AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2007, 11:44 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Intel Core 2 Duo upgrade.

Looking at updating my system, for now just the motherboard / CPU / RAM, and will update graphics later next year. As a starting point I have picked out the following components, and would like to get some thoughts.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz 1333FSB - £103.23
Asus P5N-E SLI 650i - £66.36
OCZ 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 CL 4-4-4-15 PLATINUM XTC - £35.07

The memory is 2 x 1GB, was wondering if I should go 2 x 2GB instead?

Obviously all input is appreciated, but if you want to tell me where to buy it needs to be in UK
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x



Last edited by jimbobaggies; 23rd December, 2007 at 11:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2007, 03:06 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Bump city.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2007, 10:20 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

I'm thinking of going the whole way and doing the following upgrade... may even add in a Samsung Pebble 20" widescreen monitor.

Gigabyte GA P35C-DS3R, iP35 Express, S775 - £68.96
Intel Core 2 Duo E6550, S775, 2.33 GHz, 1333MHz FSB - £105.74
2GB (2x1GB) Corsair TwinX XMS2, CAS 4-4-4-12 - £40.70
512MB Asus 8800GT PCI-E 2.0 (x16), 1800 MHz, GDDR3, GPU 600 MHz - £173.77
500w Seasonic S12II-500 PSU, 12Cm fan, active PFC RoHS +80% - £53.69
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 32Bit 1Pk OEM (DVD) - £60.97

£516.33
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2007, 01:35 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

That is quite the system and should net you some zoom factor.

It will be much faster than the AMD system you have now...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2007, 01:39 PM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
That is quite the system and should net you some zoom factor.

It will be much faster than the AMD system you have now...
Is it really though? I am wondering in the back of my mind whether to just get the 8800GT and monitor.... after all my current system is dual core and 2Gb of memory. How much better real world performance would I actually be getting for the amount of money?
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x



Last edited by jimbobaggies; 27th December, 2007 at 01:41 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2007, 02:30 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

It should be a nice amount faster, however I would suggest if you are going vista, perhaps 4 gig is a wiser choice? But that would require you to run the 64Bit edition.

I don't use vista on a daily basis - perhaps someone who does can offer more assistance
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2007, 02:37 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I can tell you the C2D are a world faster. Ask anyone here that sports one.

Especially in gaming...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 27th December, 2007 at 02:38 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2007, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I do agree that Core2 is a fair bit faster than 939, but 939 still has some life in it. You would still get significant gains from upgrading the video card in your current system so I might do just the card and monitor and see if that does what you need. You can always move them to a C2D system at a later date if needed..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 11 23rd July, 2007 07:02 PM
Upgrade to Dual-core? Toastmaster AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 7th December, 2006 08:08 PM
Upgrade to dual core Quickbeam177 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 27th November, 2006 01:27 AM
Single core to dual core upgrade problem. Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 19th September, 2006 12:18 AM
Old intel PC upgrade Allan Intel Motherboards & CPUs 22 30th January, 2003 05:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0