AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2008, 10:49 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

PC-DL Deluxe memory problems

After doing a lot of research I found that my PC-DL Deluxe motherboard only uses Non-ECC Non-Registered memory. Newegg.com doesn't sell these types of RAM and I've searched for the compatible RAMs on this board but nothing is coming up. Even on ebay!
Here is the board and compatible RAM
Asus PC-DL Deluxe

The main reason I want this to work is because I got this motherboard for free with 2 Xeon processors, 4 Gigs of RAM (not compatible) a case and 2 SATA hard-drives (planning to add 2 more in RAID). So I'll have my first SuSE Linux server and I'll only have to purchase hard-drives and RAM.
Where can I find some of this old RAM?
I need at least 1 GB of PC 2700 DDR 333 Non-ECC Non-Registered Un-buffered...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2008, 10:59 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Err.............I'm a bit confused. I though what you just described was normal, garden-variety DDR RAM?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2008, 11:11 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I guess its Server RAM but maybe you are right. Is most standard desktop RAM non-registered un-buffered and non-ECC?
I thought this was a server motherboard because it has two Xeon processors.
Check the mobo link on the Asus site and see the compatible RAM...
thats why I'm confused also. All the server RAM on newegg.com is ECC Registered
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2008, 11:24 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Here is the Kingston RAM that I have and it doesn't work. I've read throught a motherboard forum where a bunch of people had the same problem.

Kingston PC 2700

I don't really know what ECC buffered and registered means but it definitely isn't supported on this board.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2008, 01:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I've been getting my Value RAM type DDR from Fry's electronics. Haven't had any bad luck yet with their Kingston stocking memory..

ECC:
Short for Error-Correcting Code memory, a type of memory that includes special circuitry for testing the accuracy of data as it passes in and out of memory.

Registered memory:
A memory module that contains registers that hold the data for one clock cycle before it is moved on to the motherboard. This process increases the reliability of high-speed data access. Registered memory modules are typically used only in servers and other mission-critical systems where it is extremely important that the data is properly handled
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2008, 03:04 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

As ccperf721p has already pointed out, ECC is error-correcting, and registered (or buffered) memory has a register to buffer data transfers.

Both technologies are typically used in server-class motherboards, and in SOME workstation-class motherboards, but almost never in consumer or business-class machines.

ECC allows the system to correct for errors that occur in data transfer or storage. Essentially, it allows the system to store a 'checksum' with the data. If the data read out don't match the 'checksum', the system can use the checksum to figure out what data got corrupted, or even if the problem is the checksum itself being currupted, and then correct the error.

Buffering allows for more reliable transfer of data between the controller and memory, but its primary purpose is to enable the memory controller to drive more memory. Chipsets are typically designed to drive either 8 or 16 chips per memory channel. For server applications, this doesn't allow for enough memory to be included in the system. The options are to either make a custom chipset with more channels, or use buffered memory, which transfers some of the drive load from the memory controller to the memory stick itself. This is why server-class motherboards typically have slots for 8 sticks of memory, and why the sticks themselves can be much larger than normal, with more memory chips on each stick.

That motherboard is a WORKSTATION motherboard, not a SERVER motherboard. It uses standard DDR memory, NOT buffered or ECC memory. The Kingston memory you linked to is buffered ('registered') ECC, and thus won't work.

In the old days with 30-pin (8-bit) and even 72-pin (32-bit) SIMMs, you could usually get away with using ECC memory (9-bit or 36-bit) in a non-ECC system, as the extra memory lines would just be ignored by the memory controller (although you DID have to worry about regular vs. Fast-page-mode vs. EDO). With the advent of SDRAM, that changed, and now you have to use the proper type for the system you are working with.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2008, 04:23 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Wow! Thanks Gizmo and Cliff. Thats exactly what I needed to know. I was confused because the PC-DL Deluxe has two Xeon processors and I thought it was a server motherboard. We have three servers here at my work and they have Xeon processors too, so you can see how I came to that conclusion.
I'll just purchase regular PC2700 DDR 333 RAM for this board.
Why would they make a workstation with 2 Xeon processors?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2008, 04:36 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Well then, I have 4 sticks of
Kingston PC 2700 DDR 333 p/n: KVR333X7RC25/1G RAM
...that I need to get rid of...

I'll offer it to Cliff first since he's in my area

How does $130 for all 4 sticks sound?

Or I will sell them for $30 a stick...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2008, 05:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

The only EEC rig I have left uses RDRAM and it hasn't been fired up for 6 months. I appreciate the offer and I will ask around to see if anybody I know could use it.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2008, 09:56 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Try our For Sale section booman! We try to keep commerce out of the general forums.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2008, 09:57 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

ok
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2008, 02:08 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
Wow! Thanks Gizmo and Cliff. Thats exactly what I needed to know. I was confused because the PC-DL Deluxe has two Xeon processors and I thought it was a server motherboard. We have three servers here at my work and they have Xeon processors too, so you can see how I came to that conclusion.
I'll just purchase regular PC2700 DDR 333 RAM for this board.
Why would they make a workstation with 2 Xeon processors?
Workstation implies more capable than run of the mill PC's. Xeons have more horsepower than consumer level processors.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2008, 02:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters View Post
Workstation implies more capable than run of the mill PC's. Xeons have more horsepower than consumer level processors.
That's what I told my old Socket 603 dual Xeon 2.0 machine. It still consistently gets beat up by an X2 3800.. She was a beast in her day though..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2008, 05:44 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Thats what I'm talking about....
If its a workstation motherboard, the Xeon's seem overkill. But I got it for free so I'm going to use it for a Linux server anyways.

By the way, I order 2 Gigs of plain old PC 2700 RAM off of newegg.com
It should be here by Saturday and I'll see how the motherboard performs.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2008, 06:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

It's a fine board and you can never have too much computing power.. Coupled with 2 gigs it will make a mighty nice linux server..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2008, 07:16 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
It's a fine board and you can never have too much computing power..
Unless you have a OLPC and have to crank it...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2008, 08:03 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

You guys were right! I popped in the 2 Gigs in and it booted to the BIOS fine. Turns out I have 2 Xeon 3.06 Ghz processors. This will be an awsome server.
I can't wait to put the 4 SATA 160Gig drive in.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2008, 09:03 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Way to go Booman! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2008, 09:35 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Thanks, I can't wait to get working on it.
I still have to purchase the SATA drives for my Raid 5.
Do you know if each drive has to be the exact same model?
I know that they should be the same size so I was getting WD 160Gig SATA drives because they are $50 on newegg.com
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2008, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

They can be different models.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Problems? leekirlew AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 28th September, 2005 05:16 PM
memory problems gaffman CRASHED! 2 7th October, 2003 04:21 AM
A7N8X deluxe SATA problems power AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 20th September, 2003 09:27 AM
Memory problems? pete_morgan EPoX MotherBoards 9 17th June, 2003 02:35 PM
P4 memory problems. Holst Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th February, 2002 03:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0