AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2007, 03:24 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Send them to me......LOL
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2007, 05:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

If you are not looking for insane amounts of overclocking and want to keep your SLI, have a look at the ASUS P5N32-E SLI. My main system was based on one for a few months, it did fine with my quad until I went subzero with the cooling and really tried to push the clocks. Still good for 400FSB with a Q6600 which puts it at 3.6Ghz so it's competitive and able to run most quads at max Ghz.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2008, 05:49 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Any of those boards the Linux-imbedded ones? If so, what's your opinion on that?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2008, 06:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Had to go searching, Didn't even know Asus had an linux-embedded motherboard released.

I know the P5N32 is not embedded, and a quick google search turned up an X38 P5E3 deluxe and seen a mention of VIA but did not go into the article.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2008, 07:20 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

If you don't mind...what is Linux imbedded?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2008, 07:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Embedded is Integrated into the hardware. I'm still reading up on the Asus offering but it seems to have a Webbrowser and a couple of other apps installed. You can get on the net as soon as you boot the motherboard.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2008, 07:59 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Embedded is Integrated into the hardware.
I can dig that, but how do you Embed an OS? I gather that they are embedding a few capabilities for immediate fuctionality rather than an OS?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2008, 08:12 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
I can dig that, but how do you Embed an OS? I gather that they are embedding a few capabilities for immediate fuctionality rather than an OS?
Essentially, they are. However, bear in mind that unless the application is designed to run on bare metal (like memtest86, for example), it has to have supporting services provided by some kind of framework, and the easiest way to get from here to there is usually by using an OS of some sort. Since it is possible to build a stripped-down linux OS that can boot from a floppy, and mobos now come with upwards of 4 or 8 megabytes of ROM storage that they don't completely use, it's a relatively easy thing to include a fairly nice OS built into the firmware.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2008, 08:18 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

So whose complaining! LOL

Sounds like a great way to get up and going on fresh install. Are there plans to do more in this vain? Do the current implamentations offer other advantages than those Cliff has mentioned?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 2nd January, 2008 at 08:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh from it's "sucess?" with Vista, MS introduces "Milan!" Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 30th May, 2007 04:11 PM
"AMD: Bringing "Torrenza" and "Fusion" Together" Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th March, 2007 02:59 AM
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
After XP-M "wire trick" only "AUTO" multiplier works -- why? TrevorS EPoX MotherBoards 4 18th December, 2004 01:23 PM
"Fail-safe" or "Optimized-defaults" for flashing? Frazas EPoX MotherBoards 16 12th March, 2003 06:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0