AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2007, 05:41 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

Gigabyte is a brand stands in the shadows of many other manufacturers, which we think is a shame. More competition benefits the consumers of course, but Gigabyte's current lineup of Conroe motherboards deserves more attention.

Read more on the Front Page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/2028/2/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 4

I ended reading article on Nordic hardware and i am in. Tomorrow i buy a new Gigabite i965P DS3 rev3.3. I thinking about it 2 moons and now i am ready. Thank for head up.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2007, 07:50 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Glad we could be of service.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2007, 10:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 4

Purchased. Installed and running. First i flash F10 bios. Everything worked OK. Overclocking be next step. Have anyone experience with this board? Any help or sugestion is warm welcome. Thanks :-)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2007, 10:19 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm learning as you go! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2007, 01:13 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

In the last 3 months I've been through a DS3 and a DQ6, first one decided to give blue smoke when I installed an extra stick of ram, the DQ6 ended up in the no boot cycle which is fairly common with these boards, DS3 included. Just finished setting up an asus commando tonight so we'll see how it goes.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2007, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 4

Flashed F11 bios. Overclocked at 2.8GHz. To today running without problems. Only one more restart when i enabled change FSB in bios. Voltages at stock. Only off CPU EIST and virtualization. And now wait and see, how long it run. Cheers.
__________________

Last edited by mirecek1965; 9th May, 2007 at 02:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2007, 02:58 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The timing was perfect. I have a rev 2.0 ds3 that was running a presler915 200fsb oc'd to 266... ran everything stock voltage without a hitch. Stock bios F9 I think.

Just popped in an E4300... it never saw the speed for which it was born.
Stock vcore 1.325.... upped to 1.350
vmem at 1.90v
and FSB voltage at +0.1v (as a rev 2.0 it isn't guaranteed to 333 FSB)

running at 3.006ghz
at a mere 67% overclock.

only running for 30 minutes for far. If stable, it is going to be fun to see what this CPU can do.

.... so far...

BTW: I a second E4300 (both OEM) sitting next to me with a 965P-S3 rev3.3 waiting to go into my wife's system. Her's should have even better FSB potential.
Attached Thumbnails
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3-core2duo-3.0.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2007, 03:40 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Nice tweeking there Steve!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2007, 04:20 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The E4300 is clearly the king of budget overclocking.
No effort at all to get @ 75% overclock. Now running at 3.15ghz. I will probably leave it this way for a while. I have to more rigs to work on, one is basically a full build... Just in time for mother's day.

EDIT: This CPU is amazing. I am testing various settings ATM, but it appears that my E4300 is stable at stock voltages at 334FSB / 3.00ghz. I HAVE TO REPEAT THAT!!! THE CPU IS OVERCLOCKED 67% WITH STOCK VOLTAGE!!! Im staring at the screen, and folding SMP stable so far. I want to be 100% certain of this before I start pushing the system. With air cooling, a 100% overclock might be possible with this thing!!! My PC5300 may actually limit performance.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 12th May, 2007 at 06:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2007, 06:40 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'm all eyes! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte k8n-sli Gman15 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 28th November, 2006 12:01 AM
Gigabyte k8n sli gboy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 24th October, 2005 08:43 PM
GIGABYTE Motherboard bhdeath11 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 13th July, 2005 06:29 PM
Gigabyte @ Fragapolooza cadaveca General Hardware Discussion 0 17th July, 2004 06:37 AM
Gigabyte GA-7IX AmbientFiction AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 16th January, 2003 04:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0