmed for overclocking dual cores.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2006, 08:23 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithwalton
It wouldnt of been via fsb as all 4 cores will share the same 1333mhz fsb. (as proven by merom wont be a bottleneck, as the merom runs two cores off a 667mhz fsb almost as quick as a conroe runs at 1066mhz clock for clock that is)

Sry, Keith, but i don't see this as being true. Merom is ok, but once you start doing large HDD transfers and encoding duties, the FSB bottleneck is quite obvious. I mean really, it's slight, but it's there @ 1066mhz. The latency added as well from the HDD calls further increases this performance loss. I would really like to see these cpu's @ 1667FSB...that's where they belong, with DDR3. But DDR3 is not quite ready to be released in such large quantities that this core(and AMD's) really need, so we are stuck with DDR2, and a 1333mhz FSB max.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 1st October, 2006 at 08:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Quad Core Price Drop In Aus Rondog Online Deals, and Steals 2 7th August, 2007 11:55 PM
Intel Quad arrives at 2.93GHz on a 1066FSB next week Daniel ~ Intel Motherboards & CPUs 5 4th April, 2007 10:52 PM
Three Intel quad-cores coming Monday Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 16 10th January, 2007 03:55 AM
Intel Kentsfield trounces AMD Quad FX Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 5 3rd December, 2006 04:16 AM
Intel Quad Core QX6700 Evaluation Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 8 23rd November, 2006 02:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0