AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2007, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

How to id an intel chip

Is there a way to ID an intel chip by using the numbers on the CPU?
__________________
Zalman Z Machine Case
Asus Striker Extream Nforce 680i SLI
Intel Core 2 Duo Extream QX6850
4gb OCZ SLI 8500 DDR2 RAM
2x Nvidia 8800GTX
Creative X-Fi Xtream Gamer Fatal1ty Professional 7.1
Enermax 1000W Galaxy PSU
Asus 19" Wide Screen Monitor.
14320 3Dmark06 @ 1440x900
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2007, 05:02 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Try here = Learn About Intel® Processor Numbers

__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2007, 06:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

hmm that just seems to state what the QX6850 number is.

What I would like is the chip ID for example is HH80562X0808M a QX6850 serial number
__________________
Zalman Z Machine Case
Asus Striker Extream Nforce 680i SLI
Intel Core 2 Duo Extream QX6850
4gb OCZ SLI 8500 DDR2 RAM
2x Nvidia 8800GTX
Creative X-Fi Xtream Gamer Fatal1ty Professional 7.1
Enermax 1000W Galaxy PSU
Asus 19" Wide Screen Monitor.
14320 3Dmark06 @ 1440x900
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2007, 06:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

ignore me found the page didnt click on the right link
__________________
Zalman Z Machine Case
Asus Striker Extream Nforce 680i SLI
Intel Core 2 Duo Extream QX6850
4gb OCZ SLI 8500 DDR2 RAM
2x Nvidia 8800GTX
Creative X-Fi Xtream Gamer Fatal1ty Professional 7.1
Enermax 1000W Galaxy PSU
Asus 19" Wide Screen Monitor.
14320 3Dmark06 @ 1440x900
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2007, 06:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

just had a look dosnt explain what I am looking at very well. I dont seem to have any of that info on my chip.

All I have is

Intel Confidential

QXTN ES A4
IMC'05 (M&C are in circles ie copy right logo) HH80562X0808M
P7204460
__________________
Zalman Z Machine Case
Asus Striker Extream Nforce 680i SLI
Intel Core 2 Duo Extream QX6850
4gb OCZ SLI 8500 DDR2 RAM
2x Nvidia 8800GTX
Creative X-Fi Xtream Gamer Fatal1ty Professional 7.1
Enermax 1000W Galaxy PSU
Asus 19" Wide Screen Monitor.
14320 3Dmark06 @ 1440x900
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2007, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

OK Im a prat just googled the long number (got it wrong the first time) and got a few hundread hits all of Intel Core 2 Duo Extream QX6850! Now just need to find a new motherboard
__________________
Zalman Z Machine Case
Asus Striker Extream Nforce 680i SLI
Intel Core 2 Duo Extream QX6850
4gb OCZ SLI 8500 DDR2 RAM
2x Nvidia 8800GTX
Creative X-Fi Xtream Gamer Fatal1ty Professional 7.1
Enermax 1000W Galaxy PSU
Asus 19" Wide Screen Monitor.
14320 3Dmark06 @ 1440x900
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2007, 08:37 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

lol
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2007, 05:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Silly question but how do Intel cores connect to the mobo? AMD chips use pins but the intel one just has lumps.... at least I can bend any pins
__________________
Zalman Z Machine Case
Asus Striker Extream Nforce 680i SLI
Intel Core 2 Duo Extream QX6850
4gb OCZ SLI 8500 DDR2 RAM
2x Nvidia 8800GTX
Creative X-Fi Xtream Gamer Fatal1ty Professional 7.1
Enermax 1000W Galaxy PSU
Asus 19" Wide Screen Monitor.
14320 3Dmark06 @ 1440x900
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2007, 05:38 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Intel chips have the pins on the motherboard, they then connect to the "lumps" on the processor when you insert it
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2007, 02:04 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

The chip you have is an engineering sample and as such it doesn't have an official name its just setup like a retail chip (fsb, mult and voltage) the chip should not of been sold to anyone and should of been returned to Intel.

Normal intel chips will have an 'S' code, in the case of my Quad its a SL9UM, this gives model number, core revision and also where it was made.

Intel do still put the cpu number on the casing, a recent article by l'ing explains how the numbers work.
You have a 80562, which is better than a 561 but worse than a 563!
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2007, 11:49 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

a 562 then?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2007, 01:06 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

This is the page, Intel never stopped numbering its CPUs - The INQUIRER

an Intel 80562 means its a Kentsfield or a cloverton (all 65nm quad cores with 8mb of l2 cache)
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2007, 02:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 659

Ahh now thats interesting.

What would you do? Should I send the chip back and get a refund? Or Get it tested before deciding?
__________________
Zalman Z Machine Case
Asus Striker Extream Nforce 680i SLI
Intel Core 2 Duo Extream QX6850
4gb OCZ SLI 8500 DDR2 RAM
2x Nvidia 8800GTX
Creative X-Fi Xtream Gamer Fatal1ty Professional 7.1
Enermax 1000W Galaxy PSU
Asus 19" Wide Screen Monitor.
14320 3Dmark06 @ 1440x900
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARM to bash 'non-issue' Intel with multi-core chip Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 0 4th October, 2007 06:08 PM
Intel Rumoured to Release First Graphics Chip in Years in Early 2008 Daniel ~ Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 8th June, 2007 09:24 PM
Intel pitches plan to beat chip glut Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 9th March, 2007 05:21 PM
Intel patent preventing FSB overclocking, OR chip remarking? Liquid3D General Hardware Discussion 13 4th April, 2003 03:54 PM
Intel Cuts Chip Prices Up to 53 Percent Uncle Bob Online Deals, and Steals 0 29th May, 2002 12:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0