AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2006, 10:44 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

"Conroe" Refresh Details Unveiled

DailyTech is reporting on the upcoming speed grades for Intel's Conroe refresh in 2007. Two things of interest that catch the eye: Intel will up the speed to 3 Ghz at the high end, and will up the FSB from 1066 MHz to 1333 MHz.

Read more on the Front Page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1309/2/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2006, 05:04 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

These don't look too attractive with the 45nm Wolfdale part due for relased mid 2007 =/
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 01:26 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Will they run on current boards...ie...mine":O}?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 01:35 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

They intendid to run conroe chips with a 333 (1333fsb) in the first place. The i975 and i965 chipsets were designed to do it and from our overclocks can do it with ease. However the nforce 5 chipsets cant clock past 320mhz fsb really which is one reason why the original lot were clocked back to 266 fsb.

45nm will be a while yet before it comes good, intel have been running 65nm for what the best part of a year now ? and only now are things really starting to mature and come through good.

The only odd thing in that line up is the 6650 chip, its got a higher number than the 6600 but clocks 66mhz slower (2.33 vs 2.4) i suppose thats the closest they could get.

I'd be interested to see the difference between the e6700 and the e6750, same clock speed cache et all just different fsb
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 04:41 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Bye bye conroe overclocking.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 06:37 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

"I don't know why you say goodbye, I say hello,... helloooo!" ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 06:57 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

He means that the conroe overclocks so well because the fsb is able to scale so nicely. From 266 -> 400 MHz will yield a nice 50% overclock.

However from 333 to 400 will only yield a 20% overclock.

This assumes of course the new chips hit similar fsb's of the old chips (just on a lower mult)
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 07:01 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Well, I unlocked my chip...max multi available was 20. rebooted, and it was max of 9 again, so lock is in bios.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 07:42 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Well, I unlocked my chip...max multi available was 20. rebooted, and it was max of 9 again, so lock is in bios.
Yeah, for now. How long do you think THAT will last?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th October, 2006, 07:45 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

As long as intel uses the same architechture. I was shocked @ it when i saw it, selected a lower FSB, 11x multi, booted with 11x mutli! ran orthos, and it was stable! Reboot, and it was back to normal

I know exactly what i did just before this occured(i like to keep notes), I'll have ago @ it again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2006, 12:40 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
As long as intel uses the same architechture. I was shocked @ it when i saw it, selected a lower FSB, 11x multi, booted with 11x mutli! ran orthos, and it was stable! Reboot, and it was back to normal

I know exactly what i did just before this occured(i like to keep notes), I'll have ago @ it again.
This could be an interesting development.... I for one, am very interested in hearing more.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2006, 03:09 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I don't know if some of you heard, but there were rumours flying that the bad-axe baord from intel featured a jumper that would allow full unlocking of all Conroe CPU's. This info came from an Intel rep @ the premier of teh board @ a lanparty. I even saw a video where he explained where this jumper was...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2006, 03:10 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Its an error in the multiplier unlock thing in the asus bios. They have made it to be unlocked up and down and first time you turn it on it will offer you 6x-20x. if you use anything over you're actual chip it will boot once at that speed, you return to the bios and the limits will change to 6x- whatever your cpu is. It's not really the bios locking it, its the bios trying to get around the lock but failing
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah

Last edited by keithwalton; 20th October, 2006 at 03:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2006, 06:12 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I guess Intel kept that hat trick for themselves. When did they start allowing chip to be unlocked...just doesn't seem like Intel now does it?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2006, 10:13 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

The extreme edition chips have been unlocked both ways for sometime now, and asus keep making it possible for other chips to unlock downwards
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Details on AMD "Stars" Chipsets Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 4th May, 2007 04:58 PM
Intel's "Eaglelake" plans unveiled danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 0 18th April, 2007 12:08 PM
Intel "Conroe-L" Performance Unveiled Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 15th April, 2007 12:22 PM
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
NVIDIA "G80" Retail Details Unveiled Daniel ~ Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 24th October, 2006 03:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0