AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2007, 06:37 AM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

System Crashing, help!!

I few months back i notice my system was crashing ocasionlly and i thought i just needed to rebuild the OS. I decided to give vista a try but i still had the same problems. i then reloaded a fresh install of XP but the system was still crashing.

one time the system crashed while i was in the BIOS so then i thought it was hardware related.

i replaced the Power Supply and still the system crashed
i reapleced teh memory and the system kept crashing
i replaced the cpu (had a p4 3ghz northwood, now have a prescott) and still the system crashes. i even ordered a new drive which should be in on monday but today the system was crashing from bios. bios was saying that system failed due to overclocking but im not even overclocking.

so, the only thing havent replaced is the MOBO. right now i have an ASUS P4P800-e deluxe but the problem is that there aren't that many boards outhere for socket 478 with agp slots.


anyone has any suggesting of something else i could try or a board they recommend for this?

if i buy a new board it doesn't have to be fancy, cus i think i will build a new system anyway but i still want to have this one up and running.

thanks for your help.
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2007, 11:32 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Might have been better to put this into the crashed topic my man!

But if it is crashing in the BIOS I would say that you are probably right - the mobo seems to be duff.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2007, 12:29 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I don't know your board or it's age, but it sounds like leaky caps.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2007, 12:54 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Or a bad CMOS battery.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2007, 07:45 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

sorry about not posting on crashed.

i still have the asus board on my signature. I visually inspected the board and didn't see anything unusual. as far as the batteries goes, i'm still using what the board broght.

a friend of mine suggested maybe taking a Vid Card out and putting in a simple one, i don't think that is the problem but what do you guys think?
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2007, 07:58 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I say battery.

Common issue with ASUS boards of that era.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2007, 04:52 AM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

i changed the battery but no help. every time i try to load the XP i get a blue screen. i know the cd is good, i just used it like 3 weeks ago but just incase i tried reloading vista and i still get blue screen.
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2007, 10:24 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

nb overheating??
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2007, 12:06 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesaw
nb overheating??

I was thinking this also.

Second is leaky caps as Daniel suggested. Define crashes. Does it shut down? Does it BSOD? Does it go Black but keep running?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2007, 03:34 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Now that new battery is in place, I'd reflash bios, clean up the interior of the case, change all thermal pastes, and give it a whirl.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2007, 04:41 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

i will take everything out today, clean cpu and cpu fan and put everything back. i will also go back to original bios ( i just went from 1006 to 1009) i will post later tonight.
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2007, 10:34 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

my old computer that i just sold to my friend is crashing a bit.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2007, 06:00 AM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

i took the cpu out clean it and the fan, re-applied as5 and tried again, then i noticed that i was getting page errors while trying to load the os. I took the my mem out again and put an old spare set i have and the system is been up for about 4 hours now with no crashes.

I guess my G.SKILL mem is hosed.

thank you all for you input in this matter.
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS

Last edited by MightyMar22; 28th March, 2007 at 06:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2007, 12:36 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Bad mem. The root of all evil...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2007, 07:07 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

that was the first thinng i changed though and i still had problems. so i decided to put the better mem back. little did i know i would have to change almost every other part in this system.
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2007, 07:19 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

If the problem is truly your memory, then it's very possible that your windows install has become corrupted. It would be prudent ot back up all important data, and then re0install the OS. If at this point you are still plagued with problems, run memtest and ensure everything is ok. With that motherboard the memory controlelr resides in teh chipset, so even though it may seem memory-related, that may not be the case @ all!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2007, 10:27 PM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

thats what i did, i installed XP clean, so far i've been up for 19 hours.
looks good so far.
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2007, 10:43 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

awesome i know first hand nothing is better then the calm after a storm.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2007, 05:52 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Well done MightyMar22! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2007, 12:49 AM
MightyMar22's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 182

seems like I claimed victory too early. now the system down and i can't even get to the bios. system board keeps saying that the system failed due to cpu overclocking but i'm not overclocking anything.

I will change the board during the weekend, any suggestions?
__________________
E8400@4GHZ
ASUS P5K-E WIFI/AP
XFX 8800GT
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2x2G@1081mhz
CORSAIR 620W (620HX)
THERMALTAKE KANDALF LCS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crashing in 3dgames... waldmenz CRASHED! 9 21st November, 2005 08:24 PM
System Apps Crashing RussianMissile1 CRASHED! 7 19th September, 2004 03:45 AM
FAH_79 core crashing my system! Lazgoat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 18th March, 2004 10:13 AM
Fixed the crashing robbie General Hardware Discussion 3 14th July, 2002 05:20 AM
yay! no more crashing! :D fireball_87 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 26 27th October, 2001 01:35 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0