AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2007, 06:01 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

AMD launches chipset for Intel chips

And so we lived to see the day when AMD announced a chipset for Intel processors. It is an integrated chipset based on RS690 and its Xpress 1250 graphic core can run Vista aero glass just fine.

Read more on the Front Page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/2009/2/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2007, 09:12 PM
kadu07's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to kadu07 Send a message via MSN to kadu07

Can this chipset also run AMD cpu's. Seems like a stupid question but I'm guessing no since the sockets are different. Am I right?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2007, 09:49 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadu07
Can this chipset also run AMD cpu's. Seems like a stupid question but I'm guessing no since the sockets are different. Am I right?
yes, you are right, for exactly that reason
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2007, 10:17 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Intel and Amd use totally differant northbridge/bus system from one another.

The major differance is the Athlon's have an onboard memory controller mening there isn't one on the northbridge like with intel systems.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2007, 10:48 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Its really an ati chipset that was due out more than 6 months ago. since the amd take over they've delayed and crippled the chipset.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2007, 11:04 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yeah, the logic of that move escapes me:

"Let's build a chipset that will work with our competitor's products, but not too well, thus ensuring that only the bottom feeders in the market will even be potentially interested in it. Oh by the way, that means that we won't be able to make very much (if any) money on it, either."

They would've been better off just to can the thing if they were going to go this route.

IMO they should've built the best chipset for the buck that they could. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making money off your competitor, and the entire market knows that Intel will turn on them in an instant if Intel thinks they can turn a profit by doing so. It has been demonstrated time after time. Futhermore, they could've put some pressure on nVidia in the chipset business. As it is? Everybody will just laugh at AMD's Intel offering, which will in turn result in questions about how good the offering for their own chip is.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2007, 12:42 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Yeah, the logic of that move escapes me:

"Let's build a chipset that will work with our competitor's products, but not too well, thus ensuring that only the bottom feeders in the market will even be potentially interested in it. Oh by the way, that means that we won't be able to make very much (if any) money on it, either."

They would've been better off just to can the thing if they were going to go this route.

IMO they should've built the best chipset for the buck that they could. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making money off your competitor, and the entire market knows that Intel will turn on them in an instant if Intel thinks they can turn a profit by doing so. It has been demonstrated time after time. Futhermore, they could've put some pressure on nVidia in the chipset business. As it is? Everybody will just laugh at AMD's Intel offering, which will in turn result in questions about how good the offering for their own chip is.
You're talking talking about something like this?
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=37712

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inq
Then DAAMIT came to be, and so did many other things, including uncertainty over the fate of this chipset, coupled with substantial success and performance-crown-snaffling by the Nforce 680i. After all, Intel has not too much interest in its chief competitor influencing its systems, nor did AMD have much interest in creating a 'too good' chipset for its, well, chief competitor.
I don't know, and this article in particular is basing its info on an event half a year ago. Intel has also been pressuring severely, resulting in only DFI producing a board for the ATI/AMD RD600 chipset.
I've been watching the RD600 chipset through the DFI version for a while now. It has some unique features like independent FSB overclocking, physics support, PCI-E RAID, etc.
Performance clock per clock isn't super, but it's not that bad either. The differences lie between small percentages. Maybe it gets better when the board matures somewhat.

http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=4409&s=18
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2007, 11:51 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

why?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2007, 01:43 PM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

Did aquiring ATI have anything to do with AMD's development of the intel stuff or were they working on it prior to that?
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2007, 01:46 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by radcon56
Did aquiring ATI have anything to do with AMD's development of the intel stuff or were they working on it prior to that?
ATI had been working on it before AMD took over. ATI has also been releasing chipsets a while before that.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2007, 05:46 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

ALL Current AMD chipsets are ATI products. The currently released RD600 is actually an intel-compatible chipset from about 2 years ago.

Because this very old chipset is more than capable of keeping up with 965/975/680i/C55xe, there is alot of expectations focused on these next chipsets. I remember very clearly when the first silicon hit the testing stages(arpund R520 debut, if i got it right)...the problem in developing chipsets is that thier production cycle is a bit longer due to the more complex nature of it's supporting pcb, in comapirson say to a videocard or cpu.

This means that you've been working on these things for quite a while, but if relationships between you and the cpu-maker don't go so well in the meantime, the profibility of these chipsets can drop largely, due to a lack of support from said party.

I'll tell you guys something. If you have stocks in the pc market...get them out now, even at a loss!

For those curious about RD600, it really does not seem prudent to think about it, even. I'm and ATI fanboy, never deny that, but this product sucks. For Crossfire users, if you buy Conroe, buy 975x. If you buy Allendale, 965. If you must use SLi, the 680i is the way to go.

AMD is sitting pretty smug right now. They got the Ace in thier pocket, burning a hole. It's gonna fall out soon enough.

The industry cannot meet demand right now. NOONE can meet demand. The end effect of this is very strange...instead of raising prices, Intel has seemingly focused on dropping them lower. This creates further demand...and pisses alot of people off when they cannot get product.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 24th February, 2007 at 05:47 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2007, 06:10 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

I was thinking seriously about ATI's RD600, mainly because of its independent bus clocking and overclocking features. Also the possibility for a card doing physics is a factor.
But I've been meaning to ask you Cad. It's always good to ask the sceptical ATI fanboy about ATI products

So, you seem to think RD600 is not the way to go. Is it the clock/clock performance making you not recommend it?
Maybe the lack of support for that chipset?
I was not really considering crossfire. Just single card with maybe a 2nd graphics card for the physics.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2007, 06:44 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I do not find the independent memory control to be truly independent. There are holes...weird holes...sometimes i change stuff and get strange results...I cannot install windows with X-Fi installed, and onboard sound disabled(that pissed me off to no end...6 OS installs later I figured out what to do).

The board layout is great, and really, it's great for tweaking...I play alot of videogames, but i spend more time tweaking than anything else...


TBH, it's the CAS5 performance that has me a bit upset. Unless you wanna dump alot of voltage into your rams for decent clocks, this board bites. I need far too much vDIMM to get stable.


I've tried every chipset now, and TBH, I've only had my hands on a single RD600 board, and many of the other chipsets, so maybe my outlook is a bit skewed, but I really have a hard time recommending anything other than what I already have.


That being said tho, 3D performance on this board is pretty stellar, for DX9 and up titles. DX8 is hampered due to chipset latencies introduced by having independant clocks(what really makes for the "holes" I mentioned earlier).

It's just plain that the 975 is highly tuned, but that tuning can lead to some difficulties if you do not buy the proper parts. Of course, this can be alleviated by bios settings(or lack thereof), but you truly do not have alot of flexibility.

I choose performance over flexibility. I'm more than capable of choosing the proper components for my pc's, tho.

I hope that these newer chipsets solve alot of these issues, and I'm sure that once the ATI and AMD engineering teams work together for a product, the performance will be hard to beat. I'm patiently waiting.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 24th February, 2007 at 06:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2007, 07:02 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Well. A friend of mine bought the DFI RD600 board a few weeks ago. He hasn't done much overclocking yet and is pretty much running stock because his watercooling components are still in transit.
I do know he installed XP Pro with an X-Fi, don't know if he disabled onboard sound though.
And what if a BIOS revision resolves a deal of the issues you've discribed?
How about the ATI physics? I'm pretty sure there is no real app or game that makes good use of it. But how about the future? And is the physics design through a graphics card a matured process?

Thanks for the info Cad
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2007, 12:07 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

BIOS can fix CAS5, but not the stability holes.

Physics...is not something anyone talks about, so I won't either. But I'll say this much...RD600=8x8x2, while 975=8x8x4. So...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2007, 02:00 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
BIOS can fix CAS5, but not the stability holes.

Physics...is not something anyone talks about, so I won't either. But I'll say this much...RD600=8x8x2, while 975=8x8x4. So...
Yep, I get the picture

Thanks
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2007, 04:43 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Illiterate that I am about chipsets, I'd be inclined to go with an Intel chipset for a Cure-Duet proc.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel, chips away at western Tech lead Daniel ~ Intel Motherboards & CPUs 10 29th March, 2007 04:54 PM
AMD demos Intel G965 graphics chips Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 1 12th November, 2006 09:05 PM
ATI launches 2x16 pci-e Chipset with 3 boards @ available launch!!! cadaveca AMD Motherboards & CPUs 42 7th March, 2006 10:23 AM
Intel and AMD to use metal instead of silicon in future chips alexkerhead General Hardware Discussion 8 27th November, 2004 03:55 PM
New chips from Intel pass AMD preformance Southern Man Random Nonsense! 23 9th May, 2002 12:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0