AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2007, 02:19 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Intel H2 2007 Roadmap

Picture says it all; Intel's new price cuts effective July 22nd...

Possibly earlier It looks like I shalt have a Q6600

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...telroadmap.jpg
__________________

Last edited by tiamat63; 22nd June, 2007 at 02:20 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2007, 07:39 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Will all quad-cores be Kentfields, for the nonce anyway?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2007, 03:24 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Nope there will be Yorkfield quad cores and Wolfdale dual cores this year im pretty sure of it, that chart is kinda old now as its before the april 22nd price cuts! The ones coming July 22nd have been known for sometime and i do have the cash standing by for a QX6600 There are further cuts coming sept 22nd which are now known.
I think that chart was from around march this year, since then the 45nm process stuff has been brought forward into this year and even into the early Q4 and possibly late Q3 time frame, it all depends on what amd can offer as to whether intel push.

If they had any sense they would make sure the new chips are out for the xmas rush tho!
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2007, 05:04 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quad is looking more attractive every price cut...":O}
How are the 6600's Q's Overclocking, I haven't dared to look!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2007, 11:49 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

I'll let you know in a months time
they run hot so water cooling is a must to get the most out of them. I think the Q6600 is good for over 3GHz in our boards i remember there being problems with some nforce boards not clocking well and of course they dont overclock as much as a dual core. but 4x 3GHz is going to fold nicely
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2007, 03:24 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

Ask dave...

that said; I need a new if not another PSU for a QC rig.
At those prices I know for a fact I'll have one on the 22nd unless
the stock runs out. I'm just tempted to wait for Wolfdale and/or a
DDR3 platform.

This; new + new LCD + more RAM + new water block...bah
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2007, 06:33 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I read that the quad-cores run hot as heck at stock, and unused cores can't be throttled down. Also, it'll be some time before apps can utilize four cores. I don't know if Vista will take advantage of four cores. Perhaps?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2007, 07:16 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Supposedly, the home editions of Vista will support any arbitrary number of cores per CPU, but only one PHYSICAL CPU. The business editions of Vista will also support any arbitrary number of cores per CPU, but only TWO physical CPUs.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2007, 07:57 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Leave it to Bill to get us to pay him to restrict our hardware access...unless we pay him more... I hope you Vista users know how hard you make it for me to get up in the morning with a smile.

You suck the hope from this world! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel opens the roadmap for Core 2 Duo E6x50-series, new E4000-series Daniel ~ Intel Motherboards & CPUs 8 20th March, 2007 06:30 PM
Intel to sample phase change memory in 1H 2007 Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 2 9th March, 2007 05:39 PM
Intel Discrete GPUs Roadmap Overview Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 8th February, 2007 09:07 AM
Duel Quad-Core, computing; Intel reveals Proof of concept @ CES 2007 Daniel ~ Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 9th January, 2007 06:20 PM
Intel Kentsfield due out early 2007 aghastpumpkin Intel Motherboards & CPUs 24 3rd October, 2006 02:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0